We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with excellent value!”
Review of Caravella Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caravella Central
Ranked #43 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Cheap and clean with a large kitchen. May need more sinks but it was manageable. Great location in town and staff are awesome and help you book anything! It was a bit warm at night as no a/c in the dorms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leshanurse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hostel is located pretty much in the centre of everything. The room is OK, maybe the bed is a bit small, especially the lower bunk. But it worth the value you pay for. Meal voucher is given everyday. Good way to save money there. Toilets and showers are clean. Discount on most tours and the reception, Tae Park is so helpful and friendly. Recommended for the hardcore backpackers out there.

Room Tip: make sure you choose room with the A/C (which is $1-2 more) if you need it. Else there will be only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s12796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Maybe the cheapest hostel in Cairns, and its location, facilities, management etc are all spot on! Directly across the road from Gilligans. Good kitchen area, and the rooms were spacious enough to lay your stuff about etc. Air con is a MUST though! Don't know how some people can stay in the fan rooms. Cairns is VERY hot!

Room Tip: Air con is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanyoung89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels that I've stayed at, while in Australia.

Clean and tidy and a very quiet hostel it's great for a good nights sleep.

Massive kitchen to use.

Only 2 showers and 2 toilets per floor but never had to wait. This is not a busy hostel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

For American prices and standards this is a good hostel. Reception staff is helpful and friendly, rooms have a good size and everything is clean. You get free dinner at a restaurant, where the food is not too delicious, but hey,- it's free. Only thing i didn't like is they offer tours etc with 10% discount but they still get their extra money on top and won't let you pay with credit card even though there is a machine. A paper on the wall says you have to pay 3% extra but even to that hey won't agree. Cash only so they get all the money in their pockets directly. Cairns is not really a city worth staying but Corona is a nice place for backpackers.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mirabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

good location very close to cairns center, the people are all very nice, also have kitchen,BIG TV ... and the room is big and clean conforable to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We visited cairns for holiday. And we ay first planed to stay 3nights only. But cairns was full of fun, we decided to extent longer days over here. And the place we wanted to stay in same plave as well. Here is very clean. And easy to reach all must go places. Staff was fun and friendly. We also received the tickets for free dinner each night. The meal is reasonable. But for backpackers it is so good that u dont need to go to supermarket to search for ingridents for your hungry stomach. We had a great time here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairns City Backpackers
Cairns City Backpackers
#69 of 83 in Cairns
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 83 in Cairns
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#12 of 83 in Cairns
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Central

Address: 72 Grafton St | Shop 6, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Corona Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £10 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Central 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Caravella Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing