We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
160
81
9
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
81
9
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasta free shuttle buscommunal kitchensmall poolhome away from homebooking tourstea coffeerooms are cleanevery hourthe east coastnight markettracyjjsbackpackersfacilitiescerealaustralia
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

JJ's was the first hostel i ever stayed in and i loved it! Its a clean and cosy little hostel with a few little perks, like breakfast essentials in the morning, free dinner at the Woolshed each night, aircon(to pay as extra), free shuttle into town although i found the walk along the esplande was nice enough and didnt take too long. The reception staff were soo helpful and would help reccomend your next stay, trips and what around the area. I would stay here again overall a nice friendly little hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your great comments & review!
It can be a little daunting staying in a backpackers for the first time. It is so good that we were the first hostel you chose and that everything turned out well :o)
Happy travels and we hope you will continue to choose great places to stay in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The jj's bp is a nice little place a few minutes away from the busy town centre. Clean kitchen which supplies a lot of pans, cuttlery, plates etc. Our double room was perfect, two big windows, a comfy bed and there was enough space. Bathrooms looked very clean as well. Friendly staff!!
Not to forget the shuttle bus to the town centre and back to the hostel was well organized and reliable. We appreciated that a lot!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Magalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

YEAY, what a lovely review, thank you for this!!
It is great that you found us to be your "best hostel of your trip" "THANK YOU!"
We try to offer good service plenty of facilities to make your stay with us easy and fun.
Safe travel, from us all at JJ's x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I checked into JJ's for one night, 3 and a half weeks later I eventually left!

The best thing about JJ's are the people and the staff! I made some amazing friends with fellow travellers and also the staff. The only bad thing about JJ's is once you get settled there it is very hard to leave. Cairns is a great place to party and also the Great Barrier Reefs pretty good.

JJ's has everything you need as a backpacker as well as pizza nights, BBQ etc which is always good. This is not a party hostel it's in a quiet location but if you have a good bunch of people you can have plenty of fun. Also they have a great shuttle service into the city which is handy!

I cannot recommend this hostel enough if you're in Cairns stay at JJ's!

Thank you Sarah, Simon, Tracey, Harry & Fabs!

I LOVE BEER

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D2890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks squillions for this amazing review!!!!! Yes, it sure was a funny three weeks.
Fun times, you are mad !!!

WE LOVE BEER!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A small, very nice hostel with different entertainment activities at night.
Just a short walk out of the city along the sea over the esplanade. (or even shorter with the free shuttle bus)
I enjoyed my stay here and made some very lovely friends!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank MS-SS-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Short and sweet, we love it, thank you!!!
Great to see our guests find it easy to make friends here!!
Safe travels x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was so quiet, I was actually able to sleep during the night, a luxury not available at other Backpackers hostels. (from experience) All you want at a hostel: Nice environment, friendly staff, clean and comfortable, courtesy van. Love to come back for another stay!

Room Tip: Look at your room first before you accept.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your super rating and great review!!!
We look forward to seeing you again when yo make it back to Cairns ;o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews