We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can you ask for?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Regis City Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Regis City Quays
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What more can you ask for?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I have read other reviewers to whom slated this place, but cannot fathomably understand them after my own personal experience there. This new complex has had new furniture, which answers the uncomfortable beds problem, has helpful and friendly staff, is clean and comfortable. It was a pleasure staying here, especially as it was so central. It is a one minute (if that) walk and then your in the central of Cairns, but not close enough to be disturbed by the bustling nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femme_fetale123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    220
    96
    27
    25
See reviews for
97
196
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

I stayed in Cairns for 5 nights for a business conference. This hotel had only one point in its favour- it is very close to the convention center. I arrived late at night and went to take a shower. The soap dispenser had leaked and there was pink liquid soap over 1/4 of shower space- made worse by the fact that there was a pubic hair embedded in it- NOT MINE!. After this disturbing discovery I thought I would just go to bed. It was the hardest most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Much harder than a futon. My camping mattress is more comfortable. I would have been better off in a caravan park. The next morning I complained to reception about both the hygiene issue and the hard bed. They were very apologetic and offered a foam mattress topper to help with the bed issues. This was at best a poor disguise for the problem, and suggests to me that this is a common complaint. They didn't have anything much to say about the pubic hair issue, except that my room had been fully cleaned before my arrival. Lovely.

The room itself was absolutely tiny and offered the bare minimum, ie not even an armchair.

The daily service to the room was non-existent. I asked whether they had actually been in at all, and was assured they had. There was no evidence of this.

I have to travel several times a year on business. This is the worst place I have ever stayed in and it was far from the cheapest. Don't do it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapitalKiwiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 30 September 2009
We regret to hear that the guests stay at Park Regis City Quays was not up to standard. We wish to thank the guest for letting us know and helping us to improve our standards and service. We can assure all that we take pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodation to all our guests. It is most unfortunate that we were unable to do so for this stay. Since then we have made considerable changes to our housekeeping and appointed a new cleaning company. We have also increased our monitoring of their work to guarantee a situation like this will not happen again. Please, accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

How you could pay money to stay here is beyond me! We stayed for 2 hellish nights in a small invalid room when neither of us were invalids. We could not get moved to another room due to staff inability to make decisions. Bathroom was made for wheelchair bound people, bathroom sink was in bedroom. The shower was cold (even without the cold tap turned on) and had no water pressure. It was dangerous as water spilled on the floor. The air conditioner noisy and too cold for nights but it was too humid to leave off. Could not leave sliding doors open as there were no screens and there were mosquitos. Extra towels cost AUD$1.00 each. Too far from restaurants - 2 blocks. No room for 2 adults. No room for bags and no where to hang up towels except in wardrobe. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

Stayed here for three nights last week with our two girls 4 and 6 yo, it was all we needed after having stayed at a very basic place, it's a 4 or 4.5 star place in my opinion. We had two rooms, the wall were a bit stained with scratches, but other than that the place looked fine. It has a pool area with no kids facilities, but you can always supervise.
Front desk staff were friendly, housekeeping I have to say was a disaster, but it was over Xmas and people deserve holidays. it's away from all the noisy spots and at walking distance from anywhere. Beds are hard, but we like hard beds so we were happy. Very happy with the place.

  • Liked — We had two rooms, self contained and it was big and new.
  • Disliked — the marks all over the walls makes de place look dirty (and it's not)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank misumbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

I stayed in the Park Regis City Quays for one night this month prior to a trip to Port Douglas. First impressions were great as the staff at the front desk were friendly and polite.

We stayed in a hotel style room which was very small. The furniture was poor quality and the bed was extremely uncomfortable and seemed to be two single beds pushed together. Our view consisted of the carpark across the street.

The location is quite good as it is a short walk to the Esplanade and many restaurants.

I paid $130 for the night which I felt was overpriced for the quality of the accommodation.

  • Liked — Location was reasonable and the hotel staff were friendly
  • Disliked — The hard bed... it was really very hard.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

We arrived on our honeymoon with our 6 month old baby with us and asked for assistance to take our enormous amount of baggage to our room and was told there is a baggage trolley down there you can borrow help your self. Thanks for that not a great start.

we got into our room and found it to be very modern and well equipped with a dishwasher, microwave, oven, small hotplate, washing machine and dryer. A nice view from the fourth floor and a great balcony.

That was fine until bed time the king size bed was easily the worst I have ever slept on (even after 11 years in the ARMY) they had put folded up Quilts under the sheet to soften the bed but all it did was make it lumpy & hard instead of just hard. I slept on the small couch once and on the tiled floor with a couple of quilts underneath twice.

The pool is on the roof it is very small almost a plunge pool and filled with water pumped straight from Antartica it was freezing.

All that stuff though is manageable. How ever easily the worst part was the fact that in the seven nights we were there OUR ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED ONCE. The bed was made three times out of seven and we were told because we left personal belongings on it (ie a packet of nappies) that the cleaners would not make it. the bathroom was filthy when we left the soap dispenser leaked on the vanity unit and the toilet was not cleaned at all. the floor was not swept or mopped once except by us and I had to ask to borrow the cleaners vacuum cleaner to vacuum the rug so our baby could play on it.

We complained and were told after 5 nights your room will get a clean but it never happened.

I would not reccomend with so many other great places to stay in Cairns.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank stolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, 30 September 2009
We regret to hear that the guests stay at Park Regis City Quays was not up to standard. We wish to thank the guest for letting us know and helping us to improve our quality and service. We can assure all that we take pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodation to all our guests. It is most unfortunate that we were unable to do so for this stay.

Unfortunately the apartments have limited front office staff and we were not able in this instance to assist with the luggage. However, if the same situation occurs again, we will endeavour to assist to the best of our ability.

Since then we have made considerable changes to our housekeeping and appointed a new cleaning company. We have also increased our monitoring of their work to guarantee a situation like this will not happen again. Please, accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Regis City Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Quays

Property: Park Regis City Quays
Address: 6 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis City Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis City Quays invites you to discover Cairns and surrounds by providing the ultimate base during your next visit.With the Esplanade, harbour foreshore, restaurants, shops, Night Markets, Reef Casino and Marlin Marina merely a short stroll away; you are close to everything that makes Cairns a great destination. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.Spectacular sights and experiences await you in Cairns. Take advantage of Park Regis City Quays’ tour booking service and find yourself snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, sailing the crystal blue water on a catamaran or white water rafting on the Tully and Barron Rivers…the options are endless.Whether your stay is for business or pleasure (or a bit of both) – Park Regis City Quays is your ideal ‘home away from home’ whilst in Cairns. Extended and long stay guests are welcome at Park Regis City Quays - click here for more information.Relax and unwind in your modern hotel room or one/two bedroom self-contained apartment – all with individually controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, internet access, cable TV and most with large balconies. To enhance our guests’ experience, our superior rooms have recently been given a fresh new look including new pillow top beds and bedding, modern desks/work areas and new technologies such as iPod docking stations and high definition LCD TVs.Make the most of Cairns’ fantastic weather and cook up a classic Aussie meal at our rooftop sundeck and BBQ area. Afterwards, take a relaxing and refreshing dip in our outdoor swimming pool – perfection!Park Regis City Quays ensures a truly peaceful and relaxing retreat during your next visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Regis City Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Quays Hotel Cairns
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing