We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many good & bad things - 3 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns City Apartments
Ranked #36 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“So many good & bad things - 3 Stars”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This was a place to "plonk" ourselves whilst in Cairns visiting friends - we weren't "tourist" in the traditional sense - our Cairns friends were going to keep us entertained!- ie we didn't need to be next to the esplanade, or near the casino or anything like that, we just wanted a bed to sleep in & a spa in our apartment to chill out.

We didn't book ahead, but had done some research beforehand in case we decided to stay in accommodation rather than impede on our friends for too long. So full credit to the lady (Natasha) who came down and booked us in.
NB: The office is closed over weekends - which is a bit weird for serviced apartments in a holiday area - anyway, it seems to work for them.

The Good:
Spacious Apartment
Great entertaining area on the deck
Has a spa in the ensuite
A Kitchen with great range of appliances and utensils
Right over the road from Cairns' main shopping centre (depending on who you are, this could be a bad or good thing)

The bad:
Nightclub noise (deep base) every night (weekend) waking us up regularly
Light curtains in bedroom was not good at keeping light out
Dirty floor on deck (although probably because some of the deck had just been re-tiled and it hadn't been cleaned up properly due to our unexpected booking)
Dirty carpet in main bedroom
Unexpected "extra cleaning" charge, automatically charged to the Credit Card after we had left Cairns - after a quick email & follow up phone call, this was removed


The Apartment:
Very spacious - massive actually. 2 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious deck/entertainment area & large living/casual area. So large was the space that the designer could have put a 3rd bedroom in and it would still be a large unit. The main bedroom ensuite had a SPA - yes!!!!! Downside to spa - tap water flowed slowly & took forever to fill up. Also, ran out of hot water before it filled. So only expect a warm spa, not a hot spa.

Main bedroom - Queen bed - but the mattress was hard though (ie a cheap mattress). The massive downsides to this apartment are in the Bedroom. Curtains - while they look like blackouts, are actually thin and let heaps of light through - very hard to sleep in this room. The second downside is the noise from the nightclubs/pubs down the road. We had a road facing apartment - the deep "thump thump thump" from the base of a few nightclubs down the road kept on waking me up throughout the night. Double Glassing or some sort of window based dampening is desperately needed here - especially for the weekend stays (when nightclubs are typically open longer). Third downside is the carpet in the main bedroom was dirty & scruffy. A really good carpet clean is in need for Apartment #4

In the end, it was a nice apartment, but with some downside to it. The nightclub / pub noise, even though the pub is 50+ metres away, I am not sure how they deal with this (earplugs?) - but maybe we should have moved into the second bedroom at the back of the apartment - but then why have a room at the front in the first place if this is an issue.

I would have loved to give you 4 stars, but the nightclub noise & also the email saying our Credit Card had been charged $100 for extra cleaning - not a surprise you want after a good weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    13
    4
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
4
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Arrived in Cairns in the very early morning, was given easy instructions to access to the building. Building is very secure with access only to the entrance door and elevator by security key-fob. Also noticed CCTV in place. Apartment 1 was very large and immaculately clean it looked brand new. King size bed in the main bedroom was a plus along with AUSTAR being available on the large flat screen TV in the living area. Great balcony with tables and chairs was perfect for watching some truly magnificent lightning storms that occurred on 2 nights while we were there. Was quite hot during the day but the over head fans worked great as well as the air conditioning. Wonderful pool and BBQ area on the same level as unit 1, which was very convenient for the kids. Just a quick trip across the street to the mall/shopping center and you can stock up on any number of items to cook in the full size kitchen or as we did most nights, cooked out on the BBQ. So many restaurants and night life happenings to mention but can safely say cairns can cater to everyone’s pallet. The front desk girl was very gracious and accommodating and helped us out with all our tour needs. Onsite managers were lovely and were very attentive to any and all requests. Shops in every direction but I would get up in the morning and walk across the street to get the papers and coffee. There was some construction going on in the main level reception area while we were there but did not inconvenience us. Looks like they are putting in computers or perhaps a business center for use (not sure on this) Wi-Fi was available for a small fee which was great we could use it anywhere in the apartment or out by the pool. There is also another room in this unit with a pull down bed although not enclosed as a bedroom could be made into one by a room divider of screen so its technically a 3 bedroom 2 bath rather than 2 bed and 2 bath which although we didn’t use still was a treat to have. Ample storage cupboards and walk-in robe areas were great giving even roomier atmosphere. Was really surprised by how large these apartments were and the convenience of amenities like the pool, full kitchen and BBQ and of course the location across the street from the mall, why we would stay in a hotel. Our family had a truly wonderful vacation and will certainly return to Cairns and Clarendon on Spence.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I booked to stay in this apartment through wotif.com. During the process of organising this booking I phoned Courtney the Manager at these apartments twice from Melbourne. During one of these phone calls I explained to Courtney that our children suffer from severe anaphylaxis to a range of allergens and that the apartment must be clean. I also noted on the wotif.com online booking form "Please ensure that apartment is clean. Our children have severe allergies.".

We arrived at these apartments at about 0200 on Friday 17 September. On arrival we checked the children's beds prior to putting them to bed and noticed that the pillow slips on the bed were absolutely filthy. One of the pillow slips had a brown skid mark on it and the other pillow slip was dark with dirt as if it had been rubbed across the floor. Several of the lights in the master bathroom were also not working and one of the lights in the lounge area had been pulled out and was dangling by a live 240 volt wire. The sheets in the children's beds also had odd stains on them. In the top drawer of the bedside drawers in the second bedroom was a used condom rolled up in a tissue and an opened condom packet was sitting next to it. The fridge and the kitchen area were also not clean and my Wife had to clean out the fridge at 0200 in the morning so that we could use it. The cutlery in the kitchen had smeared food on it as if it had not been washed and there was dried up food on the cook top and the toaster had a large dent in it as if it had been dropped or punched.

On the morning of Friday 17 September I SMSed Courtney's Manager a gentleman known as Craig to complain about the filthy linen and kitchen area, the used condom in the drawer and the light dangling out of the ceiling by half a metre of live 240 volt wire and the spa which was also not clean. Craig rang me back on mobile to say that he would talk to Courtney about moving us into another apartment. Shortly after this a young Philippino woman knocked at the front door of the apartment and said that she had been sent by the Manager to clean up the apartment. We left this Cleaner in our apartment so that she could finish cleaning and went on a day trip to Skyrail. Before leaving for Skyrail I went down to the Manager's office and spoke to Courtney. Courtney arranged for me to speak with Craig at 1700 on Friday 17 September. Craig never arrived at 1700 for the meeting nor did he telephone me on mobile to say that he wasn't going to come ( NB. After we hurried back from Cairns so that I could talk to him. ).

On Saturday 18 September I found a long sliver of glass in the drawer with the pots and pans. On the evening of Saturday 18 September I noticed that one of the toilets was leaking and that I needed to tap the cistern after the children used the toilet to stop the noise of water continually flowing into the toilet. On the morning of Sunday 19 September we realized that the freezer in the fridge in the kitchen was not working properly and all the food in the freezer had gone off ( NB. About $10 worth of food. ). As we were moving out of the apartment on the morning of Sunday 19 September I found an unused condom in the top drawer of of my six year old daughter's bedroom. I am thankful that my daughter and son did not find this condom and bring it to our attention. On the morning of Sunday 19 September I SMSed Craig ( NB. I have kept the SMS messages. ) to say "Craig, have tried to meet / contact you without success. Freezer broken - lost $10 worth food. Found opened condom top drawer children's bedrm - left it there for you to see. Not acceptable." Unfortunately, Craig did not respond to this SMS.

Our stay at these apartments has caused us considerable stress. I am particularly angry about the used condom in the second bedroom, the state of the linen in our children's bedroom and the unused condom in the drawer in our children's bedroom. In my opinion, it is criminally negligent to leave a live 240 volt wire dangling from a ceiling when it is clear that a family with young children are going to be moving in. It is also extremely antisocial not to clean up used / unused condoms from the apartment and to at least meet with me to try and work through some of these issues. We have booked accommodation through wotif.com on many different occasions over the years and I have never experienced anything like this before. My advice is to be very careful staying at these apartments because if you have a problem do not expect to receive a refund.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gian_Bhogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
We thank you for taking the time to advise of these issues you encountered during your stay, we appreciate all feedback in order to improve the business and rectify any items which require extra attention. We do advise however that Courtney is not the Manager, the previous Manager's have sold the business and we advise that Cairns City Apartments is now under New Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

we stayed at regency on spence for 4 nights with 2 young children. the apartment was great for our young family. we loved the big balcony it was great for entertaining guests!unfortunately upon checking in we discovered the floors and bench tops were very dusty and dirty and had to be cleaned the following day, this made it difficult for our children to play on the floor. also, the kitchen was lacking a few essentials. we thought the entire unit could use a good cleaning out. lastly, the traffic noise was something we had to get used to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to supply us with feedback on your recent trip. We would also like to thank you for pointing out some deficiencies in the Apartment.
The deficiencies within our control have been noted and rectified.
Unfortunately traffic noise can occasionally be an issue as we are located in the heart of Cairns.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed for a week with 4 year old and a 14 mth old and despite being concerned about being cooped up in an appt we found that as the room was so spacious we were fine. We were there for my husband to attend a conference for the first 4 days so I was in the apartment a lot but being right across the road from the Cairns Central shopping mall meant if we just needed to get out for an hour we could go to the airconditioned comfort of the mall, even though in the middle of the day it was a bit warm to be walking most other places with small children.
These apartments are located a few blocks away (10-15 min walk) from the main hotel and tourist area but this was fine with us as it meant it was quiet at night time.
Craige from the reception area was friendly and always happy to help with both accomodation needs but also tourism info.
Overall we found this apartment suited our needs really well and it was as described on the website we booked it from. Our friends stay in apt 208 and had a super comfy lounge with recliners and a ig LCD TV, we were in 206 and had the worlds most uncomfortable cane lounge and old style TV but this just encouraged us to find other things to do.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiefamily033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We booked two 3 bedroom apartments - both were very spacious and modern, overlooking one of the main streets in Cairns. The apartments were conveniently located across the road from the major shopping centre (including Myer and the supermarket!) and close walking distance to restaurants, the casino and Marlin Jetty. Staff were friendly and the pool was great!

Would definitely recommend to families and groups wanting a relaxing stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far South Coast, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2006

Two couples, mature travellers, and life-long friends shared one of these 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartments. We were delighted with the standard of accomodation, spacious, light and airy, one bedroom had a large bed, roomy walk-in robe, large en-suite,(great shower) the other a queen size bed and a full size bathroom
The situation is ideal, diagonally across from Cairns Central, (a very large shopping Centre) and within easy walking distance to the Esplanade, the lagoon and the City Centre.
Management in the form of Grant Skinner could not have been more helpful.
I did take photographs of this apartment, but unfortunatly my camera went "missing"

Helpful?
1 Thank veeahtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#38 of 64 in Cairns
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.3 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
0.4 mi away
Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
0.8 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#30 of 84 in Cairns
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Apartments

Property: Cairns City Apartments
Address: 75 - 79 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully self contained spacious large luxury holiday apartments with two full bathrooms and full home style kitchen space is what we offer across the street from cairns largest shopping centre and five minutes walk from anywhere in the CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing