We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs more showers/toilets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Needs more showers/toilets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We arrived late on the Greyhound (0045) and had been informed on booking the gate would be unlocked - it wasn't. Fortunately a friendly resident let us in. On booking we were given instructions on where to find the key (walk past the ping pong table then look in the knitted clowns pocket for the key), which to this day still makes me laugh - a random knitted clown!!!! The room was ok as was the shower/bathroom however if occupied you have to venture outside for the next nearest. More showers and toilets are needed in this place. The kitchen was clean and tidy but could be a little bigger with more utensils and an oven!!!! Overall it was a nice quiet place with friendly stafff and a friendly atmosphere. There are numerous discounts on local activities too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    75
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
54
87
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

It took me a day or two to warm up to this place. I didn't like our double room as it felt very shabby and we had ants but no bed bugs. However, we curbed the ant problem and my advice is DO NOT leave any food or drink in your room, even remnants or wrappers in the bin. There's a communal kitchen and fridge so put stuff in there. We did and had no problems. There's also a communal living area which is clean but again a little shabby but they do have some DVDs you can borrow to watch on the TV. The staff were excellent, all were very friendly and helpful particularly Ashleigh, Kev, Jarrah and the French man (sorry don't know his name). The communal kitchen was cleaned every day as was the place for the breakfast but it's basically a couple of cereals to choose from, toast, tea and coffee. But it did set us up for the day. There were two shared bathrooms in our block (5) and both were clean and showers were fine. There was a swimming pool which we saw one girl use and it looked ok but she said it was a bit cold. They have BBQs on Thursdays staff permitting. They have a free shuttle bus in and out of Cairns which is great with just a gap in the afternoon but they give you a brief map of Cairns and the the bus times on it. They did free pick-up from the airport too. The evening meals are at the Woolshed in town and it's a voucher you get from JJs. You can have 4 basic meals like spag bol or upgrade for $5, $7 or $8 for a meal from the bar menu. We got there early'ish and always had a decent feed. They can help with tours and we organised our scuba diving and car hire through them. They even arranged the bus to take us outside the standard times to get the car and to the marina.

The only real downside and a bit of a surprise was that there was no internet at all, not even wifi. Apparently it will be put in but could take a couple of months so you may wish to enquire about the status if you can't live without the internet. Central Cairns have many places you can sign up to Global Gossip and use the internet that way.

Oddly, for a backpackers, the first night there was the only noisy night and then it was blissfully quiet but I can't obviously guarantee others will experience that.

After a week staying I really liked this place and would recommend just because the staff were so lovely and it was away from the main backpacker haunts of central Cairns but just feel that they could do with sprucing up the rooms a bit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubbysNumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
350 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

I stayed here on my own and had such a good time. Its such a chilled out relaxing place and feels like a home away from home. The best hostel I EVER stayed in and would highly recommend it. All the staff so nice, regular buses in and out of town and less than a 15 min walk if you want to walk. Everyone makes you feel very welcome and the place is really clean with free breakfast on site and voucher for a fab dinner in the Woolshed pub in town. Really enjoyed it here. Well well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasiilaq, Greenland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

I had the luck to get a 3 bed room of my own, in spite of the Holiday season! And only had to pay for one bed. 30aud including dinner at a nearby eatery, and breakfast at the hostel

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Flarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

I didn't enjoy my stay there at all. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful, the rooms stank and had horribly uncomfortable beds. Our room was right beside the "laundry facility" consisting of one washer and one dryer, which was opened at 6am, and ran constantly all day until 12 midnight! The kitchen area was the bare minimum and dirty. The pool was scarily green and full of leaves (maybe they think that's acceptable in winter, but what about the Poms who think its a good temperature for swimming then?). There was no room for your bags in the double room we got, just the bed and enough room to edge around the outside of it..there was a cupboard but no backpackers bag or a suitcase would fit in it. Also it is very far from the city centre. They do provide shuttles to the city but the timing is weird. Also there was only one toilet with no sink, the sink is in the bathroom with the one shower, and thats for about 20 people. So if someones showering and you had to go, you don't get to wash your hands! The bathroom wasn't cleaned for the entire weekend, so it was extremely messy by Monday morning. Definitely wouldn't return or recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minty737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Just arrived off the greyhound bus had no idea were I was going to stay until a friendly english girl got my attention and she drove me directly to the hostel and checked me in (was the best choice i made because i stayed there for a month and had the time of my life!), everyone was so friendly, especially the staff. absolutely brilliant place to stay, clean, comfortable and easily accessible to the esplanade. would recommenced to everyone

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

I stayed 4 nights here, and completely regret it. JJ's is very old, the rooms are very small and many don't have air conditioning, the windows don't shut completely, there are insect infestations, cobwebs, an aweful stench to the rooms, horribly stained carpets and decades old bed linens... the list goes on. The people that stay at JJ's are rude, abnoxious, and inconsiderate, and will party and drink themselves silly all night long so don't expect to sleep (and the night staff party along with them, so they aren't any help to those of us wishing to actually sleep). I notified the property managers multiple times about the noise (one time I had to call the police it was so bad), bed bugs, and other complaints (someone had been stealing the food I had labeled as mine from the kitchen), and they said they would take care of it but it never got any better. The free breakfasts and dinners were a joke - soggy bread and stale cereal at the hostel, and then oily, tasteless dinners at a place called the Wool Shed which was dark, musty, and crawling with drunk students. The bus was another joke, the door fell off of the van and it stunk like a dead animal, and half the time it was late or didn't show up. I asked for a refund and they completely ignored my request. I would NEVER, EVER return to this hostel. Mind you I've been in hostels in Tokyo, New York City, San Francisco... this one was absolutely the worst, most disgusting place I've ever set foot in.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — Dirty, far from city center, noisy, no internet
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jlo5616-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Property: JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 11 - 13 Charles St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ's Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelbookers Awards for Excellence "Best Staff Oceania" 2012 & 2013! One of the few smaller hostels in Cairns, JJ's offers a friendly, social atmosphere and fantastic service. This owner/operated hostel is perfect for meeting people, having fun and has that family feel you are looking for. Breakfast included, all bed linen is provided and dorms are only 3 or 4 share! Doubles, twins & singles available and a free courtesy bus, train and city pick up! Secure off street parking also available for those self-drivers. All you will need for a safe and comfortable stay whilst in Cairns. JJ's operates a comprehensive Tour Booking Service offering discounted tours and adventures. Local, experienced Staff will give you honest advice on tours, transport options, where and what to see and do in Cairns, Queensland and the rest of Australia. Other services available at JJ's include; * Free WIFI * Fully equipped kitchen & BBQ facilities * Swimming Pool & Table Tennis * Games, X Box, DVDs, TV room & Book Swap * Air Conditioning for summer * Blankets for winter * Mobile, Internet & Phone card Recharge * Photocopy, printing & faxing * Laundry * Towels ($2 hire) * Free Safety Deposit & Backpack Storage* Hair-dryer * Free tea & coffee. Close to Esplanade, gym, supermarket, takeaways and pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your JJ's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing