We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taka - Ribbon Reef & Cod Hole expedition”

Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep Sea Divers Den is the right choice for visiting the Great Barrier Reef. Deep Sea Divers Den has operated from Cairns, Australia for over 30 years, making us not only the largest but also one of the longest established Cairns Diving and Snorkeling companies in the area. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced Diver or Snorkeler, your safety and enjoyment is on the top of our list when you visit the Great Barrier Reef with us.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taka - Ribbon Reef & Cod Hole expedition”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It was my biggest dream to dive on the Great Barrier Reef and i am very glad i chose Deep Sea Divers Den.
The trip was excelent, crew very helpfull, vessel very comfortable.
Thank you Taka crew for great trip and diving.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review and positive comments. The TAKA Ribbon Reef Explorer really is the trip of a lifetime visiting such world famous sites as the Cod Hole and Steve's Bommie! Thank you again for taking the time to submit your review, please come back and visit us on the Ribbon Reefs again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    938
    215
    75
    49
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect dive trip if my camera mask was treated as a camera”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had a liquid image video mask. its a mask with a camera and two extension legs to hold torches. It take pictures and videos. It look very different from a regular mask it's hard to ignore its lens and functions other than "mask only". every time i complete my dive i throw it in the clear water tank for camera. with it's video & camera function. it was treated as a camera in malaysia & thailand. but not on taka.

There was a clear water tank for cameras on taka. my camera mask was throw out from the tank from time to time and i need to search for it every time before i dive. I believe some DM were upset with my camera mask. They change the label from "camera only" to "camera only, not mask". I did talk to one or two DM i dived with but my camera mask still got throw out. I gave up putting it in the tank at around the 6th dive and my camera mask broke down in the middle of the 8th dive.

Beside my camera mask, everything else was perfect. the food, the staff, the vessel, the dive, the equipment. i would definitely recommend their LOB to other diver but i do am upset with how my mask was treated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouzo_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, your feedback is important to us. It sounds like there was some confusion on board about your camera mask and we will follow this up with the crew as your feedback is important to us. However we are glad to hear that with this aside, that you enjoyed your 'perfect' trip to the spectacular Ribbon Reefs with Deep Sea Divers Den. You are quite right, the food is delicious on board and our equipment is of a very high standard. The dive sites are also some of the very best that the Great Barrier Reef has to offer! We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and hope to welcome you back to the Great Barrier Reef again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unsafe Boat”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Day trip boat to Barrier Reef totally overloaded!!! Have never experienced this. No room even to sit down.Could not reach my equipment nor find place to put it on!!! Very unorganized. Teaching foreign speakers to scuba while boat drove out to reef!!! Never would fly in USA. As boat left for next site crew shouted names of who had not checked back in.
Crew was very friendly but felt totally unsafe. Have snorkeled all around the world and am very proficient so could take care of myself but some didn't even know how to swim and were trying to scuba.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are sorry to hear that you felt unsafe on board however this does come as quite a surprise to us for the following reasons. Safety is Deep Sea Divers Den's main priority, and as a result of adhering to Queensland laws and having strict company policies in place Deep Sea Divers Den have been recognised and awarded for our policies and operations. Weare also a 5 Star PADI Dive Center which is the highest rating a dive company can achieve. SeaQuest is licensed to carry 130 passengers, however we do cap this at 80 passengers to ensure that everybody has a seat on board. We only ever leave a reef site once all passengers have been accounted for and are back on board safely, and always have staff members on look out to keep an eye on snorkelers and divers alike from the surface. As a result of the policies we have in place Deep Sea Divers Den hold an impeccable safety record.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Ocean Quest Liveaboard Fluoro Night Dive”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just got back from an awesome 2 day 1 night trip on Ocean Quest. The staff,the food and the vessel was top shelf stuff. I had the opportunity to try a fluoro night dive for the first time. OMG this was a world hidden in side a world as Raoul our fantastic dive instructor suggested. It was simply amazing and it gives me a complete new perspective on The Great Barrier Reef. The coral came alive with so many bright colours and you can see so much more detail. This is a must see to believe. Great stuff Deep Sea Diver Den and to the Crew.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, great to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Great Barrier Reef with Deep Sea Divers Den! The fluoro diving is an incredible experience and is exclusive to Deep Sea Divers Den - you are right, it does have to be seen to be believed! Thanks again for coming on board with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A brilliant 2 days.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I went out for a 2 day one night reef trip with Ocean Quest (Its like a floating hotel!!!) the staff were friendly and nothing was too rushed, i had a lot of fun relaxing and soaking up the fresh sun rays :) i look forward to going out again someday! :D

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on our liveaboard trip! You are quite right, OceanQuest does feel like a floating hotel with en-suites and televisions in every room - it offers a comfortable yet affordable home away from home on the reef! We look forward to seeing you on board again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Deep Sea Divers Den Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing