We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always busy”
Review of Khin Khao

Khin Khao
Ranked #76 of 614 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Thai restaurant located in the Cairns CBD. We specialise in bringing the flavours of Thailand to our customers.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always busy”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place is always filled with people every night of the week. Yummy food. However you may need to grab the attention of the staff if you are sitting inside and in the other room and its chocka block busy outside.
All in all good food and would go back for more.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KangaEmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    61
    21
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh & Tasty Thai”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've eaten a lot of Thai, and Khin Kao dished up excellent, tasty dishes.

My bestie and I caught up over dinner. We decided to share dishes so that we could try a few rather than just have the standard dish each. Great idea! We're both foodies. The waitresses accommdated sharing well.

We had the Tom Kha Gai (chicken coconut soup) to start - light and zingy, just the right amount of herbs. I would have preferred a bit more chilli, but that can be added.
For mains we had the beef massman curry with steamed white rice and the Chicken Pop salad. The beef was delicious - large chunks of beef and potato with a gorgeous curry sauce/soup; a lovely colour and very rich. The beef probably could have been more tender.
The chicken pop salad was probably my favourite - small pieces of fried chicken with a hoard of fresh ingredients: Light, refreshing, tasty, satisfying and slightly spicy. Love the fresh herbs!

I thought the meals were slightly overpriced at first, but after eating at the restaurant, I thought the price matched the quality of the meals.

The atmostphere is quite nice, even though there's a lot of plastic flowers around. The bright coloured furnishings are warming, but verge on being 'loud'. We sat by the entrance outside but still had some privacy.

Great place for a casual dinner and Thai food fans.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pngtasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tamborine, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very tasty take-away, average service!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great tasting thai food, reasonably priced. The service was a little off though! Overall will probably go back for the tasty food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Outstanding taste and so worth the visit. If you love Thai this is the place to go. Nice dining experience and they do take out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank princesscoopioe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Amazingand authentic Thai food! Great papaya salad, stir fries, and noodles. Fair prices and a decent spice level (nice and got if you want it, but order medium for a pretty authentic thaimspice level or mild if you're afraid of a little heat). Friendly staff also make this a great spot to visit. We were in Cairns for 3 nights and ended up here twice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank the_voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khin Khao also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Khin Khao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing