We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real quality find! Highly recommend this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canaston Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canaston Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A real quality find! Highly recommend this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a 3 night break recently after finding this little gem online. I can't rate this place or the owners highly enough. Some places have 'luxury' in the description but there is usually something that falls short somewhere. Not Canaston Oaks. Every tiny little detail has been carefully thought out. After checking all the online photos of the rooms, and checking TripAdvisor reviews, we chose 'Y Bedwyn' (The Birch). David, the owner,met us at the main Reception building (separate from the converted rooms) with a very warm welcome, took us over to our room and talked us through the basics. The Birch has an adjoining room, but if you haven't booked this as well then the adjoining door remains locked for your stay. We had no problem with any noise from our neighbours either. The bathroom was all marble, floor to ceiling, with a lovely size bath, great shower with really good water pressure. Every little detail has been thought of: From the eco-friendly bubblebath, handwash and body moisturiser, to the cottonwool, cottonbuds, toilet fresheners and bathrobes. The fantastic bonus was the underfloor heating in both the bathroom and main room. Lovely! The main room had a super king size bed which was unbelievably comfy. The downside was when Hubby snored the bed was so big I actually couldn't reach him to kick him! Plenty of selections of tea provided, as well as hot chocolate and a lovely little luxury touch of freshly ground coffee in a china pot, so we had a lcafetiere of that each morning. They even provide a glass bottle of milk in your little fridge which is replenished if it runs low. Ironing board, spare pillows and umbrella all provided in little storage room too. Further thoughtful little touches extended to a duo of shortbread biscuits (replenished each day too), the same with a lovely little gift box of chocolates. Nice flatscreen TV (you can borrow from a wide selection of DVD's in the main Reception area if you fancy watching a film) And not only is a hairdryer provided, but even a pair of Vida Sassoon hair straighteners. Usually my bone of contention is trying to drag my hair appliances near to a badly placed mirror. But we not only had a full length mirror with 2 power points right next to it but also a smaller mirror which you could place on the window sill to do your make up in natural light. The room was very tastefully decorated and temperature controlled by a nice simple thermostat. So much easier to use instead of one of those confusing ones you usually get with numerous buttons + symbols! We found a breakfast menu tucked into our welcome pack and this was replaced each day with a new one. Simply tick what you fancy from the mouth watering selection, take it over to the main building and leave it on the table next to the Reception door and you'll be served your breakfast the next morning - once they've checked which room you're staying in. No hanging around for ages waiting to be served either.

The main Reception building comprised of one room set up as a dining area - Reception was set off this in the main building. There is a big selection of brochures provided if you need ideas where to go/what to do. As previously mentioned, a selection of DVD's and books (And even some board games)are provided in a tall cabinet which you can help yourself to during your stay. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious - and all from local suppliers. We had the full breakfast the first day, honestly the best home cooked breakfast we've ever had. The sausages were premium quality and you can even choose how you want your eggs cooked. I also tried the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - beautifully presented and just as scrummy. You can also help yourself to a large selection displayed on a Welsh dresser: Everything from granola to cornflakes, fresh fruit salad, prunes, greek yoghurt with honey and a selection of jams and sauces. Every little detail was lovely: Down to the little white china dishes you put your own jam in with tiny little serving spoons. You can look out the large window and watch a selection of finches feasting on the bird feeder or look out onto the beautifully designed courtyard with lovely modern fountain. So much love and thought has gone into this place - it really is the loveliest place. We also had the pleasure of meeting David's Daughter and she was just as warm and welcoming as her Dad. There's even a cooler stocked with a selection of wines, beers, ciders etc. You help yourself to what takes your fancy, write your name and room in the honesty book on top of the cooler and it will be charged at the end of your stay. I was doubly pleased to even find they had my fave Amigos beer stocked! Our stay was blighted by rainy weather which was a real shame, but we wouldn't hesitate to go back and stay here again.

Eating out tip:If you love Tapas then seek out Ultracomida in Narbeth. Amazing tapas served at the back of a little Deli with all produce stocked from Spain. But be prepared to queue if you get there after 12 - it's so popular that they can queue out the door! And it only seats 30 people. Lovey, lovely staff there too and you can try lots of little nibbly samples in the Deli - bonus! Would also recommend Diablos on the High St in Narbeth. Visit: Recommend Anna's Welsh Zoo in Tenby - 10mins from Canaston Oaks: Anna Ryder-Richardson of Changing Rooms fame bought her own zoo back in 2008 and transformed it from it's previous dilapidation into a wildlife haven. You can walk amongst lemurs and wallabies on the designated pathways within their actual enclosures and even hire a zoo keeper for a fee (which is all ploughed back into the zoo) And don't miss Steve the gibbon on Monkey Island with his family, including baby Bryn. Rescued from his previous 11years in a crampled cage by Anna and relocated to the Island where he can swing freely from the trees. There are also rhinos, zebras, oryx, meerkats and plenty more. A good family day out (But you need nice weather for it!) Nearby Solva is good for hiking with great views and St Davids is a lovely town to look around with a huge Cathedral.

Room Tip: If you don't want the odd person walking past your window, choose Y Bedwyn on the end of the blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodle1Bridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
98
266
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

After a massive drive from Manchester for a meeting in Haverfordwest my colleague had booked me a room here. Firstly it wasn't a room but more of a cottage. Secondly the owners and the staff are so good you feel like you are at home. Room was fantastic with a really comfy bed and a cracking wet room. I can imagine this would be a lush place to come for a really quiet break.
Breakfast is great, all fresh with super service !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely location and what a perfect place to stay for a weekend break. Every detail has been lovely considered and the result is just what you would expect from a top class establishment. We felt welcomed by the owners who could not do enough for you and the rooms had everything you need to make for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Loved the Willow room as had a small separate seating area that just gave a different aspect to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shashdore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

An absolute must for visitors who just want to get away from everyday life. A beautiful room (The Oak), with every facility you could wish for, welcoming staff who make you very welcome to share their lovely home. Breakfast was superb. Location very good for all the wonderful places to visit. We recommend this to anyone who appreciates luxury and the feel of respect too.

Room Tip: The Oak is just lovely, have not tried any other rooms yet!!!! For those who are a little limited i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a fabulous relaxing weekend, Canaston Oaks was easy to find just don't pull into the drive when you first enter, drive around first. Lovely layout private and sheltered. We're fancying the courtyard for our own garden!
The farmhouse is close to many places around the area, as we were intending to go to the vineyard for lunch and into Narberth of an evening. The recommended Taxi firm was like a personal chauffeur. I felt spoilt and really cared for.
The room was fantastic It was a shame we had made so many plans that we couldn't just stay there to enjoy it. The room was so spacious plenty of room for me to leave my shoes lying around (bad habit) and a dressing table large enough for my potions and lotions. Great lighting for getting ready aswell. Good choice of plug sockets and mirrors! There was even a docking station for the all important get ready tunes. The sitting area was great so we chilled out with our feet up staring into the distance. The tea and coffee facilities were spot on with a cute canister of milk in the fridge and delicious biscuits. The underfloor heating as a nice touch in both the sitting area and bathroom as was the cosy dressing gown and slippers. There was also a lovely private outdoor area shame about the weather, would have enjoyed having my vino out there (the fridge was keeping it nicely chilled for later on) and I'm kicking myself about not making use of the jacuzzi bath. Powerful shower and lovely touches with a candle and cotton buds, the attention to detail was impeccable. I wasn't missing a thing!
The breakfast we pre ordered, was delicious, usually I find cooked breakfast greasy and often regret ordering it. But it was delicious and a fab selection of breakfast cereals and fresh fruit on a fab dresser. The place is decorated homely and cosy and to a very high standard. Have my eye on a few buys for my house.
The staff were friendly, alerting us to our taxi arriving, chatty about shopping for our breakfast! accomodating us and friendly chat about our day. I accidentally almost left without paying (I thought Id paid upfront) But they were so understanding and made me feel trusted. Fantastic weekend will always stay here if I'm going to that area again.

Room Tip: All rooms surrounded a quiet courtyard so no noise, fab views. I believe the room I stayed in was ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emzgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

What a lovely place to stay . The rooms are all decorated to a high standard . Staff very friendly . Very quiet place to stay . Breakfast was amazing . Recommend this to anyone who needs a break away from the hustle and bustle

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risca, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Girlfriend and I stayed here for one night and would definitely stay here again. The B&B is set in a great location and only a short cars journey to the most popular tourist sites of west wales.

Upon arrival The owners of this family run business make you feel very welcome and willing to accommodate your every need. They are very informative and if you need anything don't be afraid to ask.

The B&B itself is a mix of old cattle sheds, stables and pigs sties decorated and finished to the highest standards. Once inside the rooms they very feel cosy and have a "homely" feel about them.

The rooms are decorated and finished to a high standard and feel very cosy - which is ideal to throw on a set of pyjamas and relax in front of the TV for the evening. Alternatively you can make use of the outside patio and share a glass of wine under the stars.

There was plenty of option from the breakfast menu with everything locally sourced and cooked fresh. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend break. the only downside ...... we couldn't stay longer :(

Room Tip: Take you pick they all look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Bridge
1.7 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
9.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
7.5 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
12.6 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Roch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaston Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaston Oaks

Property: Canaston Oaks
Address: Canaston Bridge, Canaston Bridge, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canaston Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaston Oaks 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in purpose-built rooms, all with full ensuite, TV, fridge etc. Breakfast only is offered, but Canaston Oaks is more than 'bed and breakfast' - it is five star, award winning luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canaston Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing