We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tablelands & Paronella Park”

Tropical Horizons Tours
Ranked #94 of 159 Tours in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropical Horizons Tours has been established for over 20 years, and is committed to quality touring. Our tours have been Eco Tourism Australia accredited. Tropical Horizons Tours has one of the most diverse range of touring experiences offered in the region, visiting most of the icons of Tropical North Queensland. Using small personalised vehicles , we tour to The Daintree region , to Cape Tribulation, Kuranda , The Waterfalls & Paronella Park.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tablelands & Paronella Park”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was a great time. The pace was reasonable, our tour guide was great to chat with and we got to see some very unique things all with detailed explanations, including:
- Lake Barrine boat tour (wildlife, birds, lizards, eels, snakes)
- Giant Curtain Fig Tree
- Millaa Millaa Waterfall (beautiful spot for photos and a swim. You can swim behind the waterfall for a very cool perspective).
- Platypus lake (see wild platypus)
- Lunch between two waterfalls. Great food!
- Paronella Park

Paronella Park was the highlight of the trip. The tour guide was excellent at explaining the history and putting a human face on the beautiful structures and ruins that stand so unique in the rain forest.

Overall we had a great time. Our tour group was small (6 people) and very quiet and intimate. I recommend this tour to get some great glimpses at the beautiful landscape, wildlife and culture in the Tablelands region!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MacTheCat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    1
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and enjoyable day!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We visiting the waterfalls and paronella park, our tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable, the day was not rushed at all, very enjoyable. Both our teenage daughter and son even comment on how much they enjoyed it aswell and thats saying something!
Great introduction to what else is in the area, we will definitely be back and definitely be using Tropical Horizons Tours again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank denise255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Daintree River, Cape Tribulation Tour, stuck by the rain”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We took the Daintree, Cape Tribulation tour with Tropical Horizons in mid April, 2013. The forecast was very bad for the day. We rang and tried to cancel the tour. We were told there would be 100% cancellation fee. We were also promised we would have a great day despite the rain. We had no choice but went on with the tour. Waited in the rain with our 5 and 6 year olds for picking up. After that, we travelled to Port Dougals and took the Daintree river cruise. The cruise was great despite it rained here and there. However, this is very much the end of our tour. As we stopped for lunch the rain started pouring down. The torrential rain flooded the road and we got stuck at the restaurant for around 3.5 hours. At one stage, we were thinking we would be stuck there overnight. This is our tour - paid near $600 for sitting in a restaurant for a few hours. We felt the management was very poor for pushing the tour ahead under such poor weather conditions. We also booked a Green Island tour with Big Cat the next day. We had no problem canceling the tour while we were stuck in the restaurant. We were glad we did not take the Skyrail and Scenic train tour to Kuranda with Tropical Horizons as planned. If you have your own transport, it's better you go to the stations and buy your tickets there. Most of the businesses in Cairns have surcharge for using credit cards and the surcharge can be different. Tropical Horizons charged us 2%, however Big Cat only charged us 1.5%.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted P, Manager at Tropical Horizons Tours, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Hi,thankfully Trip Advisor provides opportunities to respond here , as your post is unfortunately misleading to other readers. I realize weather can make a difference, but we cannot determine it, and your post regrettably appears angry at us that your day was affected by it. We (also like Big Cat) would have refunded your tour, if you too had advised us, as you did them, on the day prior to travel. Regrettably, you only called our office 40 minutes before our vehicle was picking you up in the Northern Beaches. We reasonably offered to amend your date of travel to the next day or another day, but you advised you were departing Cairns the next day & could not do so – this does not accord with what you say here that you were travelling with Big Cat to the reef the very next day? I am unclear why you say you were waiting for our coach in the rain? We picked you up from a resort in Trinity Beach, as we always go into foyers to pickup our guests,
We must guarantee departures for all our guests, and mere rain does not permit us to cancel tours – we would have many complaints if we did - and when we very occasionally have to cancel at late notice due to severe monsoon or cyclone, we receive criticism here as well. We live in the Wet Tropics & we have an enormous amount of rain – the forecast was indeed for some rain, ( not unusual) but storms developed in the local Cape Tribulation area some 2 hours drive from Cairns & six hours after our tour departed , we can’t predict this. We did not cross the rising creek, not because of the height of water, (our vehicles are fitted with water crossing ability) but due to the sheer speed of the water /volume, as a result of localized sudden downpour, making crossings very dangerous. Safety of our guests is paramount on tour. We apologise for the delay you experienced however we cannot cross fast running waters. We acknowledge a significant delay occurred at lunch time, however we did ensure you received refreshments including all the tea and coffee you wanted (in dry, safe and comfortable conditions) while we waited for the storm and water to subside.
You say the tour “pretty much ended” at lunch time, this is not accurate. The company obtained priority direct &speedy access to Mossman Gorge in the afternoon, to make up some of the time lost to provide you with a guided tour of Mossman Gorge. I notice you acknowledge that both the activities the tour itself, Mossman Gorge experience, the River Cruise, morning teas and the lunch, & its venue that you participated in you did enjoy, as can be seen by other posts on here which are extremely positive.
We are a small niche tour company with moderate passenger numbers, unlike Big Cat Cruises which handles many thousands of Inbound people a week in simple large boat transfers to the outer islands, we do not get the same volume concessional merchant rates from Credit Card Services. As you acknowledge others charge this fee as well, & we only recover the cost associated with the handling fees they charge us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
1,951 reviews
1,153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6,194 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have taken many tours all over Australia and this one rates as one of the top ones.
We have travelled all over Cairns/Daintree area many years ago, but missed this area until recently.
The Waterfalls + Paronella Park tour was great. It's an all day tour from 7.30am to around 6.30pm. I could write a big long list, but in brief:
Included- Crater Lake cruise/wildlife spotting, giant curtain fig tree, visit to several waterfalls, cheese/ yoghurt tasting, morning/afternoon teas and lunch, and the best part was Paronella Park and the history. Our tour guide "Joe" was fabulous, He has been doing this tour (and others) for many years and he has a vast knowledge of the area. Not just historical, but also with regards to the flora and fauna. We would highly recommend you give them a try.
P.S. thank you Joe for dropping off my hat at the hotel after I left it during the middle of the tour.....Great service and very enjoyable chatting with you!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted P, Manager at Tropical Horizons Tours, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking your valuable time to let us all know of your memorable day with us - our staff and all involved appreciate the kind words .We do try hard to please all - hats are a very personal thing aren't they and when you misplace them - the world is not the same- glad we could reunite you with yours . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Daintree River, Cape Tribulation and Mossman Gorge Tour”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We took the Daintree, Cape Tribulation and Mossman Gorge tour offered by Tropical Horizons in early February, 2013. Overall, we found it was an excellent tour and really enjoyed it. But the main reason I wanted to write this review was because of Terry, our guide and driver for the day. I’ve taken many tours like this but I would have to say that he was probably the best guide we've ever had on a tour of this kind. He was an excellent speaker and was able to provide a wide range of information on many different topics. Yet he also seemed to know exactly how much information to give on each topic to hold our interest for the full day. This seemed to be felt by all the members of our party as at our first stop, one of the first comments everyone started making was about how much they were enjoying listening to Terry. I think I learned more about Australia in that one day, than I did for the entire rest of our vacation. And I know Terry didn't plan the timing of his driving so that he'd be in the right spot when the cassowary walked across the highway in front of us, but that was certainly a bonus too. But at least it does prove that as rare as those birds are, sightings do occur on this tour. The crocs, monitor lizards, bearded dragons, and wallabies that we saw on the tour also certainly added to the day. Thanks, Terry, for putting so much effort into the tour and thanks, Tropical Horizons, for putting the tour together.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical Horizons Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Horizons Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing