We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess with the mostest!”
Review of Brinsmead Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brinsmead Studios
Ranked #39 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Bloomfield, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hostess with the mostest!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed here for the second time this year. The studio is impeccably clean, and has everything you could possibly need. The pool is lush and so refreshing after a hot day. Sue is just amazing, so helpful without being invasive. She really makes the stay something special. The beds are lovely and comfortable and there are two excellent parks nearby if you do bring your dog. Highly recommend this place, a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becks a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I found Brinsmead Studios on the internet and they certainly looked very good. The actuality was even better. Sue, the owner, was very considerate of wanting to make sure that everything was just perfect for our stay. Her hospitality is something to be experienced! She was very friendly and welcoming, even providing many treats such as fresh free range eggs from her own chooks, to home grown fruit and even home baked cakes! The studio itself was very comfortable, all needs catered for and we felt ourselves relaxing from the moment of our arrival. Certainly recommend this studio to others. Our thanks to Sue for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

It took me ages to find an accommodation to stay in Cairns. There were a lot of hotels but I wanted to stay in holiday house and there were not many with an affordable price. I found Brinsmead Studios through http://www.cairnsholidayhomes.com.au and that was great! I stayed Brinsmead Studios with my parents for 5 nights. I was a bit worried about staying 3 adult in one room but beds were comfortable and the room were big enough for 3. The kitchen got loads of utensils and basically got everything for cooking. Sue the host was a great host and very welcoming. Brinsmead Studios had good access to Fresh water station if you want to catch a Kuranda train and it was closer to Port douglas. I was very very lucky that I could stay at Brinsmead Studios. Thank you Sue and Lizzie!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomoko812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullewa
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at Sue,s beautifull studio for 2 weeks. My 2 boys, wife and me were blown away by the hospitality and warm hearted hostess, that welcomed us into her home. Sue had everything perfect for our arrival and during the stay she was always there to make sure we were, absolutely enjoying our stay. The studio is so conveniently close to the city and all mayor tourist activies in Cairns, but also private enough to let you relax in the lush tropical garden or the clean warm pool in the evening after a hectic day of sight seeing. The studio had all the luxuries of home right at youre fingertips. Its 2 weeks that we will never forget and Brinsmead studio 2 has been like a home to us. Do youreself a favour and book a holiday at Sue,s place right now! Youle LOVE it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaspar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

It was a fantastic place for us to stay with our old dog "misty" as we had just moved from down south and couldn't move into our own place for a couple of weeks. Sue was a very gracious host and couldn't ask for better. Everything was at your finger tips. It was a truly wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone. Thank you Sue!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We began our journey through Queensland in august 2012 in Cairns and it was just perfect to stay at the Brinsmead Studios. Our host Sue was very welcoming and helpful – providing us not only with fruits from her beautiful tropical garden, but also with other delights (thanks for the delicious banana-bread!) and many useful informations.
The bigger studio, in which we stayed, is very spacious and charmingly decorated in old style. It has a separate bedroom and bathroom and a big livingroom combined with the kitchen. The kitchen has everything we could wish for and the deck outside is really comfortable. As we are birdwatchers we especially liked the big garden with many birds in it – e.g. the Olive-backed Sunbirds and the Spangled Drongos very close.
We can definitely recommend the studio!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Brinsmead Studio was a home away for me and my dog Bozie. The property is beautiful and the studio was very spacious, tidy and charming. Sue, the friendly the host thought of everything one may need on holiday so all i had to bring was my suitcase. It was important to me to find a place that could accommodate dogs and Brinsmead terraces certainly went above and beyond making me and my dog feel very welcome. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting good value accommodation, lovely surroundings and a great atmosphere.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mandy783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
4.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
4.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,230 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinsmead Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinsmead Studios

Property: Brinsmead Studios
Address: 16 Sun St | Brinsmead, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the ground floor of a charming old Queenslander house, Brinsmead Studios are a well priced accommodation choice when visiting Cairns and the surrounding area. Each studio has limited kitchen facilities including a hob, microwave and fridge, laundry, en-suite bathroom, sitting room with TV, decked area for outdoor dining, use of a BBQ and access to a beautiful pool in a well-kept tropical garden. All linen supplied. 3 guests max in each studio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing