We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairns Central Apartments
Ranked #30 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Christchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

My elderly mother, my daughter and I stayed for nine nights in July. We thought the location was fabulous as it suited the different age groups. Our two (adjoining) apartments were very nicely appointed. Very clean and the girls who were carrying out the cleaning/servicing were pleasant and helpful. The reception staff were also very helpful. We found the whole stay most enjoyable and would not hesitate in recommending these guys. The Thrifty car rental depot across the road was great as well.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    92
    38
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
93
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The staff was friendly and willing to help. The parking is very convenient and the hotel is relatively close to main shopping & dining areas.
The room was clean and comfortable with all advertised facilities.

However, the Internet connection (the promised free Wi-Fi) was incredibly slow; in fact using the Internet was not possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean. Bed comfortable. Had a nice patio style attached to room which was private. Great central location with shopping centre across the road. Mall around corner and a short walk to beach. Secure parking which was free. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Not exiting about the value for money, location was good but the rest just ok. The layout of the apartement with diner table was narrowand not really spacious. Service was goid and people very friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palingboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a great stay at these apartments in a studio apartment for 7 nights. The room was immaculately presented, and contained the basics that we would need for the stay (cutlery, croquery, microwave etc.).

The room was fairly quiet except for the distant rumble of the 'Cairns Central Shopping Centre's' air conditioners, but this was not a problem as it was a dull contant noise and we didn't really notice it unless the sliding door was open.

The front of house staff were very helpful and friendly.

The only teeny tiny thing I can pick on was that the shower does not drain correctly and water ends up all over the bathroom floor - but this is easily plugged up with the bath mat. Oh, and the spa upstairs is cold.

The bed is extremely comfy and the airconditioner works well and is quiet. Excellent location also... just a 10-15 min easy walk to the esplanade and with shopping just over the road.

We would definitely stay here again.
Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KadenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

After a considerable search for a suitable place to stay we finally decided on the Best Western Plus Central Apartments. We stayed here for 7 nights in a two bedroom apartment. The apartments are well appointed, with good quality furnishings and fittings. Full kitchen and laundry facilities also available in room. Location wise we found it excellent. Nice easy walking distance from all amenities - Cairns Central Shopping Mall only a minute away. Main Esplanade, town lagoon etc are a pleasant 10 minute stroll.
The only gripe we had and it is a big one was that the fire alarm activated 3 times during our stay, twice in one night within hours of each other (approx 11pm and 1am) and the third time two nights later at around 2am. I can assure you there is nothing quite like being woken from a deep slumber in a very comfortable bed to a piercing alarm that penetrates the core of your brain. My 8 year old son was terrified. The morning after the first nights alarm going off, I made inquiries at the reception and the guy was very blaise about it, and didn't even offer an apology. His comment was that the alarm was faulty but that it had been repaired. So imagine our shock when it happened again two nights later!
Despite the middle of the night rude awakenings, we really did enjoy our stay here and would definitely return. I would suggest management offer some sort of discount or at least formal apology to guests after three false fire alarm activations in so many days. Not to mention have a technician actually fix the alarm so it doesn't go off willy nilly.
Please don't let our bad luck detract from the fact that this place is a really great place to stay. For a small family is it ideal. You don't have to rely on a rental car with everything being in walking distance. There is parking available if needed however. We hired a car for one day only in order to do a day trip to Port Douglas. There is a roof top pool, spa and also a games room for the kids. We stayed on one of the seaward upper floors and the traffic noise was negligible. Rooms are air conditioned. Large Balcony provided great views over the city. One other great feature is the gourmet room service menu which allows you to order from either one or a combination of local restaurants and for a small fee they will pick up and deliver. We used this on a couple of nights after some long days and it was really nice to be able to partake in good food without having to go out. Also with the supermarket being so close and having full kitchen facilities we were able to have some enjoyable home cooked breakfasts on the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank engineer_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raul h, General Manager at Cairns Central Apartments, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at beautiful Cairns.
I must apologise for the fire alarms being set off during the night. The fire systems are beyond our control, and I am not able to switch them off without first getting ok from the fire brigade.
The technicians assure me that they have rectified the fault, but at the moment I am still sleeping with one eye open. At least we know that the system works. I look forward to seeing you on your return to Cairns, and assure you there will be no false alarms next time
Regards
Raul Holmes-Brown.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Great location in the city. Free secure parking.
Nice rooms with a spacious balcony and very clean and tidy.
Staff at the reception on check in were very friendly and helpful with a few random questions I had.
We had a great nights sleep here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#42 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
0.2 mi away
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.3 mi away
Cairns City Apartments
Cairns City Apartments
#44 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Central Apartments

Property: Cairns Central Apartments
Address: 58-62 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairns Central Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Central Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Central Apartments is an apartment hotel in the heart of the Cairns Central Business District opposite Cairns Central Shopping Centre. It is walking distance to popular Cairns attractions including the Esplanade, Night Markets, Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino and nightclubs. This luxury apartment hotel offers spacious studio, one and two bedroom apartments that are elegantly styled and include a fully equipped kitchen, large flat-screen televisions, individual room air conditioning in a addition to ceiling fans. Apartments also havehave views of the ocean or hinterland. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi, Foxtel and secure undercover parking. This is the ideal place to stay for a holiday or business trip with guests able to relax at the rooftop pool and spa and enjoy the sweeping views or utilise the meeting and conference space that includes an executive boardroom and function room. There is lots to see and do in Cairns so be sure to ask their tour desk for more information on the area and local attractions. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing