We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartment with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Regis City Quays
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Apartment with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in the apartments managed by the hotel. We overlooked the Cruise Ship Terminal and received the early morning sun. We had 2 good sized double bedrooms and a huge main lounge/ kitchen / dining area with large exterior decks as well. When we arrived the unit appeared tidy though had some wear and tear showing... Hey it's not brand new but it's pretty darn good. Taxi from airport cost $30.
Unfortunately we could hear adjoining units air conditioning during the night which may annoy some.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pictonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Picton boy
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and the staffs were helpful. And that you the value was amazing
I will share this positive feedback with the staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns. I Hope that your cruise was enjoyable as well

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    223
    96
    27
    25
See reviews for
98
196
50
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NT
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Normally would look for something on the esplanade with balcony overlooking the lagoon however this time booked into Park Regis.
Quite liked the location still close to lagoon end of esplanade how ever close to some of the potentially lesser sort out areas of city.
The room we had was perfect for a long week end in Cairns, we weren't intending on spending a lot of time in our room so did not need an apartment however still had a balcony so did not feel penned in as can in a 'standard' hotel room.
Onsite parking, friendly staff, close to plenty of food choices whether cafe, pub, restaurant or fine dining.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Tracey p
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and the staff was helpful throughout your stay.
I will share this positive feedback with the staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tully, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

we have stayed in a lot of hotels in cairns this one takes the cake it is far the best we have stayed in. The staff were cheerful and friendly the room was clean the bathroom was magnificent no mould on the tiles which is very hard to find in cairns it was very very clean .Nice size balcony with tables and chairs .We will no doubt stay there again and can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear David H
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and the staff was helpful throughout your stay.
I will share this positive feedback with the staff, especially the housekeeping department for the cleanliness of the bathrooms, thank you once again for your kind words. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I could not ask for better, great view and room. Easy access to everything, the staff were amazing and could not do enough to help especially Chloe. I will definitely return again. I can highly recommend this to you

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Melissa b
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and the staff was helpful throughout your stay.
I will share this positive feedback with the staff, especially Chloe, thank you once again for your kind words. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews here, I start wondering if I actually stayed in the same hotel. Apparently yes, unfortunately my experience wasn't the same.
Let’s start with the good bit. It’s a well located hotel, close to city centre and also the Cairns Convention Centre. There’s a pool in the top floor. There are elevators and air conditioning. Room with TV, toilet and balcony.
Now… we arrived very early in the morning, and were fortunate enough to have the cleaning man arranging us a room for that night, since check in starts at 2 pm. Mind you that there is no one in reception after 9 pm, so if you have a problem, calls are forwarded to the cleaning man.
The room wasn't completely clean, but we were grateful for having a place to sleep after such long flights. Next morning people at reception decided we were going to stay in that room from that point on (instead of the one initially booked), to which I agreed under the condition that they would clean it up.
They didn’t. Arriving after a long conference day, the room was found exactly like I left it in the morning: bed sheets unattended, bathroom still not clean (a lot of someone else’s hair on the ground, and a tainted toilet seat). The only difference is that they left 9 breakfast boxes in the room (2 for each day that we staying in… yes, they forgot one). We wanted to complain right away, but there’s no one in reception. Called the cleaning man, who excused himself saying he wasn't informed. He came to the room (10 pm), cleaned the bathroom and asked if we wanted them to make the bed (???).
The staff at the reception desk was less than sympathetic on the next morning. A lot of excuses, and not a single apology. They blamed everything on the cleaning man, who was actually the only one trying to solve the problem.
That night, another pair of unfortunate events. The door was open, and the bed was wet because of the A/C unit (above the bed) had been dripping water throughout the day. The thing is, we didn't even use the air conditioning. No one to help, I had to fix the problem myself using tons of toilet paper and changing the sheets and pillowcases. And I had two presentations the next morning. Mind you: there is no Wi-Fi in the bedrooms. Or anywhere else. If you want internet, you need to connect a cable to your computer. So forget using your tablet or mobile phone to access your emails free of charges. And one last thing: the bed sheets were tucked in, but all the stuff that goes on the bed (decorative pillows and bed covers) were left on the ground.
Next morning, you guessed it right. No sympathy, no apologies. Just excuses and accusations (“you probably turned on the A/C without knowing”, “you probably left the door open”). Asked them to fix the problems, had no time to waste. Got to the room that night, problems were fixed. Unfortunately, we found out that they haven't changed the towels that we left on the bathroom floor (as instructed by them in case we wanted clean ones): they just folded them and put them back on the racks. A few years ago a friend of mine suggested that I should always mark my towels when using a hotel, and this time it proved to be helpful identifying the unclean towels.
The next morning they were already avoiding eye contact in reception. I looked at them and asked, as calmly as I could possibly do, whether they could change the bath towels. They did replace them, but the “clean” ones had tons of hair on them, suggesting they were from another room or just unclean ones. This time around it wasn't night time, so there was still someone on reception (a trainee, who was actually very nice and helpful). After hearing this, she apologised for the inconvenience (the first and only apology), and said she could only offer clean pool towels that had just been returned from the laundry. We accepted those, and used them instead of normal bath towels.
I left the hotel the next morning, with a strong feeling I should share this story. If you made it this far, please let me tell you that I don't think this run of events will likely happen again. But I do think that they were poorly handled. Tourism plays a very important role in Cairns, and the treatment we’ve got was way below a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Carlos
Thank you for taking the time for your comments after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and addressed with the relevant departments and staff. I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

City Quays is within perfect walking distance of everything you need in the city, but it's not near a lot of the noise. In fact, the property is rather tranquil. Book an apartment as we did for an easy vacation in Cairns. Room 308 a & b is great for family and also set up to accommodate for disabilities - we enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Adjoined rooms 308 a & b are great for families or friends, and perfect for anyone who requires...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Sarah B
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good, Also found our staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.
I will share this positive feedback with the staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our stay at The Park Regis was great, although we did not have a view which was a bit disappointing. We stayed here a week and our apartment was quiet and private. The convenient location was a short walk to the waterfront restaurant area and same distance into the main shopping area. The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment/room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Lynne L

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good, Also found our staff were very helpful and knowledgeable with helping you with tours and local points of interest.
I will share this positive feedback with the staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.
Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Quays

Property: Park Regis City Quays
Address: 6 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis City Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis City Quays invites you to discover Cairns and surrounds by providing the ultimate base during your next visit.With the Esplanade, harbour foreshore, restaurants, shops, Night Markets, Reef Casino and Marlin Marina merely a short stroll away; you are close to everything that makes Cairns a great destination. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.Spectacular sights and experiences await you in Cairns. Take advantage of Park Regis City Quays’ tour booking service and find yourself snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, sailing the crystal blue water on a catamaran or white water rafting on the Tully and Barron Rivers…the options are endless.Whether your stay is for business or pleasure (or a bit of both) – Park Regis City Quays is your ideal ‘home away from home’ whilst in Cairns. Extended and long stay guests are welcome at Park Regis City Quays - click here for more information.Relax and unwind in your modern hotel room or one/two bedroom self-contained apartment – all with individually controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, internet access, cable TV and most with large balconies. To enhance our guests’ experience, our superior rooms have recently been given a fresh new look including new pillow top beds and bedding, modern desks/work areas and new technologies such as iPod docking stations and high definition LCD TVs.Make the most of Cairns’ fantastic weather and cook up a classic Aussie meal at our rooftop sundeck and BBQ area. Afterwards, take a relaxing and refreshing dip in our outdoor swimming pool – perfection!Park Regis City Quays ensures a truly peaceful and relaxing retreat during your next visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Regis City Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Quays Hotel Cairns
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing