We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tropical Heritage Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$173
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
41
16
4
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
16
4
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentregency buildingkitchen warethese apartmentsmain bedroomshopping centrerusty's marketsuited our needsshort walkcentral locationhuge balconywashing machine and dryeryour doorstepgreat holidaynight staylocation is greatspence
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Arrived in Cairns in the very early morning, was given easy instructions to access to the building. Building is very secure with access only to the entrance door and elevator by security key-fob. Also noticed CCTV in place. Apartment 1 was very large and immaculately clean it looked brand new. King size bed in the main bedroom was a plus along with AUSTAR being available on the large flat screen TV in the living area. Great balcony with tables and chairs was perfect for watching some truly magnificent lightning storms that occurred on 2 nights while we were there. Was quite hot during the day but the over head fans worked great as well as the air conditioning. Wonderful pool and BBQ area on the same level as unit 1, which was very convenient for the kids. Just a quick trip across the street to the mall/shopping center and you can stock up on any number of items to cook in the full size kitchen or as we did most nights, cooked out on the BBQ. So many restaurants and night life happenings to mention but can safely say cairns can cater to everyone’s pallet. The front desk girl was very gracious and accommodating and helped us out with all our tour needs. Onsite managers were lovely and were very attentive to any and all requests. Shops in every direction but I would get up in the morning and walk across the street to get the papers and coffee. There was some construction going on in the main level reception area while we were there but did not inconvenience us. Looks like they are putting in computers or perhaps a business center for use (not sure on this) Wi-Fi was available for a small fee which was great we could use it anywhere in the apartment or out by the pool. There is also another room in this unit with a pull down bed although not enclosed as a bedroom could be made into one by a room divider of screen so its technically a 3 bedroom 2 bath rather than 2 bed and 2 bath which although we didn’t use still was a treat to have. Ample storage cupboards and walk-in robe areas were great giving even roomier atmosphere. Was really surprised by how large these apartments were and the convenience of amenities like the pool, full kitchen and BBQ and of course the location across the street from the mall, why we would stay in a hotel. Our family had a truly wonderful vacation and will certainly return to Cairns and Clarendon on Spence.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I booked to stay in this apartment through wotif.com. During the process of organising this booking I phoned Courtney the Manager at these apartments twice from Melbourne. During one of these phone calls I explained to Courtney that our children suffer from severe anaphylaxis to a range of allergens and that the apartment must be clean. I also noted on the wotif.com online booking form "Please ensure that apartment is clean. Our children have severe allergies.".

We arrived at these apartments at about 0200 on Friday 17 September. On arrival we checked the children's beds prior to putting them to bed and noticed that the pillow slips on the bed were absolutely filthy. One of the pillow slips had a brown skid mark on it and the other pillow slip was dark with dirt as if it had been rubbed across the floor. Several of the lights in the master bathroom were also not working and one of the lights in the lounge area had been pulled out and was dangling by a live 240 volt wire. The sheets in the children's beds also had odd stains on them. In the top drawer of the bedside drawers in the second bedroom was a used condom rolled up in a tissue and an opened condom packet was sitting next to it. The fridge and the kitchen area were also not clean and my Wife had to clean out the fridge at 0200 in the morning so that we could use it. The cutlery in the kitchen had smeared food on it as if it had not been washed and there was dried up food on the cook top and the toaster had a large dent in it as if it had been dropped or punched.

On the morning of Friday 17 September I SMSed Courtney's Manager a gentleman known as Craig to complain about the filthy linen and kitchen area, the used condom in the drawer and the light dangling out of the ceiling by half a metre of live 240 volt wire and the spa which was also not clean. Craig rang me back on mobile to say that he would talk to Courtney about moving us into another apartment. Shortly after this a young Philippino woman knocked at the front door of the apartment and said that she had been sent by the Manager to clean up the apartment. We left this Cleaner in our apartment so that she could finish cleaning and went on a day trip to Skyrail. Before leaving for Skyrail I went down to the Manager's office and spoke to Courtney. Courtney arranged for me to speak with Craig at 1700 on Friday 17 September. Craig never arrived at 1700 for the meeting nor did he telephone me on mobile to say that he wasn't going to come ( NB. After we hurried back from Cairns so that I could talk to him. ).

On Saturday 18 September I found a long sliver of glass in the drawer with the pots and pans. On the evening of Saturday 18 September I noticed that one of the toilets was leaking and that I needed to tap the cistern after the children used the toilet to stop the noise of water continually flowing into the toilet. On the morning of Sunday 19 September we realized that the freezer in the fridge in the kitchen was not working properly and all the food in the freezer had gone off ( NB. About $10 worth of food. ). As we were moving out of the apartment on the morning of Sunday 19 September I found an unused condom in the top drawer of of my six year old daughter's bedroom. I am thankful that my daughter and son did not find this condom and bring it to our attention. On the morning of Sunday 19 September I SMSed Craig ( NB. I have kept the SMS messages. ) to say "Craig, have tried to meet / contact you without success. Freezer broken - lost $10 worth food. Found opened condom top drawer children's bedrm - left it there for you to see. Not acceptable." Unfortunately, Craig did not respond to this SMS.

Our stay at these apartments has caused us considerable stress. I am particularly angry about the used condom in the second bedroom, the state of the linen in our children's bedroom and the unused condom in the drawer in our children's bedroom. In my opinion, it is criminally negligent to leave a live 240 volt wire dangling from a ceiling when it is clear that a family with young children are going to be moving in. It is also extremely antisocial not to clean up used / unused condoms from the apartment and to at least meet with me to try and work through some of these issues. We have booked accommodation through wotif.com on many different occasions over the years and I have never experienced anything like this before. My advice is to be very careful staying at these apartments because if you have a problem do not expect to receive a refund.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gian_Bhogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

We thank you for taking the time to advise of these issues you encountered during your stay, we appreciate all feedback in order to improve the business and rectify any items which require extra attention. We do advise however that Courtney is not the Manager, the previous Manager's have sold the business and we advise that Cairns City Apartments is now under New Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

we stayed at regency on spence for 4 nights with 2 young children. the apartment was great for our young family. we loved the big balcony it was great for entertaining guests!unfortunately upon checking in we discovered the floors and bench tops were very dusty and dirty and had to be cleaned the following day, this made it difficult for our children to play on the floor. also, the kitchen was lacking a few essentials. we thought the entire unit could use a good cleaning out. lastly, the traffic noise was something we had to get used to.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with feedback on your recent trip. We would also like to thank you for pointing out some deficiencies in the Apartment.
The deficiencies within our control have been noted and rectified.
Unfortunately traffic noise can occasionally be an issue as we are located in the heart of Cairns.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed for a week with 4 year old and a 14 mth old and despite being concerned about being cooped up in an appt we found that as the room was so spacious we were fine. We were there for my husband to attend a conference for the first 4 days so I was in the apartment a lot but being right across the road from the Cairns Central shopping mall meant if we just needed to get out for an hour we could go to the airconditioned comfort of the mall, even though in the middle of the day it was a bit warm to be walking most other places with small children.
These apartments are located a few blocks away (10-15 min walk) from the main hotel and tourist area but this was fine with us as it meant it was quiet at night time.
Craige from the reception area was friendly and always happy to help with both accomodation needs but also tourism info.
Overall we found this apartment suited our needs really well and it was as described on the website we booked it from. Our friends stay in apt 208 and had a super comfy lounge with recliners and a ig LCD TV, we were in 206 and had the worlds most uncomfortable cane lounge and old style TV but this just encouraged us to find other things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefamily033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We booked two 3 bedroom apartments - both were very spacious and modern, overlooking one of the main streets in Cairns. The apartments were conveniently located across the road from the major shopping centre (including Myer and the supermarket!) and close walking distance to restaurants, the casino and Marlin Jetty. Staff were friendly and the pool was great!

Would definitely recommend to families and groups wanting a relaxing stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews