We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns City Apartments
Ranked #36 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in the Clarendon on Spence. The apartment was very spacious and had everything in it to make our stay very comfortable. The location is great and right opposite a big shopping mall as well as an easy stroll into down town. Zara was very helpful and friendly. The only comment I would make is that the carpets in the bedrooms are quite dirty and stained and we found food and rubbish in between the squabs on the couches. I have passed this comment on so hopefully the cleaners will be more mindful of this in the future. Overall, a great secure place to stay!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ineke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Cairns City Apartments are convenient and in a central location. The apartments are located directly across the road from Cairns Central Shopping Centre. It is a short walk to the esplanade, specialty shops, restaurants, public transport, the night markets, Rusty's market, the public swimming area and the boat terminal. Compliments to Zara who worked with us from our initial enquiry and made sure that we were looked after. Our Caribbean group enjoyed the spacious, comfortable and well appointed apartments.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the front of the apartment block (main street), be prepared to be entertained w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nunngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We recently stayed on the top floor of the Regency on Spence. I would like to thank Zara and the team for making our stay very enjoyable.

Service: The team was very friendly and helpful. Originally booked with 6 people, a last minute addition resulted in me ringing Zara to ask for an additional bed. This was accommodated with no fuss and at very little charge. We arrived on a public holiday and were kindly allowed to check in early. Also; on our last day there, we were allowed to store our bags at reception until 8pm at night (late flight).

Apartment: The apartment was large, modern and easily accommodated the 7 members of our trip. The batteries in the TV remote were basically flat, but a quick trip to the convenient shopping centre across the road soon sorted this (I'm sure reception would've supplied replacement batteries, but we had arrived on a public holiday).

Location: The apartment is located nice and close of the centre of Cairns. Shopping centre was just across the road, restaurants and pubs just up the road, and the esplanade only a short walk.

We really enjoyed our stay there and wont hesitate to recommend Cairns City Apartments. Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Reading some of the other reviews sounds like almost another place, perhaps there is some variation between the 3 buildings. Our stay in Beaumont on Spence was amazing.

We had a 3 bedroom townhouse style unit, it was huge, very clean and quiet, and perfect location. It's located close to the center of Cairns, but far enough away from the noise and late night partying that happens there.

The girl on reception was very nice too. She called up the day before we arrived, and advised the best way to get there from the airport, and was helpful and efficient during our stay.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place, and will definitely be staying here again on future visits to Cairns.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your review Paul we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our apartments are huge and we pride ourselves on our cleanliness. Our Manager Zara is always happy to assist with your requests and appreciates your kind words, she works very hard to make our guests stay enjoyable and as a professional in the industry strives for this.

We look forward to welcoming you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was a glum very basic low standard building. The entry through the ground floor of the building was like entering a dank cave. On the footpath out the front of the building is a large sign which purports to be the building but shows it in a setting with blue water and palm trees. When questioned about this a staff member claimed that it was a photograph taken from the back across the pool. The pool is actually on the first floor and there are no palm trees--very misleading. Give it a miss.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank geb344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Recently stayed at Beaumont on Spence for Cairns Ironman as husband was competing in half triathlon. Stayed in two bedroom apartment which living room was bigger than our three bedroom house living room. Easy to find right across road from shopping centre and few blocks walk to Esplanade. Should hubbie decide to compete again will book early as accommodation was clearly full at this time of year. Apartment had all cooking items we only cooked once but found what we needed. Good size washing machine and dryer. Had two bathrooms one with a bath for the kids. Happy to recommend to any other families looking for good sized accommodation where you arent all living on top of each other in a city apartment. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: No need to pack groceries all across road at shopping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you very much for your glowing review Josephine. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the 2013 Ironman Competition!

Yes our two bedroom apartments are huge with ample space for families and travelers alike. This is one of the most complimented things about our apartments, they really are massive! This is also a bonus when travelling with children.

We are also straight across the road from Cairns Central Shopping Center which is the main centre in Cairns which is extremely convenient for our guests.

We hope to see you back next year for Cairns Ironman 2014 or for your future holidays. Thank you again for your review, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My wife booked the accommodation at the Claredon. The apartment was filthy crawling with insects, the toilet had stains on the outside of the bowl, the shower was full of rust, there were dirt marks all over the place and you could automatically feel the dust and dirt on the ground inside the apartment if you didn't have shoes on. The apartment was relatively modern I grant you that and comfort level was ok once you took away the uncleanliness of the place for a self contained apartment in Australia!! The service of the staff was below average. The receptionist appeared to be disinterested in her job and unprofessionally dressed. At times during our stay there would be nobody in the office during staffing hours with staff starting late and finishing early. And when I enquired about the text message system to ask people to switch off their air con they send out to all clients (earlier reviews also talked about this), the Receptionist was rude in her response and belittled me explaining about how the company was doing their part saving the Great Barrier Reef. I am pretty sure if you stopped drinking from plastic cups and drinking filtered water you’d also save on greenhouse gas emissions as well – among other things the office was doing incorrectly.

I remember one day letting myself into the apartment and having another lady from one of the “sister” apartments trying to open the office door which I stated was shut as the lights were off (3.45pm on a Tuesday!). She cursed and I casually said to her “the service is pretty average isn’t it?” which she replied “it’s woeful”. So thinking that it was not just my experience. The location for the apartment is good to the town centre but about a 15-20 minute walk to the Esplanade. I will not be returning here. The time that the two of us stayed there could have been ok if it wasn’t for the unprofessional service and unprofessional cleaning in between tenants staying in the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 555MarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review.

Firstly half of the he images of the apartment do not correspond with the apartment this particular guest stayed in. For one there are no blinds in the apartment they stayed in, this is not an image from their apartment. Perhaps this is from anther place you stayed whilst travelling?

Also we had just recently had pest control done as we are very diligent with this being in the tropics and yes perhaps a few (dead) insects had come out of the woodwork. One cockroach on the outside tiles does not warrant the statement that the apartment was "crawling with insects".

I pride myself on my professional service and friendly and helpful attitude. I have won awards for customer service in past jobs in Tourism sectors in Cairns and abroad and most certainly do not come to work unprofessionally dressed. Yes we all dress a little more casually up here in Far North Queensland due to the heat, but I always present myself in a professional way.

We also send text messages to all guests reminding them to turn off their airconditioning whilst they are out for the day as many people go out and leave them on for the whole day which is very wasteful. When you asked about this I gave you this very answer and did in no way belittle you. I apologize if you took it this way, I was merely explaining our reasoning for this polite reminder.

Our Reception is open from 8.30am - 5.00pm Monday to Friday. As we are a very small business sometimes it is necessary to lock the office if we need to go up to an apartment or do a service call. We are always contactable on the office number and advise this to all guests when checking in. This is also stated on your check in sheet and in your provided compendium in your apartment.

Our location is right in the CBD of Cairns across from Cairns Central Shopping Centre (the main Shopping Centre in Cairns) and the Cairns Train Station. It is not a 20 minute walk to the Esplanade it is 5 minutes at the most as it is only 4 blocks. Perhaps you were taking an indirect walk to the Esplanade?

Again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Apartments

Address: 75 - 79 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £117 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully self contained spacious large luxury holiday apartments with two full bathrooms and full home style kitchen space is what we offer across the street from cairns largest shopping centre and five minutes walk from anywhere in the CBD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing