We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Starting with Chris picking us from the airport and David dropping us to the airport on our way back after 3 nights of stay, this place is phenomenal. Our 3 BHK water view apartment was one of the best we have stayed in. Thank you David for all the help and making our Cairns trip memorable. Hope to see you soon again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HitenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Our apartments really are a good size and very comfortable and the water views are very relaxing. Glad you enjoyed them and thanks so much for providing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I'm writing this from the balcony of our room, relaxing after a long day of touring around. The thing that really sets this place apart is the service. David will treat you and your family like royalty. If you choose to stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thanks so much for your comments Mike1010. We get a great deal; of satisfaction from helping guests enjoy not only their stay with us but also their experience in Cairns. It is a magnificent region with some really remarkable natural sights. Glad you enjoyed Cairns and we appreciate the kind comments. Regards from us all at J&N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The staff at Jack & Newell (David and Chris) were great about getting us the tours we wanted, when we wanted them, and giving us helpful hints about the details. David is a man of infinite patience and calm. The apartment was large and well-equipped (except for the lack of paper towels or napkins). We had a nice deck facing the marina, and were within walking distance of the CBD and marina, all the restaurants and boat tours. The view past the water was so beautiful, green-covered hills and lush vegetation. When David wasn't manning the desk, a key card was required for entry, so we felt safe. We were surprised that there were no bins for recycling, except for glass. Coming from Oregon, that was disturbing. Chris picked us up at the airport and took us back when it was time to leave (this has to be arranged ahead of time). The apartment was comfortable and convenient.

Room Tip: Obviously, get a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello Stillhall and thanks for your feedback. Glad you found the location so convenient and enjoyed our magnificent views. Thanks again for the review we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed 6 nights @ J&N and agree with previous positive reviews.

David and Joelette are fantastic resident managers. Nothing is a bother and they are very knowledgeable about local and regional tourism. Their recommendations and advice saved us time and $$ on a number of occasions.

The apartment was great, very modern, well equipped and clean. Fantastic gym! Unfortunately it rained every day so we didn't get a chance to use the pool or BBQ.

Will definitely stay again when in Cairns.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JannieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thanks so much for your thoughts on your stay with us. We appreciate you sharing them. Glad we were able to help and will pass your comments about how clean the apartments were to the cleaning staff. Regards the team at J&N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a great stay at Jack & Newell. The accommodation was fabulous and conveniently located. David couldn't have been more helpful, organising our trips and transport, securing us discounts as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaB276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello Anitab276
Thanks for your review and glad you had a great time here in Cairns and at Jack & Newell.
Glad we were able to assist you with your planning and itinerary.
Best Wishes from all at Jack & Newell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My first interaction with David was through email with offers to help us with tours, they offered some helpful suggestions which we really appreciated. The apartment itself was beautiful, lovely and spacious, and we really enjoyed our outdoor balcony overlooking the harbour and the kitchen was more than adequate and certainly well equipped. David directed us to everything we needed, on and off the property, and certainly went above and beyond with all of his offers of transportation, and restaurants nearby. We found everything was within walking distance. A true gem!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATRICIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you Patricia P for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to sample some of the wonderful Cairns attractions. Our apartments are comfortable and well equipped and the wonderful views from the large balconies means a great relaxing time. Thanks so much again for the feedback. best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our short stay in Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments was fantastic. Thanks to David we were able to explore most of Cairn's attractions. The apartment was very clean and modern. It was a pleasure to enjoy a great view on the harbour from a big balcony. The location was excellent as the apartments were very close to shops, restaurants and the Esplanade.
We would strongly recommend these apartments. David, thank you again for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello Family Kostic. Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed your brief stay with us and hope fully we will see you back again soon. The very large balconies with those tremendous water views are a great place to relax and we are glad you enjoyed them, Best wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4970, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £148 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing