We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Globetrotters International
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Quiet clean and friendly”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I chose to stay at globetrotters cairns because I read that it was quiet at night, and I was pleased to find that this was true every night I stayed there, over two stays so far.

I never had any trouble with noise at night and always slept well because of the free air conditioners that come
On during the evening and run throughout the night - I was always comfortable. The seating outside is good and the pool is great for cooling down and both to chat to people.

The location is right near the jobs I am applying for and a short walk to the esplanade, restaurants and city centre.

It is a family business and Brian and Linda are friendly and helpful with my questions and booking tours.

The free wifi, and free morning coffee were also just what I needed.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    67
    32
    26
    13
See reviews for
9
71
100
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Booked the private room, it was dirty, dark, no opening window, located between kitchen, bathroom, corridor and entrance : very noisy. People could see inside our room through a small stabile window without curtain. We felt horribly itchy during the first night and asked to change room. We got a large one (for 5 people) yet still not clean.
Buildings are not in good condition, air-condition is only on after 6pm.
Internet wifi signal was very weak in both rooms, inducing lots of disconnection.
One washing machine was broken.
Complimentary breakfast = light cereal and milk.
Located next to a big hotel where many coaches start their journey => additional noise.
Overall stay was horrible and would definitely not recommand this place. I am used to staying at backpackers but this one is really not worth the positive comments. Located 15 min walk from harbour/esplanade swimming pool.
We were happy to leave! Really hesitated to change but were actually to lazy for 5 days

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I had a great time at Globetrotters. The rooms were clean, staff was nice, free meal voucher at a local resto when you check in. Common areas were good... everything was clean. Overalls a great experience. It's not really near that much, but it's within walking distance to the bars. More ideal if you're looking for a quieter hostel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnvanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I stayed here for a few nights. The staff were nice and I booked a few tours through them. The rooms are good and the shared bath rooms were clean. I stayed in a twin room. Walk to cairns cbd does take around 15min which is a bad point. Common areas are nice to relax in.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed at Globetrotters last week and really had a wonderful stay. It was the perfect place if you want a relaxed, great value for money hostel. We were looking for something with easy walking access to the town,quiet, chilled and away from all the busy nightclubs and bars in the center. The hostel was clean and quiet. We could chill out and refresh in their pool on return from a day out. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and accomodating of us to also leave our luggage with them when we had a change of plans to go further up North for 2 days. It was great value for money with breakfast and a dinner voucher included. As a backpackers it has a few seperate shared kitchen and bathrooms, giving a more relaxed private feel which was great. I would highly recommend this place - definately a great place to stay with alot of effort put in by the owners to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as they can. I'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine_rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viterbo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We were 3 people travelling in Australia and staying 3 nights in total in this hostel (2 days at first and another night some days later) and we found it very unconfortable, dirty and the last night we stayed there there was a mistake in the booking. We discovered that at night when we had to enter the room. The staff proposed us another solution 'cause was not the one we booked previously trying to let us understand it was a solution similar to our request.Finally instead of being in a 3 bedroom room we stayed in two different mixed rooms with 4 beds each. And the staff wanted us to pay the same price for that!We didn't agree abt that and at this point they made a 20%discount.After going back home, we left a comment on hostelworld website and they contacted us to apologize and to propose a reimbursement but only if we had cancelled our negative comment on the website!!!!BE AWARE OF THAT and DON'T CHOOSE THIS HOSTEL AS ACCOMODATION IN CAIRNS!It's full of cochroaches!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapestac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Surprisingly quiet even though our room was by the road, & bed was surprisingly comfortably soft. I slept really well. We didn't get to watch much tv programs as the signal was weak, but the free internet kept us occupied. Room was generally clean except for a few ants. Size was just good enough.

I was quite disappointed with the shared bathroom. It's not really the hostel's fault, as the cleanliness depends very much on the people using it. It was wet most of the time, & there was hair all over. Shower door couldn't be closed fully.

Staff was helpful & hostelites were friendly. Hostel is a couple mins drive away from Cairns Esplanade, where some shops & eating places are still open at night. There are only 4 parking lots outside it. We were given vouchers for a free dinner at Woolshed, but there was a super long queue, so we skipped it & ate at the night market nearby instead.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters International

Property: Globetrotters International
Address: 154 - 156 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Globetrotters International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing