We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warrick is awesome...”
Review of Food Trail Tours

Food Trail Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$157.18*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Food and Wine Tour from Cairns
Ranked #1 of 6 Food & Drink in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Food, Wine and Rainforest Tour operates Mon, Tues, Thurs, Sat, departing at 7:30 am and returns at 5:30 pm. Explore Wet Tropics, World Heritage Rainforest while discovering what regional food and wine producers have to offer. Travel off the beaten track, onto local farms, hear the stories behind the foods and savour their flavours. The day includes Lunch, farm tours and tastings of:- - Tropical fruit wines - Cheeses - Chocolate - Local coffee - Macadamia nuts. Explore Atherton Tablelands' rainforest at Lake Barrine and the Curtain Fig Tree. An experienced driver/guide provides an informative and entertaining commentary throughout the day. This all inclusive tour includes lunch, farm tours, tastings, park fees and transfers from Cairns and the Northern Beaches.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
The Colony, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Warrick is awesome...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Say what you will about this tour, the guide is awesome. Warrick is witty, personable, patient and intuitive. He is a safe driver and extremely knowledgable about the area. Kinda on the pricey side, but we saw and learned a lot about this part of the country that I will never forget! Cheers!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    18
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forbes, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over Priced by far”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This tour cost us as a couple $350.00 what we got was horrible, a cup of coffee, a couple of nuts, a taste of wine, a taste of one chocolate piece and a piece of cheese. Lunch was a disaster, if you like prawns its ok, we did not go with the prawns and just got a piece of fish and nothing instead of the prawns nor were we asked. The tea house was a disaster, we had to ask for tea that was not dish water and scones were just ok. Rip off for the money. Thats it folks so if you got money to throw away enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 747Sue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As it states! Food Trail...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great day out sampling coffee, wines, macadamins, cheese & chocolates..
Learning how the food is grown to the table..
Able to buy takeaways without feeling the pressure to buy.
Lunch and afternoon tea of scones was included.
Great sites and stops along the way to walk off the samples.
Very enjoyable day as I wasn't looking for the normal tourist activities.
More a adult activity than family day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank yanray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
“Warwick - What a guy :D”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The day starts fairly early, so early in fact we were not quite ready :o Warwick called for us though and very patiently waited for us.
The bus is comfortable and clean.
Warwick keeps up a commentary all the way through the day and is very knowledgeable and welcomes questions.

First stop was morning tea where we enjoyed delicious scones, cream and jam whilst enjoying a locally produced coffee (from the later on Coffee plantation) with a view over a beautiful lake.

Next stop was the dairy farm, interesting video followed by cheese and chocolate samples - Stingy on the chocolate samples (one each and we didn't get to pick :( not great if you don't like certain flavours. Cheese samples were plentiful though, as was the purchasing options!
Then on to a gigantic Fig tree.

Lunch was delicious - We had the vegetarian lasagna which was very large. Came with chips, fruit and veg, we were able to buy drinks but water was provided.

Next was the Macadamia farm where we saw the macadamia tree and the process used to get it from tree to packet... would have liked to meet the farmer, but he wasn't available (playing golf I think :D) Lots of samples here and the opportunity to purchase.

Wine tasting was lovely, the wine producers were friendly and interactive. We were able to sample (and buy) many wines, creams and liqueurs... good job the next stop was for coffee!

{{The coffee plantation made me sad, I hope the family who run it have some good luck soon}}
We saw how the coffee gets from the bush to our cups and the coffee was lovely - as was Maria and Bruno, who let us run off and pet their cats :)

The tour was amazing, the food great and the scenery spectacular, Warwick really knows his stuff and is very accommodating (stopping so we tourist could fawn over and photo some wild Kangaroos)

I do highly recommend this tour but I would say isn't for children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gennacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore USA
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good food, but the producers were absent”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited interesting places and tasted delicious foods, but met few of the producers which was disappointing. The dairy was not producing any cheese, all the machinery was turned off and the only employee knew little about cheese. The macadamia farmer was absent, the coffee producers did not talk to us. The fruit wine farmer was the only producer who talked to us-- and she was very informative. The company was pleasant, the area was beautiful, but I had expected to see more of the production and talk with the producers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Flying_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Trail Tours also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Food Trail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing