We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so safe for living here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Ranked #28 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so safe for living here”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have lived here for 3 days with my family, in the middle of this apparment, there was a pool which makes it seems beautiful, I like this pool, anyway, in the day time, it is peace and nice. But during our second night, maybe after 1:00am, we were awoke up by loud noise which come from the apparment nearby. someone was in quarreling and fighting, it last about half an hour and then the police was coming and breaking into the apparment. These made us feel that it not so safe here. We also heared that someone broken their car's window when theyparking outside. And the service here also seemed not so good. The man in receptions didn't kind and treated us not so good then we in other hotels.We nearly not got any useful information from him. The bad also too soft for us and made the pain in the low-back.

Room Tip: pool is good, but not so safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Sorry about the bad experience you had. This was a very rare unfortunate and isolated incident that could happen anywhere, first of its kind here in the 4 years we have managed this hotel. What happened was one person came back with a drunk friend and he did not let him in the unit and he was banging on the door and tried to get in, no damage at all done. We will not tolerate this behaviour here. We called police to attend to remove this drunk person when I saw him camping outside his friends unit 5 minutes later after he had passed out drunk. At no time did police break into any unit or even enter a unit, they simply came, took him away and that was it. The people in the unit were dealt with the following morning and asked to leave the resort for good as we will not have this behaviour here. No there were no car windows broken in this complex for sure. We have CCTV all around, there is no way we will miss an incident like that, no glass anywhere on the ground either.
We try our best to keep the complex safe, our little kids also live in here with lots of other guests kids. We never had any issues apart from this isolated event so far, no thefts, no break-ins, the hotel is completely fenced off and only guests with access cards can enter the front gates after dark. We welcome anyone to discuss with us directly if they have any safety concerns, we will do our best to improve it straight away and make you feel safe if you do not.
But we are glad you had no other complaints and the refurbished apartment must have been satisfactory as was the pool. Our pool is a great feature with new multi colour LED lighting, it looks great. Hope you had a great time while in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    38
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokushima, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have lived here for two days with one of my friends, it need to say that the environment was ok, but I do not agree that th service is good. During the first day morning, we found that the electric power was off, but we have not got any information before. and then we asked the neighbor and knowed there was a repairing of electrocircuit. And we also not very satisfied with the clean of the bedroom, because the bed seemed not so clean also.

Room Tip: Still need more improvement of the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for reviewing our property. We are glad you found the environment more than satisfactory during your stay, we work hard to maintain it in spotless condition for all our guests.
It was indeed correct the power was off one morning for 2 hours because the power company was renewing power cables on the street and out of our control. All guests were definitely told of this upon checkin or a day or two before if already onsite, procedures were in place to make sure of it.
I am so surprised by your comment about not being told I had to look your booking up and it had notes on it to tell you upon check in and was also in the special notes area of the check-in slip you read and signed at check-in and also a note on the computer that you had been verbally told as well so all check boxes were ticked for you. Whether it was a language barrier and misunderstanding of terminology used I am not sure but you and everyone else in the hotel was told as proved by your neighbour knowing about it.
As for cleanliness of the bed I am not sure what you mean there, the sheets were clean, the new Sealy beds were only a few months old at the time and still remain spotless today. Please be more specific so we can improve any issues for everyone.
Thanks for staying with us and we hope you had a wonderful time while in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the apartment for 7 nights, the couple at the reception were very helpful guiding us on places to visit and finding us good deals for holiday attractions. The apartment is convenient, nice swimming pool with attractive lighting at night. Air conditioners work fine, good washing and drying facilities. Overall good experience, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ads_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us and writing a great review. We are glad you loved our new multi colour LED pool lights we installed a couple of months ago, all of the kids really love them and we have had great feedback and they make the pool look briliant.
Nothing beats local knowledge of the area and best tours available and places to visit, if you come here only once, you want to do the best tours and not to miss out on that one special thing, thats what makes it all worth while, we are here to help you find those small things you may not know about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in these apartments for a week and thought they are well priced for self-contained units, that are located 5 min drive or 20-minute walk to town centre. The bedrooms are a good size for 2 people and bathroom contains a washing machine and dryer, which was good. The man at reception was very helpful and provided good advice and helped with tour bookings. The kitchen is good for what it is and utensils are sufficient and clean for cooking. Detergents and the basics are provided, however you can purchase further items from reception or across the street at the local shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed for 6 nights while holidaying in Cairns. The apartment was clean and spacious. I followed other reviewers' advice and asked for a room away from the road, and we ended up with one right next to the pool, which was great. The apartment had recently been refurbished and the beds were new and very comfortable.
We found the managers friendly and helpful. They booked a trip to the Reef for us, and told us how to reach teh supermarket a block away.
It's true that they don't want people to use the (white) towels they supply at the pool, but this is explained in the guide, and if you don't have your own towel to take with you to the pool, you can always drip dry and towel off when you get back to your apartment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks for your great review of our apartments, we are glad you liked our apartments and all our new Sealy beds that we only just had replaced in the majority of apartments a couple of weeks before your stay.
Our tour desk is very convenient for guests so they don't have to leave the hotel to look for and book tours and just about everything to do in Cairns has a brochure here.
We ask people not use the white hotel towels in the pool because they can sometimes get dirty beyond cleaning, but we do have pool towels available from reception for use in the pool and taking on tours at a cost of $1 each if you have not bought your own.
Would be great to see you again, just book direct with us like you did last time for the best guaranteed low price for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed in a ground floor apartment with my 75 year old mother and she was really pleased with the ease of access, including to the gorgeous swimming pool. She had friendly conversations with staff and guests alike and some of the kids in the pool were really engaging with her. The apartments are spotlessly clean with good basic cooking equipment so we had a mix of meals out and home cooked meals which was very convenient after a long day touring. Wayne and Linda were great at booking tours and got the best prices for us (better than I could get on the Internet). We didn't need the air-conditioning - just fan and open window was great and still quiet at night. Convenient to the airport when I had to pick up other family members. Close to the Esplanade so I could walk every morning at sunrise.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have dodgy knees and overlooking the pool is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thankyou for staying with us and we are glad that we could cater for all our needs satisfactorily. We try to cater for everyone's special needs and almost always we are successful in this when we are notified at booking time prior to check-in of any special requirements. Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First of all I don't think we could have done anymore wonderful excursions. Wayne was so helpful if finding just the right things to do. Even a wonderful skydive adventure for my 21 yr old.. Not to mention an amazing scuba dive and snorkel to the Reef... Memories made here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks for your kind words, we are glad we could assist you in creating a very memorable holiday for yourself and your family and that you left us with great memories and photos to share when you get home to your family and freinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#35 of 85 in Cairns
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#33 of 85 in Cairns
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropic Towers Apartments
Tropic Towers Apartments
#42 of 85 in Cairns
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#16 of 85 in Cairns
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Property: Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Address: Tradewinds 191 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Also on offer is FREE Super High speed WiFi. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing