We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great way to learn to dive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Reef Encounter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reef Encounter
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great way to learn to dive!”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We booked this trip based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we had a fantastic time. I had never scuba dived before but the instructors put us all at ease and we had no trouble in picking up the basics. On our one night/2 day stay we dived 5 times and in fact my husband paid for an extra night dive which he said was fantastic. The staff were freindly, the food was good and we had a lovely cabin. I commend Justin in particular for putting up with my inability to get my flippers off my feet and he was gracious enough to help me everytime we surfaced! We saw loads of marine life and I will never forget the group Parrot fish hanging around on our 6.30 am dive, just waking up for the day. The food was good and the staff really professional yet relaxed. if you want to learn to dive this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopiBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    69
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
147
361
125
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I booked this company based on the reviews on this site and the reasonable cost, and I was not disappointed. The dive staff was very knowledgeable, personable, and helpful. The rooms were super clean (if a bit cold), and the food was second to none. I would recommend to anyone wanting to get a great value on the great barrier reef.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agnfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alstonville,nsw,australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

staff were friendly and polite,had a great time diving on the reef,one problem, it took a while to get the right weights for me as i have huge lungs.would recommend this trip to anyone, no matter what age.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shootre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Hello there,

The Reef Encounter crew were realy competent, very friendly and make us satying on the boat a real pleasure.

We'll never forgett such an experience, thx to all 4 that.

Cheers there and maybe we see us again,

Ralph & Suzana
Switzerland

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This trip was a once in a lifetime experience. Our time on the Reef Encounter was very enjoyable - food was very good, the staff was more than accommodating, the bed against the window was a little tight to get into but other than that, the room was acceptable. I have a fear of water, but thanks to the staff, I was able to snorkel not once but twice and enjoyed every minute of it. Thanks to the crew of the Encounter. Job well done.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dmacdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Fun and friendly staff - Thanks Alex, Carla, Kain, and Ellen!
Excellent food by top Chefs
SCUBA Diving was amazing

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anasi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

The whole experience was incredible, definitely the best way to experience the reef. It is something a bit different and you are very well looked after and the food is delicious, just what is needed after a day of snorkelling and diving! Topdeck - recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Encounter

Property: Reef Encounter
Address: 100 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Encounter 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Encounter,Great Barrier Reef, Cairns Liveaboard is Australia’s Great Barrier Reef’s floating luxury boutique hotel. Spend one night or several nights on one of the Natural Wonders of the World. Transfers departing from Cairns, Queensland daily, offering guests a unique opportunity to enjoy the ultimate reef experience. Enjoy the sunsets, relax, snorkel or scuba dive the crystal clear blue waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Reef Encounter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Encounter Hotel Great Barrier Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing