We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience!”

Pro Dive Cairns Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Barrier Reef scuba diving liveaboards, day diving trips and diver training off Cairns, North Queensland, Australia. Catering for novice divers and qualified divers as well as offering diving training and a dive shop, ProDive operates dive vessels and dive boats and is Cairns' premier dive company.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing experience!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

after several trips as certified diver with pro dive and only good experiences i decided to do my rescue diver course with pro dive. and once again it was simply great!
we were a class of 4 people and our instructor sam english did an incredible job. he was very motivating, helpful and patient. he could always answer any questions and never just rushed over details.
after one day theory and practice we went on the 3-day-liveaboard to continue the course. the mix of fun dives and course dives was perfect as we learnt a lot but also had enough time to relax and enjoy the reef. and we were lucky to see minke whales and dolphins which was incredible!
the crew did an outstanding job throughout the whole trip as they were always available and motivated! big thanks to the instructors sam, kevin and david, supervisor tim, skipper callum and anais the cook!
on the way back we even took a special way and got to see turtle bay, thanks again to the great crew!
the 4-day rescue diver course was an amazing experience and i can only recommend pro dive for any sort of course or just the liveaboard trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank florencemarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    73
    20
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific way to spend 3 days”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I did the 3 day, 2 night tour on the Reef, alongside a dive certification course.

The first two days in the classroom & pool were great. The theory part was pretty well mixed in with the pool time so you never got too antsy.

The boat was terrific. The food was incredible, and the chef, Jack, was super friendly and engaging. The dive briefings were really very clear and helpful so you knew what to look for and what you might see. The weather was also great, only a little bumpy on the ride out to the Reef, so only one or two passengers were seasick the whole time.

All the staff & crew were very good, especially Traci and Arek.

I'd absolutely recommend doing it, its worth the money and a great way to see the Great Barrier Reef.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally amazing”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This were some of the best days of my life! Everything was great, we saw some really
cool stuff out there as well like minkies and dolphins.
Of course the trip wouldn't be the same without the lovely crew! Sam, Tim, Kevin, Ronnie, Anais, Calem and David, thank you for making the trip even better!

I will definitely come back for more GBR and it will be through prodive. With love from mini-me! :*

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless 5days”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just finished the open water cert. taught by Kiwi Mark & trainee Will, Both great guys, very down to earth easy to get on with and knowledgeable! We did 2days in theory and pool learning skills, Mark was great at ensuring we were all comfortable and wouldn't rush us while learning in the pool. We then did 3days out on the GBR, the reefs are awesome with amazing coral and sealife to be seen! Wall-e and Brian to name a few! The boat was great fun with everyone on it being laid back and relaxed, the whole crew were great and did all thy could to keep everyone safe and happy, The food was in no shortage and a great standard, all the other instructors were just as friendly and approachable and always on hand to help or answer any questions. As a whole the 5days totally exceeded my expectations, I'd do it again in a heart beat, the best thing I've done In Australia. I will defiantly be back on that boat when I return! Thanks again to Mark and Will and good luck to him with his new job!
Cheers,
Ben

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bjmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 Day Live Aboard Trip Was Great Fun”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great dive locations and a smooth operation.
The boat was well maintained and the equipment was in excellent condition.
Food was abundant and delicious. Lots of salads and fruit available.
We had certified divers and snorkelers in our group. The dives are unguided but the briefing is clear enough to permit one to complete the route unaided. Many other passengers on the boat were either certifying for the first time or upgrading their training. The weather was windy and chilly (June) so the snorkelers had a rough time. They still thought the trip was excellent as the locations had plenty of shallow reef to explore.
Our only major complaint is that they do not provide towels (2 per person requested) and if you are coming from afar, buying towels just to use on the boat is an unavoidable expense. Plus, you end up with sopping wet towels at the end of the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pro Dive Cairns Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Pro Dive Cairns Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing