We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Regis City Quays
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Recently stayed here and could not fault the property. From booking to check out everything was handled in a friendly and efficient manner. The details for an after hours arrival were clear and precise. The street noise did carry at night, but when it came time to go to bed, the bedrooms were quiet and no street noise disturbed a good night's rest. The location is excellent. I would stay here again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: There are 2 Park Regis propeties side by side. Both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

After reading the reviews on here I was really concerned about staying at this property however we had already booked the property at a good price and so decided to continue with our stay. We stayed in a two bedroom superior apartment which consisted of a one bedroom and a studio room with a common entrance foyer. We initially stayed for 4 nights on level 2 and then returned later after a trip to Fitzroy Island and stayed for 2 nights on level 6. We didn't have any problems with this property at all. The staff were efficient, maybe a little distant, but this didn't bother me and I didn't have any reason to address them apart from check in and the occasional hello as we walked in and out of the entrance door. We had no problem with the room as it was very clean and tidy with modern amenities. At the rate we booked, one of the conditions was that the room would not be serviced daily so I didn't expect the room to be serviced, however it was serviced every single day of our stay and this was a fantastic bonus for us and we were very appreciative of this. One thing I found strange was that the property insists on payment up front when checking in. I have never experienced this before at any other property. In our circumstance it was probably a positive thing as both times we checked out prior to 6am in the morning and were able to just drop the key in the box as we left. I loved the proximity of this property to the restaurants and the bars as it was not a huge walk but enough to get some daily exercise. It was also very reasonably priced in my opinion as I believe the occupancy rates are very low. The pool on the roof was clean but the kids didn't swim as the water was too cold.

Room Tip: Choose the Lake Street side otherwise you will be looking straight at another building which is betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bindi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed at the Park Regis while attending a conference at the nearby Convention Centre. The location could hardly have been better for this purpose.
The rooms themselves were very comfortable, with excellent beds. I shared a two bedroom apartment with a colleague, and the privacy was excellent, with the second bedroom set up very much like a hotel room with its own bathroom, large TV, toaster and kettle.
Cooking facilities were good, but much of the equipment was tired and wearing out, and the knives were so bad I may as well have tried cutting my steak with my little finger.
This isn't the quietest place; there are hotels and apartment blocks all around, and it can get a little noisy. Rooms at the back of the property overlook a neighbouring hotel's pool, which has a noisy fountain that runs well into the night.
As many others have said, service is minimal. It is quite adequate, though, for anyone who's not American. If you want a comfortable bed, a nice lounge area and the facilities to self-cater on the edge of the CBD, this place is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I was disappointed with the hotel and I would not stay again. The room was in need of a good overhall, re-paint and the lounge suite and carpets had seen better days. I had to request the room be vacumed and the kitchen cleaned when i arrived as it had not been attended to. Also the toilet seat was up with a hair on it ! Also the bed was extremely hard. Also they dont provide a toaster unless you request one and if the smoke alarm goes off you get charged $200 ! I have never experienced this anywhere before. Especially in a self contained unit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBBWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Customer Service - not big at The Park Regis. It's just the basics, like not having enough keys for the "promoted free security garage". I booked this hotel because of the roof pool. No one mentioned that it was closed. So I change into my swimmers up to the top only to find out, that the pool area gets new tiles and that there is no swimming. Great!!
They gave me a room key that didn't work on the front door - only good that I came back before they closed the reception. I filled out a form and sent it to the head office - no reply. To bad, because the location is just great.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dobo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Ms Dobo01

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your recent stay back in February with the Park Regis City Quays Cairns. I appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been well received and I have addressed these with my team. Please accept the below comments as explanations – not excuses.

1. Firstly I apologise for the inconvenience with the pool but unfortunately with long periods of inclement weather this job extended for a lot longer than anticipated. My staff should have offered you an alternative which is at our sister property – Piermonde, next door.

2. From time to time the front door swipes do play up even though we regularly have these serviced by the installing company. No one can give us a concrete reason but humidity seems to be the culprit. Again I must apologise for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you.

At the Park Regis City Quays Cairns we are committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and I personally hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Regis Cairns in the near future and I ask that you contact me directly if so choose to do so on gmcityquays@parkregishotels.com


Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Rooms clean and comfy and ideal central location convenient for Cairns sightseeing. Also free carparking which is a great advantage with a hire car.
Disappointing then to experience lacklustre customer service. Booked through airline promotion but on arrival staff didnt appear to have any record of booking and not much clue as to how it would be resolved except 'we will find you something'. Promotion included chocs and petrol voucher. Had to ask 4 times for voucher, eventually handed over and chocs never arrived. Dont really mind about either gift but when it was promoted it should be there. Staff indifferent to my feedback.
On departure I was told Manager would contact me - never heard. Have also left feedback on website. Have received a std reply answer welcoming me to stay again - I dont think so.
Such a shame as hotel had so much going for it at reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peachie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2011

Dear Peachie000

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your recent stay with the Park Regis Hotel Cairns. I appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and I have addressed these with my team. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I must apologise for not making contact with you but there seems that we had a communication breakdown with my staff in which I have addressed

I am sorry that you felt you had not received great customer service. Here at the Park Regis Cairns as we are committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Regis Cairns in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We needed just 1 day accommodation because we had a late Tiger flight at 12.15. It was perfect because it was only $115 on wotif. The room was basic but if you are booked on full day trips it would be sufficient. It was recently renovated. Although the room need to be cleaned better...mainly the bathroom, which is a bit unmaintained. The room is very secure & we felt safe. There was a balcony, tv with movie channel, internet connection & bathroom shampoo/soap/conditioner dispenser. It was a short walk to the main strip & cairns central shopping centre. The staff allowed us to leave our bags at reception before 2pm check in. We checked out late, so put our keys in a box. Although, my friend needed to go back as she had actually missed her flight! After calling Park Regis they had someone meet her there & give her the keys back which was really nice b/c it was nearly midnight.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudreyandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Quays

Address: 6 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £46 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis City Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis City Quays invites you to discover Cairns and surrounds by providing the ultimate base during your next visit.With the Esplanade, harbour foreshore, restaurants, shops, Night Markets, Reef Casino and Marlin Marina merely a short stroll away; you are close to everything that makes Cairns a great destination. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.Spectacular sights and experiences await you in Cairns. Take advantage of Park Regis City Quays’ tour booking service and find yourself snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, sailing the crystal blue water on a catamaran or white water rafting on the Tully and Barron Rivers…the options are endless.Whether your stay is for business or pleasure (or a bit of both) – Park Regis City Quays is your ideal ‘home away from home’ whilst in Cairns. Extended and long stay guests are welcome at Park Regis City Quays - click here for more information.Relax and unwind in your modern hotel room or one/two bedroom self-contained apartment – all with individually controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, internet access, cable TV and most with large balconies. To enhance our guests’ experience, our superior rooms have recently been given a fresh new look including new pillow top beds and bedding, modern desks/work areas and new technologies such as iPod docking stations and high definition LCD TVs.Make the most of Cairns’ fantastic weather and cook up a classic Aussie meal at our rooftop sundeck and BBQ area. Afterwards, take a relaxing and refreshing dip in our outdoor swimming pool – perfection!Park Regis City Quays ensures a truly peaceful and relaxing retreat during your next visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Park Regis City Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Quays Hotel Cairns
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing