We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, rundown and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Bathurst
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, rundown and disappointing”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights - it was supposed to be 4. The hotel was very rundown and dirty. The place was full of long term residents who just hung around all the time. Our room had threadbare sheets and holey curtains, lumpy beds, the floors were filthy, the pool was dirty, the fan threatened to fall off and the room furniture was very worn and dirty. No locks on doors. We couldn't open the doors as there were chain smoking residents sitting within arm reach of our tiny verandah. Reception is only from 8am to 6pm.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BathurstMum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    26
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
24
31
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here in March 2012, both receptionists (one named Tanya) were rude to our family. However we witness how they treated Australians, versus we Americans. The receptionist even said to my spouse when a question was asked of her, that she had already answered that question for me. The receptionist told us that all bookings for the Kundra rainforest was book, but when we went into town, the guide at the information building, got us on a bus to the Kundra rainforest in 10 minutes. It seems as though they do not appreciate the business from American Tourist. do not recommend this property for any American tourist.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

City, State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Wanted a cheap place to stay close to the airport which this place certainly is but you get what you pay for. Lumpy beds, noisy air conditioners, far from downtown, not so nice pool. The service was nice at the desk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Stayed for a few nights in a double room. It is a good place to stay, nothing special, just a clean comfy not too expensive hotel room. Location is not bad, because close to the Esplanade, but a fair walk to the CBD. Hotel staff is nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenobimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Good value for money hotel in a decent location for walking into Cairns, ideal for divers, and skydiving.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sch986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Stayed at the Tropical Queenslander for 6 nights.
Room was fine, nice and clean.
Pool was often rather dirty and should have been cleaned daily?
A HUGE HIKE FROM TOWN!!! it was averaging around 35 degrees per day and by the time you get to town your drenched it swet!!
Reception was very friendly, alot of different ladies working at different times and unfortunatley didn't seem that switched on at times.
Would def stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Reception staff were helpful, room was satisfactory but breakfast was only served down the road at their sister establishment. The 'full' breakfast was costly and poor but I did have dinner there one evening and that was the exact opposite: good food at a reasonable price! Main drawback is that the hotel is located a 30 minute walk from the centre of town. There is a good backpackers' bar and pool area nearby.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
2.0 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#35 of 64 in Cairns
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Gateway Apartments
Reef Gateway Apartments
#51 of 64 in Cairns
104 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment

Property: Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Address: 287 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, tropical by design, offering self-catering rooms at a very affordable price. Located within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants and City CBD, the Tropical Queenslander offers inexpensive accommodation for singles, couples and families. The property boasts two swimming pools, guest internet facilities, barbeque areas, tour desk and daily mini room service is provided. Experience the casual and rewarding lifestyle of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing