We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out!”

Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.87*
and up
Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
US$120.10*
and up
Fitzroy Island Sea Kayaking
More Info
US$136.22*
and up
Small-Group Canyoning Experience from Cairns or Northern Beaches
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Attraction details
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Day Out!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

was our 2nd trip to Cairns! & on our last full day, we decided to go to fitzroy island! we had a great day of swimming, snorkeling & did 2 off the walks! We had lunch at foxy's bar, great service! (good priced meals and beers) i prefer fitzroy island over green island, I have found green island very over populated with tourists! One thing I would do next time is to hire a kayak and padle around the island, to the far beaches! the ferry was good and all the people that work on the island where helpful and friendly! we will definitely go back!
Sean

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tugboat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    98
    30
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“the ferry crew excellent.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

picked one of the wettest days to go over to the island.we found the crew well above the normal crew up here with great p.r. skills and wonderful sense of humour.to take a vessel over and back full of other speaking nationals than your own and get the safety message through is a tough call.the island on a wet day forget it.there is very limited covered area to save you from the rain.we found no showers or change rooms for day trippers and to walk into a toilet area and find elderly people stark naked wash their bodies from a hand basin not a pretty sight.the staff at the resrticted spot for the day trippers again do are wonderful job and are good.met a french tourist who asked the question what are we doing staying on this island?wait till i get back to france and see my travel agent,despite all this enjoyed the day thanks to the crew of the ferry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank john1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Gippsland, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful island with no crowds”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We found a special half-price deal online and went out to Fitzroy Island for a day with Raging Thunder. Service from a friendly crew started well at the marina check-in and continued all day. This is a far better option for an island day trip from Cairns than Green Island. There were only forty or so day-trippers, all ages and sizes.
On arrival, we walked around to Nudey Beach, which took about 25 minutes (lots of rocky steps). Spent the morning on the beach with very few other people. The beaches are mainly broken coral and are not comfortable to sit on, but the place is so beautiful that it doesn't matter much! We took our own snorkelling gear, visibility in the water was good, and there were quite a few fish and a nice reef shark cruising around. Best spot is around the rocks at the western end of Nudey beach - some coral and lots of fishy life.
We took our own picnic and drinks - be aware that anything bought from the general store is expensive.
Spent the afternoon relaxing on the beach in front of the resort - snorkelled off the beach where there is plenty to see - fish coral, stingrays, bright blue starfish! It's nowhere near as good as a visit to the outer reef but still a fun way to fill an afternoon. It would be a great place for kids to learn to snorkel.
Enjoyed a relaxing ride on the top deck of the ferry coming back.
We had a really good day and we'll be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linzjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very wet day but nice kayaking”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

It is the rainy season and it sure rained today! But the staff was. Rey courteous and helpful, so at least we had so e kayaking in the rain. The swells were pretty big so it wasn't easy, but we did get halfway around the island. Then we stopped to snorkel at Shark's Fin (Tooth?) Bay. Even with the rain the snorkeling was good and I saw a very large manta ray. We paddled back, had our box lunch, and sat and watched the downpour for awhile before we scurried off to put on dry clothes. Then we had another couple of hours of rain so we cooled it in a local bar while reading. It's a bit unfortunate that the ferry couldn't have left a little earlier because of the weather but I guess they stick to the schedule rain or shine. In great weather, this would have been a lot more fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Got your money, don't care”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Avoid this company!

Only interested in the young and overseas visitors.

If you are Australian, a family and don't meet the target demographic, don't expect any form of service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Camilleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder also viewed

 

Been to Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing