We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Globetrotters International
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
192
75
32
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
75
32
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastair congreat wififree barbecuelounge areasocial atmosphererelaxed placechilled hostelbed dormcommon areas arefavourite hostelhostel offerscomfortable bedsbook tripshome from homesolo travellerswimming pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here in November 2011. Stayed in a single room with two twin beds. Sheets and the paper thin blanket were stained and there were little ants EVERYWHERE - on the walls, on our beds, all over the mini fridge, in my suitcase, and probably in my Froot Loops that I refused to eat afterwards. Wifi was free and very fast. Only had 1 toilet, (technically 2, but the door on the second one doesn't lock so I wouldn't use it), and one shower - totally insufficient for running a hostel. Didn't want to cook at all in the somewhat clean kitchen because of the ants everywhere, all over the walls, counters, and microwaves. Beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable and the pillow I was given was no fluffier than toilet paper. Also quite a long trek from the city centre. Staff was friendly, their dog was cute, and they know how to save you money on tours - pretty much the only positives about this place. Would definitely recommend staying elsewhere, somewhere in town.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed there for a week in a single room. The room was smallish and the bed pretty uncomfortable (heavily used for one thing, and fitted with cretinous wheels which made it roll all over the room; sitting on the bed with your back against the wall to read or write is impossible). The room was getting unpleasantly hot during the day and you can't switch on the aircon till 17:00. The good thing was the friendly, knowledgeable staff, functional kitchen and good choice of tours at reception. They also let you use their netbook for free if you don't have your own. All in all, it wasn't that bad, but next time in Cairns I will look for something slightly more comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

On arriving at Globetrotters I instantly felt at home, I was offered a fresh coffee and a free meal voucher plus the wifi is free here and in the morning you also get a free bowl of cornflakes and more coffee! The beds here are super comfy (memory foam mattresses) and I didnt have to sleep on a bunk bed either. The hostel is really really clean, great kitchen facilities and the lounge area is perfect for relaxing with friends or speaking to other travellers. Staff here are so so helpful, I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Cairns, you wont be disappointed - it's a home away from home. Thank you so much to all the staff at Globetrotters Cairns - you made my stay in Cairns PERFECT.

Room Tip: If you like the quiet try and get a room upstairs as Rooms 1 to 3 downstairs are right by the lounge. Althought the TV is turned off at 11 you can still hear people talking etc.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_pops89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

i stayed on Oct 2011 with my friend. city is a little bit far from this hostel, it's about 15-20 min by walk. but we were ok. we stayed in 2 single room, it was clean and quiet place. we would recommended this friendly hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medeirost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I stayed in this hostel in Oct 2011. Found it difficult as there were no ceiling fans in the bedrooms (I stayed in a single room) and the aircon didn't come on until 5.30pm - in a tropical climate - so inappropriate! I was told that this is also against OH&S legislation in Qld. Not good.
The room was dirty, thick with dust. I had to clean the shelves before putting my clothes on them - very dirty. No wardrobe, just shelving and hanging like one would purchase for ironing and hanging clothes.
No wifi in rooms at all as advertised. No ceiling fans in living areas - lounge etc either.

Also very noisy, not quiet as I was told.

Kitchen: people staying there were dirty and expected others to clean up after them. Food scraps left in sink.

Bathroom: Sopping wet towels on the floor to soak up water from showers and plumbing in reverse on taps. Very dangerous walking on the floor - could easily have slipped over.
The steps leading into the bathroom and onto the verandah overlooking the backyard were not marked for safety and I nearly tripped on them. Could have easily been marked with yellow tape for safety.

Only 2 bathrooms, 1 separate toilet with lockable door. The other toilet has no door at all next to the shower.

The single rooms are far too expensive for the quality of them $45 night.
On a positive note there is a bar fridge in the rooms which can be used to store groceries and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Pity the rooms were not cleaned properly. Ceiling fans need to be installed in each bedroom and all living areas, particularly in a tropical climate.

Some backpackers said they were going elsewhere to stay - don't blame them.

The convenience store just down the road is very expensive - bread $3.50 a loaf.
There is a woolworths supermarket a few blocks away and cairns central has supermarkets there too I'm told. Check them out and save yourself a fortune on groceries.

Room Tip: Google hostels and yha. Yha are great, clean, helpful staff and comfortable to stay in.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews