We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reef Encounter”
Review of Reef Encounter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reef Encounter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My wife and I along with some friends recently spent 3 days 2 nights on the Reef Encounter in Cairns and I can't recommend enough. If you like swimming, snorkeling, diving etc, then this is an absolute must, it's certainly an experience we'll never forget.

I can't speak highly enough of the staff, they made a great trip even better. Can't wait to do it again one day.

G Crawley (London)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank creepy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Reef Encounter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2010

What can I say, everything was just fab. The room was nice and was upgraded when the air conditioning wasn't working, without even asking. The chef (Fry) tried his absolute upper most to cater for my 'difficult' dietary needs and was very willing to accept meal suggestions. Laura (instructor) was an absolute rock of encouragement when night diving as I was so nervous. Many thanks (especially) to Caitlin, (but also) Jenny and Sam for their guided dives, which were very interesting and cool. Even more thanks to Cain (DM) for constantly keeping an eye out and of course Captain Garry, whom without, non of the diving would have been possible.

If you are reading this and are wondering about reef encounter, I can only tell you that it would be wrong to go with any other boat. I dived with the sister boat last year and am a repeat customer. The quality and service are superb. Safety is of a prime concern and the staff are there to support you, should you need it. I had so much fun.

Thanks chaps and chapesses for a great trip giving me memories I will never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dora_an_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Went to Cairns with my 13 yrs old son and literally bumped into a activities´ desk at the Marina.
Our innitial plan was to visit the great barrier and come back to the hotel on shore, but a very persuasive saleswoman, Carmen, made us change our minds, thank god!
It was indeed an experience to be remembered. The following morning we left in a catamaran that would take to the reef encounter and when we got there we were greeted by a very kind crew who showed us around and immediately made us feel at home. The dives were great, but that´s to be expected at the great barrier, not the lavender smelling rooms, delicious meal cook by our nice chef Fry and the comfortable longe spaces we had available for our idle times.
Something definetely worth repeating.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The rooms are very clean,
they cater to your dietary needs and the food was delicious.
Staff is fantastic, everyone knows you by name and makes you feel very comfortable
If you go Diving ask for Alex, he is the best!
i would have to agree with the previous reviewer, i don't usually go back to the same place but i can't wait to go back to Reef Encounter!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My husband and I just spent a month in Australia and New Zealand and this was hands down our favorite two days of the entire trip. The crew was amazing from the first minute we arrived. I had never been diving before and words cannot describe how wonderful the experience was and how very special the crew made it for me. They were the very best - so helpful and friendly!

There is also nothing like watching the sun rise and set on the reef and our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. We never want to go/do the same thing twice when traveling, but we have been saying since that we cannot wait to go back and do this again - though I don't know how it could get any better! This is an absolute MUST DO in Australia and has given us memories that we will cherish forever.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GracieT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

This trip was in a beautiful location,the views esp when snorkelling were amazing.Very impressed with the cleanliness of the boat and rooms.The service was quick and the crew were very friendly and helpful.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the Reef Encounter and the snorkelling and my partner loved his dive.

Thank you all for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princess1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

a great time on the boat, comfortable cabin, great staff, equipement very well kept.
My first "swimming hotel"
Good value for courses, dives and s.o.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellimollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Encounter

Address: 100 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £342 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Encounter 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Encounter,Great Barrier Reef, Cairns Liveaboard is Australia’s Great Barrier Reef’s floating luxury boutique hotel. Spend one night or several nights on one of the Natural Wonders of the World. Transfers departing from Cairns, Queensland daily, offering guests a unique opportunity to enjoy the ultimate reef experience. Enjoy the sunsets, relax, snorkel or scuba dive the crystal clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef Encounter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Encounter Hotel Great Barrier Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing