We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The holday from "hell"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The holday from "hell"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked a 2 bed apartment for 1 month. We were told it was luxurious & at the quiet end of town. It wasn’t even 3 stars let alone 5 stars. Small, kitchen very poorly equipped. Spa didn't work during our whole stay. Toilet cistern cracked flooding bathroom, fixed but an imposition. Dryer broke down, fixed but an imposition. Mattress in master bedroom had a tear in it, great place for bed bugs to breed. Weekly service did not include floors to be washed, I had to insist on it. Light globes missing, nails on bare walls where pictures were taken off. No DVD, had to request one. Cable TV had to be fixed. TV in the lounge room didn’t show the local channels. The big problem which made it the “Holiday from Hell” was that we told the Manager that we were looking for a "quiet, restful holiday in the sun and warmth of Tropical Queensland and when I questioned him about the vacant site across the road from the building he said it was garden works. When I questioned him about the noise level he said “we can hardly hear it”…”we don’t even know it’s there”… What we got in fact was an enormous construction site with dozens of front-end loaders, diggers, fork-lift trucks, and other machinery used in the renovations to the Cairns Cruise Terminal. The noise was so unbearable that we couldn’t even sit on the balcony in fact we couldn’t even leave the doors to the balcony open, not even the windows. This was not garden works but massive construction work. They even cut steel on site making incredible noise and our granddaughter 9 months couldn’t nap.The works started at 5.45 am and finnished at 4.15pm 6 days a week. We were disturbed by telephone canvassers who rang several times a day every day at all times and when I complained, the Manager simply said “nothing I can do about it”… I wouldn’t recommend The Jack and Newell Apartment Block to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't go there. The Manager lied to us about the noise level from the "Garden works" w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Manoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
It is difficult to know how to respond to such an attack on my integrity without personalising it. This review also questions the integrity of other reviewers, many of whom stayed here over the same period. Certainly my recollection of the content of our conversations differs significantly from the guests.
During their stay we met every demand (generally accompanied with advice on how it should be done) in a prompt efficient and courteous manner. At no time did they request a move or cancellation of their stay as one might expect given the review.
After vacating we received a written demand for a significant sum of money combined with the threat that if they did not receive same by bank cheque within 14 days they would post reviews “on all travel and social websites such as TripAdvisor and FlipKey, Twitter, Bookings.com and others”. To be called a liar by an extortionist is offensive.
In defence of our quality apartments and great service I refer you to the opinions left by our many legitimate reviewers whose comments including “luxury”, “well set up kitchens”, “fantastic “, “spotless” to mention a few, are repeated time and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    59
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
264
65
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Nothing more to say than FANTASTIC, from the minute me booked until our stay was over the accommodation and our wonderful manager David made our trip here a time to remember.

Great location, amazing views and everything you could want. Hope to be back there again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: fabulous spot for a most memorable trip in Cairns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Great feedback...thank you. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and those views...couple of beers/wine on the balcony whilst taking in the water and it is...fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here with 2 small children. The apartment had everything it was supposed to, and was spotlessly clean. David was most helpful and offered lots of tips for savings and places to go / things to do. Recommended without reservations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Appreciate your comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Cairns. Great to have that extra room when you are holidaying with little ones. Look forward to your return visit one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

It was our first visit to Cairns this July with elderlies and little ones. The manager helped us organized the tickets to the Green Island and Kuranda tours before we got there. He also gave us advices on the local tour attractions which saved a lot of time. Our 3 bedroom apartment has fantastic sea view, nice and clean. It has been a very pleasant time to stay at Jack & Newell Cairns Luxury Apartments!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MangoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thanks for staying with us and glad that you were all able to enjoy your holiday with us...all 3 generations. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesea, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We searched for an apartment to accommodate 3 adults and a teenager. Jack & Newell had excellent reviews and deservedly so. The apartment has everything you could possibly want-including powder for the washing machine. Big,light,airy with excellent fittings. David was extremely helpful with bookings and requests. The gym is great, as is the pool. Location is perfect for all touristy things in Cairns.
It was important to us that our daughter have a lovely holiday after recent illness. She was just so happy with everything. Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: that restaurant review should not be there. there is none but i can't get it off
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharptraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
So glad that everything ended up wonderful for your family and you were able to enjoy the break. Our gym is great and well equipped... the most underused facility in the complex (lol) .
Thanks for the feedback...much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We researched a few places for our trip before settling on Jack & Newell apartments. It was a good choice. The apartments were fastastic, with well set up kitchens, lovely bathrooms and good living area and balcony. Free wifi is included which is a big plus. We went with another family and their apartment had a different layout and furnishings, but the same features. The views were lovely, out over the inlet and to the marina. At the moment there is construction happening on the foreshore, so there was a bit of noise during the day (only noticeable when the balcony doors were open), but quiet in the evening. The location is terrific - an easy walk to the boat terminal, Cairns Central, Esplanade, lagoon, restaurants and supermarket. The managers were very helpful, offering advice on tours and day trips. We booked a couple of tours through them and got a discount too. It was very easy. They also offered eskies and freezer bricks if required for a picnic, and had board games and DVDs that could be borrowed. There is undercover parking provided too.
We had a terrific week in Cairns and a lovely stay at Jack & Newell apartments. Would definitely stay there next time!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. It is a great location...central to most things and although there is free car parking for guests it means that you don't really need the expense of a car for your entire stay to get around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed just over a week with twins boys aged 2 & 7 year big brother, perfect location with an amazing views. Walking distant to the sites, shops, food and the marina. A big thank you to Dave the buildings manager who welcomed us, helped us to check in with a heap of luggage, sorted out free fast unlimited wifi, supermarket, bottle store & food advice within a few minutes, how everything worked including the excellent internal security system and secure car park, plus arranged trips with a booking discount etc. The apartment had 3 bedrooms, spotlessly clean, every amenity with modern furniture and facilities. No hestitation in going back there or reccomending Jack Newell Apartments to anyone.

Room Tip: We had 1002- a beautiful apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Great feedback...thank you. We really appreciate the time taken to submit these review so others can share your experiences and it is great feedback to us personally. So glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Property: Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing