We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns City Apartments
Ranked #37 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My wife booked the accommodation at the Claredon. The apartment was filthy crawling with insects, the toilet had stains on the outside of the bowl, the shower was full of rust, there were dirt marks all over the place and you could automatically feel the dust and dirt on the ground inside the apartment if you didn't have shoes on. The apartment was relatively modern I grant you that and comfort level was ok once you took away the uncleanliness of the place for a self contained apartment in Australia!! The service of the staff was below average. The receptionist appeared to be disinterested in her job and unprofessionally dressed. At times during our stay there would be nobody in the office during staffing hours with staff starting late and finishing early. And when I enquired about the text message system to ask people to switch off their air con they send out to all clients (earlier reviews also talked about this), the Receptionist was rude in her response and belittled me explaining about how the company was doing their part saving the Great Barrier Reef. I am pretty sure if you stopped drinking from plastic cups and drinking filtered water you’d also save on greenhouse gas emissions as well – among other things the office was doing incorrectly.

I remember one day letting myself into the apartment and having another lady from one of the “sister” apartments trying to open the office door which I stated was shut as the lights were off (3.45pm on a Tuesday!). She cursed and I casually said to her “the service is pretty average isn’t it?” which she replied “it’s woeful”. So thinking that it was not just my experience. The location for the apartment is good to the town centre but about a 15-20 minute walk to the Esplanade. I will not be returning here. The time that the two of us stayed there could have been ok if it wasn’t for the unprofessional service and unprofessional cleaning in between tenants staying in the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 555MarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review.

Firstly half of the he images of the apartment do not correspond with the apartment this particular guest stayed in. For one there are no blinds in the apartment they stayed in, this is not an image from their apartment. Perhaps this is from anther place you stayed whilst travelling?

Also we had just recently had pest control done as we are very diligent with this being in the tropics and yes perhaps a few (dead) insects had come out of the woodwork. One cockroach on the outside tiles does not warrant the statement that the apartment was "crawling with insects".

I pride myself on my professional service and friendly and helpful attitude. I have won awards for customer service in past jobs in Tourism sectors in Cairns and abroad and most certainly do not come to work unprofessionally dressed. Yes we all dress a little more casually up here in Far North Queensland due to the heat, but I always present myself in a professional way.

We also send text messages to all guests reminding them to turn off their airconditioning whilst they are out for the day as many people go out and leave them on for the whole day which is very wasteful. When you asked about this I gave you this very answer and did in no way belittle you. I apologize if you took it this way, I was merely explaining our reasoning for this polite reminder.

Our Reception is open from 8.30am - 5.00pm Monday to Friday. As we are a very small business sometimes it is necessary to lock the office if we need to go up to an apartment or do a service call. We are always contactable on the office number and advise this to all guests when checking in. This is also stated on your check in sheet and in your provided compendium in your apartment.

Our location is right in the CBD of Cairns across from Cairns Central Shopping Centre (the main Shopping Centre in Cairns) and the Cairns Train Station. It is not a 20 minute walk to the Esplanade it is 5 minutes at the most as it is only 4 blocks. Perhaps you were taking an indirect walk to the Esplanade?

Again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Cairns City Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment on the first floor over a weekend. Check in was easy, undercover parking and very spacious, well appointed apartment. The quality of the furniture was good and with tiling throughout, easy to maintain. Located in the CBD it was walking distance to town, shopping and the Esplanade. The staff appeared to be very concerned about the air con being left on when we went out, however, it was still a very pleasant stay. Would go again as it was reasonably priced (Wotif special for $540 for 3 nights) and very comfortable.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Webb family and friends, would like to express our very sincere thanks to Zara,Tash & all at Clarendon for the,care and compassion shown to us all during our 9 day stay. We all found the accommodation very good and clean and all staff members went out of their way to help us through a very difficult time. It is very much appreciated. Next time we are in Cairns we have no hesitation at all in returning to the apartments and enjoying the location and facilities under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review Lyn it was a pleasure meeting yourself and your family. It was absolutely our pleasure in assisting you at this very tough time for yourself and your family, we were more than happy to help and hope that we brightened your day a little with our smiling faces in such a tough time for you.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the facilities and thank you for referring other members of your family to stay with us also over this time.

We wish you the best and look forward to welcoming you again in the future under happier circumstances.

Thank you again. -Zara, Tasha and Micheal Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend at the Beaumont in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, 2 balcony apartment.
On arrival we were shown up to our apartment by the lovely manager Zara, who did a walkthrough and explained everything.

The location is supurb, right across the road from Cairn's biggest shopping centre and 4 1/2 blocks from the esplanade. The apartment itself was well appointment with all the mod cons and a laundry including washing powder! The rooms were all full sized and the ensuite from the main was massive with a doiuble sink.
There was no view from the rear balcony which was big enough for 40 people! and the front balcony overlooked the pool.
We paid the extra $5 a day to park our car securely undercover and were provided with a garage remote for this. We swam in the pool on two days is was lovely and had sunlounges around it and a table an a chairs as well.

Checkout was simple, and we didnt use the tour service offered.

Will be back again for a family or girls holiday, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for your review Ang,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay on your girls weekend in January and your kind words about our Manager Zara. She really does go out of her way to make our guests stay enjoyable and her local knowledge is second to none.

The apartment you stayed in at Beaumont is huge and perfect for a girls getaway. The pool area is also lovely for lounging around on these hot days in Cairns.

We look forward to your next visit to us with your family or your girlfriends!

- Regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

to be honest, the construction is not bad, about 10 min walking distance to the marine, aircondition is great, but there's no view at all, no nature light and the ground level apartment looks creepy.

I just had a very bad experience in this hotel, everyone needs to be careful about the "free booking" services their reception provided, if you asked for help and direction but didnt book the tour with them eventually, they may charge you extra, and refuse to provide luggage storage /late check-out kinda services. When we first arrive there they are friendly and told us we are welcome to booking tours with them, then we found their price is much higher than other travel agent, we decide to not book the tour through this hotel, then they threaten us they will charge 15% of the tour price, and $50 for administration fee. the reception said we wasted her time for explain the tour for us and she's mad so we will need to pay for the price. when i ask for the hotel policy, they cant even find it and show us.
then the reception is really mean to us for the following days, we cant even get a garage remote even though we paid the parking, neither store our luggage for couple hours, and they just trying to find every possible excuse to make us inconvenient &awkward.

Terrible experience for us. will not go there anymore and will not suggest anyone go there
oh and not to mention they dont provide room service and may charge you extra if you need it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solosuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for your review. Yes our apartments are in a wonderful location right in the CBD and are very conveniently positioned across the road from Cairns Central Shopping Centre, Cairns Train Station and 5 minutes walk to the Reef Fleet Terminal.

You were placed in one of our largest 3 Bedroom Apartments on the pool level at your request. We could have put you in an apartment with a view but you asked to be on the pool level. This is one of our most popular apartments and is in no way "creepy" with its lovely outlook to the pool area and gardens and is a modern, bright and very large apartment.

We do have a free tour booking service which you used whilst staying with us. At your advice we cancelled your tours due to you booking elsewhere, no problem! There were NO EXTRA CHARGES incurred on your account, we do not know where you got an extra 15% for the tour price as we sell our tours for the same price as every other tour desk. There was also no extra administration fee.

We were in no way "mean" to you, I actually remember chatting and laughing with your group on the day of your check out so I am perplexed as to what you are referring to. Our other reviews suggest that we pride ourselves on our great customer service.

We also have free storage available to all guests which you were offered on check out, so I am unsure as to whey you do not think you were offered this. You were also offered a garage remote for your vehicle.

We are not daily serviced apartments, we offer weekly servicing for stays of over 7 nights and this is stated on your booking confirmation. I think you may be confused about this.

Again thank you for your review. - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Had girls trip and shopped till we dropped luckily we were right across road from shops! Apartment was huge, clean and quiet. Lovely pool, short walk to Esplanade. Will stay again. Had three buildings we stayed in Clarendon and had Balcony out front which was nice for us all to relax on in evening with our takeout.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are the perfect location for a girls shopping trip being right across the road from Cairns Central Shopping Centre and the Myer Centre.

Clarendon is a great building with most of our apartments boasting views over the Cairns city scape which is the ideal spot to sit back, relax and enjoy dinner and a wine after a long day.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Regards - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Not far from the Cairn airport. Was very convenience for we go sky diving and flying back to Hong Kong. That apartment was big enough for us 6, three rooms inside, our apartment was 20 metres walk to the swimming pool. Also, basic and enough kitchen facilities for cooking 3 meals a day.

Room Tip: no one clean up room while you staying. Skydive Cairns provides good services and experience.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devilcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#33 of 64 in Cairns
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Rydges Plaza Cairns
#59 of 64 in Cairns
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#30 of 84 in Cairns
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#9 of 84 in Cairns
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#16 of 84 in Cairns
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Apartments

Address: 75 - 79 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £124 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully self contained spacious large luxury holiday apartments with two full bathrooms and full home style kitchen space is what we offer across the street from cairns largest shopping centre and five minutes walk from anywhere in the CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing