We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved staying here. Wayne and his wife are very gracious hosts...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Ranked #26 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
“Loved staying here. Wayne and his wife are very gracious hosts...”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First of all I don't think we could have done anymore wonderful excursions. Wayne was so helpful if finding just the right things to do. Even a wonderful skydive adventure for my 21 yr old.. Not to mention an amazing scuba dive and snorkel to the Reef... Memories made here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks for your kind words, we are glad we could assist you in creating a very memorable holiday for yourself and your family and that you left us with great memories and photos to share when you get home to your family and freinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    39
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Tradewinds was very good value for money and a nice clean spacious apartment. Wayne was very helpful in booking tours (with a discount) and even called us at home in NZ to suggest the best day to book our reef trip after he had been watching the marine forecast for us - and it was the most perfect calm day possible - thanks :)
The kids loved the pool and the BBQ was great. We cleaned it after each use but noticed that others didn't which is a shame. It was great to have a decent sized kitchen and fridge. However there were no dishes suitable to microwave anything in.
Yes it was a fair walk into town but if you have a car its not a problem. The local supermarket was a more expensive but the takeaways were great.
Overall fantastic value if you want a nice place in Cairns to base yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durneyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed the stay. We try to go beyond guests expectations where we can when we have knowledge of what you intend to do while in Cairns so we can book the best day for you as the weather here is unpredicatable and booking too far in advance can ruin your trip if the weather is bad.
We have taken on board your feedback about microwave bowls and now researching some suitable bowls for microwaves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Excellent. Linda & Wayne couldn't do enough for us, yet remained low key. When the fridge wasn't working, it was immediately fixed. 2 minute walk to little supermarket, take-aways & liquorland. The only negative was that people in the unit below us were smoking on their balcony and we got wiffs of smoke up on to ours. For non-smokers, this isn't pleasant!! The little information section at reception had loads of ideas for tours. No hassle with booking taxis either-arrived on time. We had a pool view and it was great to sit on the balcony at night overlooking this pool. The unit itself was airy, light and clean - what more could you want? It was good to have a full sized fridge (other places sometimes don't). Also, to have a washer & dryer to ourselves saved us alot of time & effort. All in all, highly recommended. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

WE have just returned from Cairns and we stayed at Tradewinds McLeod. We found Wayne very helpful. He organised tours for us (at a discounted price) and looked after us after our flight in was delayed to 830pm. The rooms were spacious and reasonably modern. Our 2 kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Suitable for long term one month plus. Generally quiet apart from flight path. Dated decor but that's not what this is about. It's clean, good location (car or bike) and very practical. U could do alot worse.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgr_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks for a good review, were glad you recognised our good quiet practical location and our family budget friendly accommodation. Unfortunately Cairns being a small city with the airport next to it, the planes fly right over the centre of the city and there is no escape unless you were to go to the outer suburbs. Regarding decor, some maybe a bit out dated in some apartments, we are still in the midst of a slow refurbishment, there is plenty to look forward to in the coming months and years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was my 2nd stay and was discounted lower than my first stay , the price was very low and I think the apartment was great value. Apartment was very clean and had very thing I needed for my 7 day stay. Wayne and his family were very helpful when needed. Its close to the Cock & Bull hotel great meals good prices and a great fish&chip shop

Room Tip: Pool (south) facing rooms are better no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Were glad you had a great time staying with us that you came back for more, we were more than happy to see you back for the second time. Yes we look after repeat customers with great prices, only avilable when booking direct with us, and tour discounts and we work hard to ensure each room is clean and that everything works before you arrive.
Plenty of shops, take-away outlets and restaurants within close walking distance, were glad you found 2 of the great ones. Return any time you like, always welcome, just book direct for the cheapest price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our first experience of this place was at 10.30 on the 23rd july when we arrived from the airport.We knew we could NOT check in so we left our cases at reception.
We came back after 2pm,and the conversation was as follows-
ME- We have come to check in.
WAYNE-That will be $775.00
ME-Can we not take our bags to our room first?
WAYNE-That will be $775.00 NOW
I then had to open my bags to get my credit card out to pay before we had even seen the room.(WELCOME TO CAIRNS)?????
That set the tone for the week.
On the wall of the flat there was a sign detailing the cost of replacement items-everything from Coffe Sachets to a special offer on toilet rolls (3 for $2.00) If you wanted a dvd player you had to hire it (8.00$ per day or $30.00 a week. (what a bargain?)
To say that Wayne was miserable and sulky would be an understatement,and I cannot understand why this looks like the first negative review that this place will have had on trip advisor.
The flat itself was reasonable but the contents left a lot to be desired-namely I don't think there was a complete set of crockery,and some of it had seen better days.
When we asked about Cable tv in respect of Fox Football we were told it was too expensive to get. $2000.00 was the sum mentioned.
I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT ANSWER.
I would recommend purchasing a CHARISMA or sending Wayne on a People Skills Course.The swimming pool was good,but the BBQ could have done with a good clean.
The location says that it is 15 minutes walk to town-Only if you are USAIN BOLT.
I am a FIT guy but it could not be done in less than 25minutes at a good pace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erskine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thankyou for the time you have taken to write a review.
I would be worried if counter staff were not following hotel Policy and Procedures in the check-in process and that is that no guest may be given keys to the apartment without first paying for the accommodation and signing the check-in form.
As you also pointed out, being "Self-Catering" apartments there are prominently displayed extra charges for certain things e.g. dvd player hire, toilet rolls, coffee/tea, internet, this is what makes our accommodation cheaper than other places that are catergorized as "Serviced Apartments" where you get all the above for no extra charge but you pay for it in the higher nightly rates.
For those people who will not use all the added extras there is no need to pay a higher nightly rate in a "Serviced Apartment" when a "Self Catering" apartment will do fine saving you a bundle. We cater for the people/families who do not want all the added extras and only after budget friendly accommodation with full kitchen facilities, but the extras are there and available for when you do at a small cost to keep most people happy.
Being budget Self Catering accommodation, Foxtel has recently been removed to keep accommodation costs low for everyone as most people do not watch it, if there is enough demand it may be reinstated, but your right not to believe the $2k cost mentioned, it costs FAR more than $2k for every room in the hotel, try adding a 1 in front of it.
A walk into the city is around 20 minutes as stated on our website, but the far corner of the city is a bit longer.
But as the saying goes, you can't please everyone all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#32 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Plaza Apartments Cairns
0.6 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#17 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropic Towers Apartments
Tropic Towers Apartments
#43 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#31 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Property: Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Address: Tradewinds 191 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Also on offer is FREE Super High speed WiFi. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing