We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Day!”
Review of Food Trail Tours

Food Trail Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$147.83*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Food and Wine Tour from Cairns
Ranked #1 of 6 Food & Drink in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our FOOD, WINE and RAINFOREST TOUR explores Wet Tropics Rainforest while discovering what regional food and wine producers have to offer. Travel off the beaten path, onto local farms, hear the stories behind the foods and savour the flavours of tropical fruit wines, cheeses, chocolate, coffee, and macadamia nuts. Expore Atherton Tablelands' rainforest at Lake Barrine and the Curtain Fig Tree. An experienced driver/guide provides an informative and entertaining commentary throughout the day. This all inclusive tour includes lunch, farm tours, tastings, park fees and transfers from Cairns and the Northern Beaches.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Hobart
Level Contributor
168 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Food Trail Tours out of Cairns is absolutely excellent. So many places to go and food/wine to sample. We started at a Coffee farm and discovered how coffee is processed by the owners who were brim full of expertise and friendliness and made a great cup of Coffee.

Next it was to sample fruit wines - what a range from dry to sweeter wines, liquors, ports, something to suit most tastes. Then to a macadamia nut plantation where our guide was very knowledgeable on what happens from growing, harvesting to processing and then, yes, there was that wonderful tasting experience before heading off for lunch.

Whilst the general fare offered was fish; for those who were unable or not inclined, there were agreeable options available and when the food arrived it was tasty, the best salad I have eaten for ages and all most enjoyable.

After lunch we headed to a cheese & chocolate place where the process of cheese making was shown and again that great sampling experience of a wide range of cheeses and some yummy chocolate. We then viewed the amazing curtain fig tree, the huge Kauri pines and then overlooking the beautiful Lake Barrine we had tea and fresh scones.

We arrived back in Cairns a tad tired but having had a most exhilarating day, full of interest & variety and a credit to the friendly, helpful Warwick - out guide. Our new 'dilly bags' helping provided contained numerous samples that we had purchased on route.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tassie-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    18
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Farm to table foodie's feast”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a treat to share time with a wonderful group of van mates! There were 6 of us in total. This personalized food and drink experience was enhanced by the knowledge and personality of owner/operator, Warwick. He has planned every step of the way with thoughtfulness to make the day very enjoyable. He is attentive to all, as we traveled with my 90 years young mother. Every stop was filled with wonderful surprises and an over abundance of food and/or drink. All of the suppliers were at each location to share information and stories about their livelihoods and passions. After 3 and a half weeks in Australia, this was a superb way to end our trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swp398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
176 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great choice for a tour”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Warwick makes this tour excellent. He is passionate about the tablelands and has the contacts and knowledge about the land to make the tour special. You visit a coffee farm (with owner's in their 80's) and the coffee drinkers in the tour thought the coffee was excellent, a fruit winery (which totally surprised me by how good it tastes), a macadamia farm which you also get to taste and buy the goodies. Lunch is a healthy sized meal, then it is cheese and chocolate, and afternoon tea with scones and cream. You even get little bit of exercise to visit a huge fig tree to start working off the food you have just eaten (just a could of hundred metres of easy walking). Whilst there are lots to see, do, and taste, the tour doesn't feel rushed at all. And do you need a big sized dinner after this day - I say no.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KdofMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
168 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food Trail Tours from Cairns - Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Food Trail Tours out of Cains is absolutely excellent. So many places to go and food/wine to sample. We started at a Coffee farm and discovered how coffee is processed by the owners who were brim full of expertise and friendliness and made a great cup of Coffee.

Next it was to sample fruit wines - what a range from dry to sweeter wines, liquors, ports, something to suit most tastes. Then to a macadamia nut plantation where our guide was very knowledgeable on what happens from growing, harvesting to processing and then, yes, there was that wonderful tasting experience before heading off for lunch.

Whilst the general fare offered was fish; for those who were unable or not inclined, there were agreeable options available and when the food arrived it was tasty, the best salad I have eaten for ages and all most enjoyable.

After lunch we headed to a cheese & chocolate place where the process of cheese making was shown and again that great sampling experience of a wide range of cheeses and some yummy chocolate. We then viewed the amazing curtain fig tree, the huge Kauri pines and then overlooking the beautiful Lake Barrine we had tea and fresh scones.

We arrived back in Cairns a tad tired but having had a most exhilarating day, full of interest & variety and a credit to the friendly, helpful Warwick - out guide. Our new 'dilly bags' helping provided contained numerous samples that we had purchased on route.

It was a tour of the highest quality and one I can highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Tassie-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hitting The Trail with Warwick”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Accompanying Warwick on his Food Trail excursion is an excellent way to explore the Atherton Tableland. He is knowledgeable, engaging,accommodating and has a quirky sense of humour. The locations you get to visit are well researched and the commentary is informative and sometimes humorous. We were privileged to meet along the way Bruno and his daughter Maria , pioneers of the local coffee growing industry. During the day we visited, locations engaged in cheese making, tropical fruit wine and macadamia farming. You can expect to receive samples but only a taste. Lunch is a Pub meal of good quality and alternatives are available to seafood. Our tour also included a couple of natural wonders. Afternoon tea was enough to make sure we did not need tea when we arrived home! Its a long but eminently satisfying day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Trail Tours also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Food Trail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing