We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else.”
Review of Corona Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corona Backpackers
Ranked #38 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What this hostel doesn't offer facility wise, it makes up for in customer service. The staff at this hostel were absolutely incredible, helpful, genuine. The rooms were clean and comfortable and very roomy. A fridge in your room is also a plus. The kitchen was cozy, and the washrooms were clean. I would definitely stay here any time I was in Cairns. Great service for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SignorCorona, Manager at Corona Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Krystine,
Thank you very much for taking time out to write a review of our hostel, we are very glad your time here was so enjoyable and pride our selves on our customer service, we wish you the very best in your adventures and happy and safe travels, from all of here at Corona Backpackers
Team Corona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    47
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
20
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hostel is located very well... close to the lagoon and to the shopping mall. I liked the small hostel and the friendly atmosphere there. It is not a party hostel like the huge gilligans but way better.
The staff is very helpful and you get always the best tips for every trip. I stayed more than four times in this hostel and i would always come back.
It is clean the kitchen is a bit small but ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCCManagement, Manager at Corona Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello again
Thank you very much for your lovely review! we wish you all the best for your travel onwards in Australia!
Cheers Corona Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

coronas hostel is not a big hostel, so you will meet other backpackers and make good friends very easily. the hostel is close to everything you need in cairns like the lagoon,supermarkets, shopping mall and to all the famous pubs and clubs as woolshed.
you have a lot space in the rooms and you wont find any other hostel that is that cheap.
the owner and the staff are amazing people.very friendly, helpful and always in a good mood.they will make your stay in Cairns unforgettable.I would recommend this hostel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I was greeted by an energetic young man
At the front desk which made the stay very pleasant I felt like I was in a freindly
Atmosphere ,a very clean place to stay
With good facility's in a very central location close to everything would
Recommend to anybody.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SignorCorona, Manager at Corona Backpackers, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very Jim you were a pleasure to host here at Corona! Safe Travels and all the best!
Cheers Corona Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked to stay here for a night when we first arrived in Cairns. Place was small, there were 2 "camping hobs" in the kitchen, not enough space to sit, reception closes at 8pm, 2 toilets and 2 showers not en-suites and the bunk beds were so low that my boyfriend whacked his head when he went to sit down. The price is good but reflects on what you get for your dollar. I'd say spend a bit more and stay elsewhere if I'm honest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SignorCorona, Manager at Corona Backpackers, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and opinion however we do wish to point out that we are marketed and advertised as a small boutique hostel with spacious dorms, we are not a mega flashpackers like gilligans and our price point reflects that. It is super competitive for everything we offer and we operate a very clean friendly establishment. The beds we have meet all standards but perhaps next time, as you mention in your review, pay a few dollars more and stay in one of our Deluxe dorms with the tall king size bunk beds. Enjoy the rest of your travel in Australia
Cheers
Corona Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Our experience was a bit of a let down, and from what i can see its because reception is only open at certain times and no one appears to be on site to 'regulate' the place.

Upon our late check in we didn't get enough bed sheets and as reception was closed, none were
available. We were also given a room at front of building which was really noisy from the street. And the idiots next door. Suppose that can't be helped and was just unlucky. However, being chased to pay for our stay by reception at 930am when we just wanted a lie in, was a bit annoying.

The kitchen is poorly equipped with around 3 cups to serve the entire clientele and it could do with another sink. Simple things.

Some good points do exist, like fridges and sinks in rooms, but this
seems to excuse the owners from providing a bit of soap and a hand dryer for the communal toilets.

Noise was ridiculous into the early hours as no one was about to look after the place, sorry to say it was the Brits making the racket most of the time.

Good location and cheap beds but nothing else about this place is very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scook84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is located right across the street of the big party hostel, Gilligans, but is 7 AUD cheaper a night. Nice, spacious and clean rooms. OK kitchen, and easy access to all parts of town. Highly recommended if you wanna save some bucks, and still live in the center.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Caravella Central
#58 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#24 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Backpackers

Property: Corona Backpackers
Address: 72 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Backpackers is situated in the heart of Cairns city, close to all amenities and attractions. We are 2 minutes from the shopping centre and Woolworths and a hop, skip and a jump from all bars and clubs in the city. The Esplanade and famous lagoon are an easy five minute stroll away; you really couldn't ask for a better location! Our clean and comfortable dorms accommodate 4 people and include a private fridge (don't forget your BYO alcohol); A discounted evening meal deal is provided to all guests at a famouis local venue just 2 minutes from the hostel. We have a fully equipped kitchen, state of the art laundry and ironing facilities and a common area with a widescreen TV. Secure luggage and valuable storage is also available. Getting onto the net is easy with fast internet and WIFI available; our computers are equipped with webcams and headsets, making it easier to stay in touch with family and friends. CORONA BACKPACKERS OFFERS 10% DISCOUNT OFF SELECTED TRAVEL, TRIPS, TOURS, BUSES AND PACKAGES WHEN PREBOOKED THROUGHOUT AUSTRALIA!!!!! Our friendly and experienced staff are happy to help in any way that they can. We provide honest and informed advice on all tours and even give a 10% DISCOUNT to ensure you get the best out of your stay in Cairns. Reception is open from 8am-12pm and 1pm-8pm every day. If you are arriving outside of these hours, please call or email us prior to your arrival and we will do our very best to accommodate you. Thank you! We look forward to seeing you soon at Corona Backpackers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Corona Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing