We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Ranked #23 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here on the basis it had good reviews, met our budget and was not in the middle of the city as we have stayed in mid city locations before on travel in the past and found mid city locations very noisy with party revelers and the night life.
During our stay it was very quiet through out the day and night, we were not disappointed. It was still very close to the city that we could walk in there and back again comfortably.
The hotel management were very friendly and polite and offered us great information on tour bookings as well as offered to take our bags to the room when it was completed as we arrived early before the room was ready.
The rooms were very functional for our family of 3, plenty of room to move, quiet airconditioner, comfortable beds, very clean and tidy, large modern kitchen with enough utensils for all the cooking we needed to do plus lots more. It was great to have a large fridge instead of those small bar fridges you see in a lot of hotels, we only had to go shopping once to get enough for our 5 day stay as it all fit in the fridge.
For the price it is great value and a great find. I would recommend these apartments for anyone who has a tight budget like us and wants the peace and quietness of a near city location with the convenience of shops and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Not being in the middle of the city is definitely quieter and safer for everyone, yet not too far away and can still be walked to easily by most. Hope you had a great trip back home to the USA, hope to see you back again one day, just phone/email us for the best price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for 6 days during our sons State Football carnival. We were looking for self contained apartments that were not to over the top as we have young children. What we wanted is what we got. The room size was good.(we had a family of 4) It was close to all amenities. We found everything clean and comfortable. We would definitely recommend it to any one looking for this kind of accommodation. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArdenandRenee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks for a great review, hope to see you again and all the other fellow footballers we regularly get for various carnivals through out the year. Just book direct via phone/email for the best price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was a good size the kitchen was great with a full size fridge, the lounge had very comfortable sofa and TV. Air conditioning and fans in both bedrooms and the lounge.
It was a comfortable 20 -25 minute walk to town along the Esplanade. Local shops are very close and Wayne was very helpful pointing out how to get to these. The secure off street parking was a big advantage. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks for the great review, was a pleasure having you here with us. We are glad you utilised the very convenient shops/take aways just over the road. Hope to see you again one day in the future, just book direct via phone/email for the best price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am simply can't get over the other reviews on this place, i must be the exception i guess. The room was a bit on the "tired" side of things. Bed was REALLY uncomfortable which is why i'm surprised by the other reviews. I must have got the room that hasn't been done up yet. This place wasn't bad but it was far from great. I think the biggest thing that got my goat was all the threats of extra charges if you dont do this or dont do that. Don't ring the office after hours or there will be extra charges. BBQ was filthy so didn't use it which upset the kids a little. As far as the "tell us and we'll improve" chiche, i'm not a believer in it. Do it right the first time, im your customer not your coach. The rating does not deserve a rating as good as "average" but it doesn't deserve "poor". I based my decision to stay here based on the reviews here. Boy did I read it wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank majordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks for your review, you definitely must of had one of the older apartments not fully refurbished yet by the sounds, there is only 2 of them left out of 32 to be refurbished, but they are still quite good apartments, but a bit tired as you mention.
The beds I do not really understand either as they are all new, but everyone has their own likes and dislikes when it comes to beds, our new beds are medium firmness sealy's which suit the majority. If you could contact us regarding this I would be grateful to find out what room you were actually in to see for myself, maybe a bed is faulty and in need of replacement?? There is no way we can fix it if we do not know and we rely on feedback at check-out or during the stay from guests in order to fix issues, and issues are fixed almost immediately where possible.
We have been working tirelessy over the last 4 years to bring this hotel from the very below average condition, it was once in, up to an above average condition now, and spending hundreds of thousands of dollars in the process. Yet we have kept the prices down at the same levels they were 4 years ago, and we are on the cheaper end of the scale of apartments in Cairns but give great value for money. We have recently bought the hotel up to a 3.5 star standard and not going any further, again to keep costs down for families with kids who's budget doesn't suit the price of 4 or 5 star apartments and those who do not need all the frills of serviced apartments.
After hours phone contact with reception, emergency calls are fine when needed, we like to keep to absolute minimum as we have young kids and being disturbed middle of night is difficult. And to keep costs down for everyone we can't afford to hire extra staff to answer the phone 24hrs. All after hours procedures are in the in-room compendium, it almost covers everything you need after hours unless it is an emergency, we have a 24 hour shop over the road also for those little things needed.
The BBQ is a concern, still works perfectly, when time permits it will be refurbished, I have last week ordered a granite top for it ready for its refurbishment in the next couple of months, just been put off for a while now due to more importantly needed apartment refurbishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in a two bedroom apartment.

The apartment was a good size, there is a well equipped kitchen, a dining area and a lounge area with a tv.

I was impressed by how comfortable the beds were, providing a great nights sleep.

The bathroom is a good size and also houses a washing machine and clothes drier.


I would happily recommend a stay here, they would make a great base for exploring the region.

The manager was extremely friendly and helpful, and a great source of information.




  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks for the great words. Glad to hear you loved our new Sealy beds, we have been getting lots of great feedback regarding them from guests.
We are very pleased to have been able to help you out and assist you with our local knowledge as the amount of tours available can be overwhelming if you do not know what is what.
Book direct with us for the best prices if you want to return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently had a 'flying' visit Cairns and Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments provided us with every need. The apartments are functional, comfortable and very clean. It was wonderful to kick back by the pool and simply enjoy the surrounds. Excellent location for walking along the famous Cairns Esplanade and great base to explore the beautiful Northern Beaches. Well done Wayne and Linda on running a very tidy operation. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancefieldOldBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed one of our many newly refurbished units we have been working soo hard on for the last 3 years not to mention our huge swiming pool.
When you return for another holiday in Cairns, just book direct for the best price and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I would stay again, the room was nice, my girlfriend, mum and I went up to cairns from brisbane now i knew this wasn't going to be any hilton, But. everyone was saying the beds are very nice to sleep on, but we didn't find this the bed was very hard woke up with a sore back every morning. The air con wasn't working very well in the rooms they would turn off at like 2 am and i would woke up sweating at around 2:30am every morning and had to turn it back on I don't know if the was management or not. there was a white box next to every air con with a sensor so I don't know what that is for The air con in the living room never got cold couldn't use the pool after 9pm and up north it is never cold for people who don't live up there so it would have been nice to be able to use the pool later on . also I was reading the room info booklet, and it stated the management could come into the room and turn the air con off if it was left on when you weren't there, when we went out we opened up to room without the air con on and it was so hot in the room and took a very long time to cool down just a little I don't know if it was because of the air con not working or maybe that the air cons need to be serviced

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for your review, glad you found our refurbished apartment nice, but as you say we are no comparison to the Hilton at all, totally different style and classification of accommodation, incomparable.
Nearly all of the issues you encountered could have easily been fixed if immediately reported and that would have made your stay much more enjoyable. We are budget friendly accommodation, no bells and whistles but far superior than a lot of others in the same price range.
As for airconditioners, yes the apartment you stayed in had an airconditioner fault reported by the next guest after you, verified and fixed the same day within hours of being reported, but in no way does management turn an airconditioner off in the middle of the night. The boxes you mention next to the airconditioner will, DAY TIMES ONLY, turn the airconditioner off ONLY when there is NO ONE HOME in the apartment to save power to keep accommodation costs down for everyone, and work very well, and we have never yet until now had a complaint about them as many people leave airconditioners on all day when they go out so these turn it off automatically. I believe the aircon fault attributed to them turning off. Rooms normally take about 5 minutes to get cool once they are switched on as we have very efficient modern airconditioners.
As for the pool hours, 7am-9pm, these are set by the body corporate and in line with majority of other hotels and suit the majority of our guests. Being near the pool as you were, I bet you would not want kids jumping in, running around and people having a party in the pool area at midnight when you are trying to sleep. This is why hotels have set pool hours, so people can have a good nights sleep, goto bed early and get up early for their adventures and have an energy filled day and not be tired.
Look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#25 of 83 in Cairns
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#20 of 83 in Cairns
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citysider Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#9 of 83 in Cairns
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waters Edge Apartments
Waters Edge Apartments
#18 of 83 in Cairns
140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Address: Tradewinds 191 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £76 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Also on offer is FREE Super High speed WiFi. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing