We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Global Backpackers Waterfront
Ranked #72 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
“Cheap and friendly”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very good budget hostel in Cairns with the best location. The staff was always helpful and even helped me reconfirm trips that I booked through another travel desk. Also with some awesome specials like 4th night free... it was the cheapest hostel in Cairns. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily so everything was kept clean. Also the staff have free activities most night so it is a great way to make friends.

Room Tip: While cheaper- the 10 bed dorm has a balcony overlooking the waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    26
    22
    23
    35
See reviews for
Families
0
32
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

By far the best hostel i've stayed in while i've been in Australia! The staff are so friendly + hillarious and the entertainments made my stay so amusing! From the first night i stayed there i felt like i'd been there for months!
Staff giving everyone their own nick names instantly made me feel comfortable with being on my own in a new place, pranks played on staff, pre drinking in the common area before going out - JUST EVERYTHING! I LOVED IT!

If i ever go back to Cairns I am there!

Long Live 302!!

Room Tip: Some people i met were in 201 and 202 which had balcony's overlooking the lagoon + the sea, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The best hostel I stayed in in Cairns; I've been here almost 8 weeks now and haven't even considered leaving this hostel. The workers are all friendly, outgoing and always there to help you with things, no matter how big or small - whether it be finding somewhere in Cairns, organising your complete East Coast travel package or general information. The people here also made it what it is; there isn't any clicky groups - you can walk into the lounge and people will always strike up a conversation with you or ask if you want to join them in what they're doing; playing cards, going down to play volleyball etc. It's in the perfect location, right in the heart of the CBD, but also next to the lagoon (the best sunbathing spot in cairns!) - from the balcony, you can actually see the sea which leads out to the Great Barrier Reef and also the Daintree rainforest.. what can be better than that? All in all, I'd recommend this hostel to anyone and everyone, no matter what their age. The hostel is clean with good facilities, comfy beds and fresh linen available at your request. I'm very pleased to stay here :)

Room Tip: Stay for 4 nights, only pay for 3! It's by far the cheapest option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oojamesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed 3 or 4 nights there, i don't even remember but for me this backpacker is really good value for the money.

I had great time there, and it's very well located, just in front of the lagoon so it couldn't be better.

If you're short with money you can also work for accomodation there, heaps of people are doing that.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djedje35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2011

First the positives: Great location, right on the Esplanade and just across the road from the Lagoon. Also, the bed was pretty comfortable, and they offer a $5 meal deal with a local Irish pub which was really very good! So far, so good then... or perhaps not. Because of it's central location, this is a real party hostel, we must have got all of 3 hours sleep with people rolling in from pub crawls at various times, and then building work starting drilling at 7am. There is no soundproofing in the rooms surrounding the central common area, with shutters (which don't close) in the windows rather than glass.

We decided to go and ask if we could be moved to a quieter room, but were kept waiting at the desk for 5mins while the receptionist had her lunch in the back room. We explained the situation, and were quite bluntly told that the night manager hadn't said anything and there was no where they could move us anyway. No apology was extended. Lastly a cosmetic complaint, the inside of the building looks like a prison, think Shawshank Redemption type setting! All-in-all, if you value sleep when you pay for accomodation, then avoid this place!

Room Tip: Find another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephandLawse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I had high expectations of this hostel when I arrived. They advertised free shuttle from the airport -- it wasn't. While still cheap at $5, it's inacurrately described on their website. They claimed to have the lowest tour prices in town -- they weren't. I was actually quoted a price higher than the brochure price so I booked my Great Barrier Reef tour at the nearby official visitor center. While the rate for a single room was very cheap, so was the accommodations. My mattress was tilted so it was very easy to get out of bed. The walls were very thin so I was frequently awakend by slamming doors (not the fault of the guests; it's just the way the locks were made). The showers had mounds of hair in several places. Just how often do they clean this place? Oh speaking of clean, Housekeeping is supposed to change linen and empty trash daily. They didn't. I had to put a note on my door to remind them to do so since I didn't get these services two days in a row.

Sure, the location was great, but there are many other accommodations nearby. Stay here only if you're a student or on a very tight budget. Otherwise, find another place.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the hallway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpjsalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

very clean rooms and helpful staff at the reception. they were able to tell us all about different diving day tours which was great. we had dinner included in the rate. it was served in the whoolshed every evening which was also ok. when we had enough of the spag bol we could upgrade for any ala carte dish for only a few dollars more.
bottom line - it is a great spot for anyone who stays in Cairns and want to make the most of their holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorazsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#50 of 85 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Backpackers Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Waterfront

Property: Global Backpackers Waterfront
Address: 67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Global Backpackers Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing