We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family for five days and we feel it would be hard to find better apartments in Cairns. Excellent management provided a smooth check in and nothing was too much trouble, a small maintenance issue was dealt with quickly and without any fuss even though it was late in the day. The apartments are in a great position over looking Trinity inlet with a large balcony to watch the world go by. The facilities in the apartment are all you would expect and provide a very comfortable "home" for your stay. Wifi was excellent, booking trips with David was easy and nothing too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome. Next time we come to Cairns we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. The free WiFi is very popular and we are glad you enjoyed those magnificent views. Thanks for the review. We appreciate it and look forward to being able to host you again in the near future.
Best wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    60
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
279
66
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I recently stayed at J & N Holiday Apartments and thoroughly enjoyed myself. David was so helpful in arranging travel and tours. The apartments were huge and beautifully appointed. I loved having a washer/dryer to dry my snorkel clothes. I also enjoyed the free WiFi, which worked well. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snorkeljunkeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Our apartments are full residential apartments with all the facilities you would need, including the laundry. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Jack & Newell for six nights and it was the perfect place for us to base ourselves out of in the Cairnes area. The location is perfect, easy to walk to restaurants, the marina and all the downtown sights. The rooms were spectacular, spacious, quiet, stunning views, and equipped with everything we would need to make our stay comfortable. David was so helpful in planning our outings, helping us make decisions about what to do and solved any problem we had quickly and efficiently ( the only problem we had was an internet problem which he solved quickly). He went out of his way to help us and make sure out time was well spent. I would highly recommend staying here. A great bang for the buck. Perfect way to relax and enjoy the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We really enjoy helping our guests enjoy everything Cairns has to offer. It's a great place with so many options. Glad we were able to help and we really appreciate the feedback.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a well run, very clean, well located property. David the manager does a fantastic job in helping travelers with sight seeing options, as well as making sure we were comfortable with our stay. It is clear why this continually rates a 5!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks so much Paul Z for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Real luxury apartment with fantastic views of Trinity Inlet. Short stroll to Central Cairns. Very clean and spacious. Balcony was great and the ceiling fan meant it was comfortable outside even on the hottest part of the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rackie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Rackie73. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The waterview apartments are great to sit out on dining or wining and taking in the views. Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your review. Best wishes and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We loved our stay at Jack and Newell apartments. The 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment was much bigger than we anticipated and was absolutely immaculate. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and we enjoyed home cooked meals most nights on the balcony. Th BBQ facilities were great as was the small but refreshing swimming pool. Our hosts were really friendly and offered lots of excellent advice on the area, tours and attractions on offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cairns and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Jack & Newell apartments to others, especially those travelling in a group.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We really appreciate it. Glad you made use of our BBQ and pool area. It really is a pleasant place to spend the evening. Regards from us all at Jack & Newell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our apartment was large and comfortable, in a good location close to the Esplanade and the lagoon and shops. Unfortunately there were several 'little' things that took the shine off of our stay. First one of the lifts was not operating correctly, then the door snibs in the apartment were sticky so the doors to the bedrooms and bathroom didn't close fully. Our oven wouldn't turn on (the manager did come to our room to sort this out), the aircon in our bedroom required checking the day we arrived. I noticed the bathroom fittings were tired and the toilet roll holder fell to the floor ( no screw to hold in place). We had very good assistance from Chris at reception, who offered us a $60 refund for the inconveniences and also printed out our boarding passes. These apartments are at the expensive end, and I had hoped to have a hassle free stay. Not sure I'd return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Lee M. Unfortunately small maintenance problems are an ongoing thing and often we are not aware of them until we are advised. We appreciate you letting us know and are glad we were able to respond to your requests so promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Property: Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4970, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing