We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hostel, shame about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
portugal
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good little hostel, shame about the location”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Having recently returned from our world trip, here is a review of our stay at this hostel. JJ's is a great little hostel and all you need for your stay. Our room was very basic, but the mattresses were confortable and we had air con which was essential. They include free dinner tickets at the Woolshed which was simple but tasty food. The location of the hostel was the only downside as it was quite far out, but they do run a free shuttle bus to town. The pool was the tiniest pool we had seen! We checked out after the first night to be more central to Cairns centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortugalExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    77
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
56
90
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at JJ's for 3 nights. We had a doubloe room with air conditioner if we'd wanted it. Luckily we didn't, there was plenty of fresh air with the windows open. I rate JJ's very highly. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathroom facilities were clean and I saw staff constantly cleaning there, and the kitchen. Breakfasts were readily available, and there was cereal, tea/coffee and toast with butter and jam. There was a courtesy bus which ran regualrly between the hostel and the centre of Cairns. This was free of charge. There is also a free dinner served at the Woolshed, and the quality and choice of food is good. You can update your meal for $5 which my husband did - nachos, which are worth a lot more than $5. The hostel is also located in a quiet part of town, safe to leave the car just outside overnight. It's 3 minutes walk from the beach/esplanade. Very quiet at night. Nice location for having breakfast in a morning and there was a small pool available for guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoAdventruers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed in hostels for seven months, but this one really stood out. The staff were so helpful and the hostel was nice and friendly due to it's relatively small size. The free breakfast is nothing exciting, but you can eat as much toast and honey/jam as you want, or cornflakes, which when being a poor backer, is very useful! The free dinners in town are quite small, but it is nice having someone cook for you and feeling like you are eating out! When we were here the owner did a free bbq one night with loads and loads of sausages, meat, salads, potato salad, pasta salad, rice salad, etc ect. And because there was too much for everyone to eat, she just put the rest in the fridges and said we could take as much as we wanted for our luches the next day! It was all delicious.
It is quite a walk from town. Maybe twenty minutes, but it is a beautiful walk along a boardwalk by the water with parrots in the trees next to you and pelicans the other side.
This hostel not luxury, but it is cheap, clean, friendly and safe. What more could you want from a hostel? I would recommend it to any backpacker.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather_supertramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We arrived late on the Greyhound (0045) and had been informed on booking the gate would be unlocked - it wasn't. Fortunately a friendly resident let us in. On booking we were given instructions on where to find the key (walk past the ping pong table then look in the knitted clowns pocket for the key), which to this day still makes me laugh - a random knitted clown!!!! The room was ok as was the shower/bathroom however if occupied you have to venture outside for the next nearest. More showers and toilets are needed in this place. The kitchen was clean and tidy but could be a little bigger with more utensils and an oven!!!! Overall it was a nice quiet place with friendly stafff and a friendly atmosphere. There are numerous discounts on local activities too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

It took me a day or two to warm up to this place. I didn't like our double room as it felt very shabby and we had ants but no bed bugs. However, we curbed the ant problem and my advice is DO NOT leave any food or drink in your room, even remnants or wrappers in the bin. There's a communal kitchen and fridge so put stuff in there. We did and had no problems. There's also a communal living area which is clean but again a little shabby but they do have some DVDs you can borrow to watch on the TV. The staff were excellent, all were very friendly and helpful particularly Ashleigh, Kev, Jarrah and the French man (sorry don't know his name). The communal kitchen was cleaned every day as was the place for the breakfast but it's basically a couple of cereals to choose from, toast, tea and coffee. But it did set us up for the day. There were two shared bathrooms in our block (5) and both were clean and showers were fine. There was a swimming pool which we saw one girl use and it looked ok but she said it was a bit cold. They have BBQs on Thursdays staff permitting. They have a free shuttle bus in and out of Cairns which is great with just a gap in the afternoon but they give you a brief map of Cairns and the the bus times on it. They did free pick-up from the airport too. The evening meals are at the Woolshed in town and it's a voucher you get from JJs. You can have 4 basic meals like spag bol or upgrade for $5, $7 or $8 for a meal from the bar menu. We got there early'ish and always had a decent feed. They can help with tours and we organised our scuba diving and car hire through them. They even arranged the bus to take us outside the standard times to get the car and to the marina.

The only real downside and a bit of a surprise was that there was no internet at all, not even wifi. Apparently it will be put in but could take a couple of months so you may wish to enquire about the status if you can't live without the internet. Central Cairns have many places you can sign up to Global Gossip and use the internet that way.

Oddly, for a backpackers, the first night there was the only noisy night and then it was blissfully quiet but I can't obviously guarantee others will experience that.

After a week staying I really liked this place and would recommend just because the staff were so lovely and it was away from the main backpacker haunts of central Cairns but just feel that they could do with sprucing up the rooms a bit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubbysNumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I stayed here on my own and had such a good time. Its such a chilled out relaxing place and feels like a home away from home. The best hostel I EVER stayed in and would highly recommend it. All the staff so nice, regular buses in and out of town and less than a 15 min walk if you want to walk. Everyone makes you feel very welcome and the place is really clean with free breakfast on site and voucher for a fab dinner in the Woolshed pub in town. Really enjoyed it here. Well well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasiilaq, Greenland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I had the luck to get a 3 bed room of my own, in spite of the Holiday season! And only had to pay for one bed. 30aud including dinner at a nearby eatery, and breakfast at the hostel

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Flarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.0 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Property: JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 11 - 13 Charles St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ's Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few smaller hostels in Cairns, JJ's offers a friendly, social atmosphere and fantastic service. This owner/operated hostel is perfect for meeting people, having fun and has that family feel you are looking for. Breakfast & WiFi included, all bed linen is provided and dorms are only 3 or 4 share! Doubles, twins & singles available and a free courtesy bus, train and city pick up. Secure off street parking for those self-drivers. All you will need for a safe and comfortable stay whilst in Cairns. JJ's operates a comprehensive Tour Booking Service offering discounted tours and adventures. Local, experienced Staff will give you honest advice on tours, transport options, where and what to see and do in Cairns, Queensland and the rest of Australia. Other services available at JJ's include; Fully equipped kitchen & BBQ facilities * Swimming Pool & Table Tennis * Games, X Box, DVDs, TV room & Book Swap * Air Conditioning for summer * Blankets for winter * Photocopy, printing & scanning * Laundry * Towels ($2 hire) * Free Safety Deposit & Backpack Storage* Hair-dryer/straigheners * Free tea & coffee. Close to Esplanade, gym, supermarket, takeaways and pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JJ's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing