We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$363
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$125
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
41
16
4
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
16
4
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentregency buildingkitchen warethese apartmentsmain bedroomshopping centrerusty's marketsuited our needsshort walkcentral locationhuge balconywashing machine and dryeryour doorstepgreat holidaynight staylocation is greatspence
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Here on a travel agents famil, I'm currently 2 nights into a 4 night stay in what I imagine (and hope!) is the worst 3 bedroom apartment in the complex. The furniture is old and outdated, outdoor furniture is torn, linen doesn't properly fit the beds, there is a small screen but large prehistoric tv which makes a piercing and humming sound when it's on (so its off). The pool is rather small also.
I booked another group of agents into a 2 bedroom unit here which has a much better layout, 2 modern tvs and furnishings although they say it smells like a motel...
Having spent the majority of the stay so far in bed due to illness today I'm feeling better until I had a really good look around and just became annoyed by it all. I phoned thru to ask if we could have a replacement tv as this one is noisy and enquired as to another room but when the guy came to "look at the tv" he just said he couldn't hear the noise I was referring to!! And that nothing could be done about it until Monday so to let him know Monday if it's still playing up! (hilarious considering its Saturday and we leave Monday..) and that they can't change apartments as there's no availability.. Wish I'd booked the sebel as they had a great industry rate but my partner was adamant we book an apartment since we brought the kids along :( oh well next time.. Will post pics

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frombyronbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are continually working to improve the experience for our guests whilst staying with us at Cairns City Apartments.

*Please note that this guest did not stay with us on a "Travel Agents Famil" they were a full paying guest who booked their accommodation directly with us and their affiliation with any travel company has nothing to do with this particular booking.

We apologise that the Apartment was not up to your standard but this is by no means our "worst apartment". All of our Apartments are individually styled and we believe this makes our accommodation unique, as all of our apartments differ in furnishings and layout. Our apartments are more of a 'home away from home".

Perhaps the furnishings in this particular apartment weren't to your liking, but we often have great comments about this particular Apartment especially from international guests as it has beautiful original Aboriginal art on the walls and a matching decor.

In regards to linen not properly fitting the beds, there are 3 Queen Beds in this apartment all being fitted with Queen sheets so we are unsure as to why you would think that the linen did not fit? Perhaps you messed up the sheets and you did not re-make the bed properly.

You stated that the Apartments smelt like a Motel? If you mean smelt like it was recently cleaned then we will take this as a compliment. We use high grade cleaning products on our Apartments to ensure that all facilities are hygienically cleaned and sanitised before our guests check in.

In regards to the TV our Maintenance crew was called to inspect the TV at 8.30pm on the Saturday evening and could find no fault with the TV or no strange noise coming from it. As to the TV being unsatisfactory, it was in full working condition and you had all digital channels. This particular TV is not a flat screen but will be replaced with a flat screen in the coming week. We do not advertise that flat screens are in all apartments, they are in 90% of them and will be in all apartments in the very near future.

In regards to the ripped chair, a new outdoor setting has now been placed on the balcony and looks great! Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

The pool at Clarendon is 4m x 11m and is in no way small. Perhaps you found it small as you had six children swimming in it at the same time. We regularly get great feedback from other guests as to how this is a great pool area and how nice it is to relax around to have a swim and a spa.

In regards to bringing your children I am sure you had much more space in our 3 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Apartments than if you stayed in a small hotel room. Perhaps next time you stay in Cairns choose a Five Star Hotel as you seem to have quite particular taste.

Again thank you very much for your review your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

Kind Regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This place was a complete joke. If you like ants all over your apartment then look no further, this is where you need to be. They also like to advertise things that they don't actually have, like a bbq grill, a friendly staff, or a clean pool. Don't bother complaining about anything either, they proved to be the most unhelpful, condescending, rude hospitality staff I've ever had the pleasure of staying with. Don't write anything on this website they don't like either, cuz they'll threaten you with a lawsuit. If you're looking to enjoy Cairns, stay at the Casino or Gilligans, at least they can offer you free food and drinks during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not have the experience you were looking for but perhaps your group should have booked at a Backpackers like Gilligans as our Apartments are not catered to your demographic of young backpackers. We are a corporate and family orientated establishment and pride ourselves on this. We do not offer “drink specials” and are not a party hotel, in fact we have a very strict no party policy which you were informed of when booking and checking in.

Readers of this review should note that on departure the apartment was left in an unsatisfactory condition which took Housekeeping an extra 2 hours to clean including that we had to hire carpet cleaners to clean all the carpets.

On check out this guest was informed that the apartment was in an unsatisfactory condition and given the chance to come back to clean the apartment, in which they declined. They were then informed there would be an extra cleaning charge which they accepted as they were aware the apartment was in an unsatisfactory condition which was in breach of the booking conditions.

Also, at no time did this guest contact us with any issues including ants and on cleaning the apartment we found no evidence of ants.

We pride ourselves on our being a corporate and family orientated accommodation provider and our customer service and satisfaction is of our utmost priority.

Again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Kind Regards Zara
Sales and Property Manager
Cairns City Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Michael and Natasha Lumley, we loved Cairns City Apartments. We chose to stay there because of the location and price, but it was so much more. When we arrived, we knew this was the right place for us. You were both very attentive and made us feel welcome. The apartment was much bigger than expected, modern and very clean. It was so comfortable that we didn’t want to the leave room! We were very impressed!
The most extraordinary thing of all was the location, location, location. We were close to the Great Barrier Reef, The Lagoon, Esplanade, lots of shopping, many fine dining establishments, night time entertainment, the Casino and many other attractions.

Cairns City Apartments was the perfect place for us and went beyond our expectations.

Thank you
Andrew & Tracy

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I booked into Regency on Spence as we required accomodation for a couple of nights to conduct some business in town. We had stayed the previous week at Piermonde Apartments, unfortunately these were fully booked and Regency on Spence was one of the only two bedroom options left. When I booked the accomodation I requested a portacot and also commented on the price which was $61 a night more than a huge two bedroom on the 14th floor with amazing views and all the little extras at Piermonde. There was no flexibility on price or locals discounts offered. Beggers cant be choosers so I took the apartment. On arrival we had to check in at Clarendon on Spence, checkin was unusual, couldnt descirbe it as exceptional service, but it also was not overly bad service.
Once parked and unloaded in Regency I realised that I would have to take the baby out of the pram and try and go up and down flights of stairs with baggage and a baby as there were no lifts. I would have thought that when booking accomodation with a portacot you would be told that you would not have easy acess with a pram. Not a good start for the Regency.
Arrival in the room showed a reasonably sized area with an excellant kitchen. The master bedroom has a large ensuite with spa, unfortunately the spa could have been cleaner and the carpet in this room is filthy. The second bedroom has a much better bed than the master and the second bathroom was perhaps a little cleaner but still could do with a doese of exit mould. The fan in the master bedroom struggled to turn and was unable to produce a breeze, the fan in the lounge had the same issue. Of the Three bedside lights available, only 1 worked. For the price that you pay you are not showered with the standard expectations, there is no shampoo, conditioner or tissues and the toilet paper more closely resembles sandpaper.
Walking barefoot on the floor resulted in black feet so I am not sure that housekeeping mop so well, and the deck is unuseable due to the thick layer of black grime on floor, table and seats.
Sleep is not something you are likely to get from this room (number 4) The neighbours slam doors regularly and the noise from the street and nightclub is terrible.
Whilst the apartment is conveniently located, most apartments in Cairns are as the city is not that big. There is not a nice view from the aprtment and I certainly would not rate this apartment above two stars.
The service from the manager on check out was also not good enough. I told the manager of the issues with the apartment and was thanked for my opinion!!!
I would not reccomend this apartment and would certainly never use it again.

Room Tip: Not baby friendly
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed with my parents and a friend for three nights on holiday. We booked a 2-room apartment and were pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade to a 3-room apartment (room 7) in the Regency Building.

The location is top-notch, only 5 minutes' walk to the fleet reef terminal which saved us some costs on taxis. Apartment no. 7 is in the back of the block, away from the noise on the main street, spence street.; but the downside was very limited natural light. The apartment's living area, master bedroom and balcony were large, while the other two bedrooms were of standard sizes. The kitchen was fully equipped with a large stainless steel fridge, utensils and tablewares. Overall the interior fit-out and furniture were slightly tired but didn't hamper a pleasant stay. It was a bit unsettling that the security door guard on our apartment door was broken. Each room only had a very thin blanket which was barely adequate for 14-degree nights in June.

The reception is located in the Clarendon building (the interior of which appeared newer than the Regency building, judging from the reception hall) next door. We checked in on a public holiday and there was no staff on duty, so we had to wait the next day to get the keyfob to the security carpark. Natasha the manager was a lovely lady.

Overall very good value for money and the little flaws didn't bother us too much considering we were out playing tourists most of the time. The property feels like a 3-star hotel that has great potential to go 4-star. Will consider going back for all apparent upsides.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank JuneZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews