We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
62
102
52
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
102
52
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscairns central shopping centreone bedroom apartmentconnecting doorrooftop poolcoffee plungerapartment hotelspacious balconystreet noiseself cateringgood sizestay there againstayed two nightsclose to shopswalking distancea great stayceiling fanchecking in
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Management is terrible. Confirm a price by email one day then increase the price next day. Expect you to accept without question. Unfair and greedy . No respect for Trip advisor or Best Western corporation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Phillip H,
We are sorry to receive this feedback and would like to clarify the issue. You wished to pay for some of the nights booked with a voucher that entitles you to one of our studio rooms. However you wanted to stay in a substantially larger apartment but were unwilling to pay the modest upgrade charge. As a result you did not stay with us at all which was shame. We aim to be fair and honest with all our valued guests and we believe this is what we did in this case.
Regards,
Raul & Eva
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Upon arrival we were meet by an older lady, she was neither rude or nice, maybe you would call it apathetic.

We were situated on the 10th floor which was nice. After hopping out of the lift we noticed the hallways smelt very stuffy, stale and somewhat like smoke. When we walked into our room, there was an overpowering smell of bleach with an unpleasant undertone of smoke and something else unpleasant. There is no smoking in the hotel hallways and rooms, but you are allowed to smoke on the balcony and there is actually an ash tray out there for you. I'm a non-smoker and I could have swore people have been smoking in the room or with the balcony door open, which I find very unpleasant.

The room it self is was very nice, modern and spacious. The shower, however, constantly leaked water all over the bathroom floor, had specks of black (I shall guess it's mold) in the grout and an awful smell coming up from the drain pipe (that was what the unpleasant undertone in the room was).

There is foxtel in the room, so that was a bonus. We went to the spa next to the pool, the sign says it's a heated spa, but the spa was only slightly warmer than the pool. It was far too cold to enjoy, which was also disappointing.

The rooms are good for what you pay, compared to other places in Cairns. The location is opposite the shopping centre, so getting groceries and things is fairly convenient. It's a few blocks walk to where things are happening, but not too far that it is annoying.

The staff on when I asked question and checked out were nicer than the first person we had, so not everyone there is blase about their job.

Would stay again, but please do something about the smells and the air in the hallways.

Room Tip: If there are non-smoking rooms, get them if you are a non-smoker
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Usagiandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel was clean, staff was very friendly, and the room, other than a bit dysfunctional in layout was well equipped, including a deck that overlooked the ocean. Located within easy walking distance to all Cairns has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank fast1eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

.
Our visit was only for one night, though this studio would be comfortable for a couple for a longer visit to Cairns.
A good size kitchen for light catering; fitted with bar size fridge, microwave, sink, adequate dishes, cutlery etc.
Lovely bathroom with bulk bottle pump dispenser shower amenities instead of fiddly little bottles of shampoo etc.
Sliding glass doors led from the generous size bedroom onto a covered, South facing, tiled patio with views over lower buildings to glimpses of the Cairns Estuary and mountain range behind.
The Studio was fitted with an air-conditioning unit and ceiling fan; we preferred to keep the sliding door open for fresh air, this was secure, and the noise level from the streets below was not loud enough to be sleep disturbing.
Conveniently located across the street from the Cairns Central Shopping mall, for ‘shop till you drop’ facilities, good supermarket, cinema and a varied take-away options from the Food Court. An easy walk to the Cairns Esplanade foreshore, city shops, markets, harbour facilities all a few city blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 14 nights and were treated exceptionally well by staff. in particular Gaylene and Justin... they went above and beyond in looking after our requests... really friendly wonderful people....special thanks to Gaylene for making sure we received the case of wine we had ordered without removing the bottles of white 1st haha...
the location was great.. grocery store, mall and bottle shop all within a half block made living easy.
The view of the city and harbour was wonderful and we were treated to the site of the fruit bats leaving the city every evening and a tree full of rainbow lorakeets right on our street..
Would definitely stay again..

Room Tip: ask for room above 7th floor and facing the harbour..
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catch22WilliamsLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews