We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and luxurious Living, great value! WOW what a fantastic spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Groote Eylandt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great and luxurious Living, great value! WOW what a fantastic spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

My family all met here at Carins for a family reunion. There were 6 Adults and a 10 month baby staying in a 3 Brdm Apartment. We first opened the door and was amazed on the quality and view and locality of these fabulous apartments. My husband and I have stayed in Cairns 4 times in the past 2 years ansd this takes the cake....WOW this is the best location and very close to the Esplanade and dining. Great people as BARB could not have done anything extra to welcome us! She is amazing and the cleaner was very helpful loaning an item we needed due to our 10 month baby - she was a lifesaver! Also if you are debating about locality - DON'T look any further give BARB a call and she will put you at ease. Our family had the best time staying on the 10th floor and seeing the OCean and stroms at night (wet season) and Trinity Inlet during the day and saw 5 crusie ships port opposite our balcony....WOW - we WILL be staying here again every time we visit CAIRNS ! Can't thank and praise this accomodation enough! Check it out for yourself! By the way the Internet photo's don't do the place justice you just need to experience it !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyGrooteEylandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    59
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
267
65
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed at J&N in late Oct / early Nov 2010 for 11 days. On our arrival date Barb contacted us to confirm arrival time (excellent touch). The apartment is as per the photos as were the other areas. Our apartment was on the 11th floor with wonderful views over the inlet. the apartment was so much like a home away from home that we did not want to leave. Supermarket is less than two blocks away with numerous restaurants both on the wharf and esplanade readily available along with the boats heading to reef - although I would suggest you would be mad not to go to the RumBar!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Spent 10 days in a 2 brm 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was super spacious, very clean and comfortable. Our request for extra towels and pool towels was not a problem for Barb, the very friendly hotel manager. Our apartment balcony overlooked the Trinity Inlet with a constant flow of boats, tankers etc, we were even treated to a cruise ship which anchored for two days right outside our balcony.
A 5 minute walk to the supermarket, marina, cafes, train station and city centre with all the restaurants. We even walked back from Cairns Central after our Kuranda trip. The only complaint was there was no internet in the rooms only downstairs in reception. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner and another couple in the 2 bedroom apartment.
Staff were helpful. Building felt secure, as the security key needed to be swiped for everything - lifts etc...
Comfy lounge and flat screen TV with heaps of channels.
Location was spot on - walking distance to the Esplanade etc...
Seemed pretty clean, except the rooms were crawling with bugs or ants of some sort - in every room.
The pool wasn't inviting, so we didn't swim.
It was ok for the money but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brushtail00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

i spent 3 nites from 23 Jan 2010 with my two boys - booked a 2 b/r apartment with nice views over the river and to the side the ocean

had a choice of the standard or the deluxe - the former was much much larger and brighter tho not as good a view of the ocean as the much darker and smaller deluxe, howver there was more to look at on the river with passing boats and ships etc

i am seldom impressed when i travel but the apartments were spotless and roomy and so much better value than tiny hotel rooms

Staff were excellent in all departments

had a great gym and pingpong table tho the pool was a bit stark - how about some shade for us pale ones!

i would recommend this place to anyone and suggest the cheaper bigger brighter standard rooms

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeti40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

Stayed here recently from about the 9th January for 6 nights. We booked a 3 bedroom apartment and it was wonderful. Plenty of space for our family of 6. The views were really good and it was in a good location - on Wharf St within walking distance to everything we needed. Close to the boardwalk for restaurants and reef cruises. Easy walk to Woollies for supplies. We also walk from Cairns railway station after our Kuranda trip. The lady at the front deskwas very friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and very comfortable. We had a great week.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Property: Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4970, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing