We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and friendly hostel with a good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Globetrotters International
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A clean and friendly hostel with a good location.”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Globetrotters hostel has some of the friendliest staff around. The hostel is very quiet and the rooms are pretty cheap, I had a single room with shared shower for $42 a night which was a bargain. The hostel was very happy to help you book tours, and help you with your travel plans. They even helped me when my plans changed and I had to leave early. The pool is a good size, and the communal area is great. Cairns is hot so the air con is good, although it does only come on between 6pm and 9:30am which can be annoying if you go back at lunch to escape from the heat. This is only done for environmental reasons, and if your only in cairns for a few days you won't notice as you will be out on trips!

Thanks for a great stay, and especial thanks to the owners for sorting my problem and the young lady who works behind the desk in the evenings ;)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley-sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    67
    32
    26
    13
See reviews for
9
68
99
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Western Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Hard to beat this one for a family/backpacker hotel. 5 mins walk from the heart of town and an amazingly delightful base to get out and have whatever sort of holiday you're after. All the necessities of a self-contained holiday are here. The minor problems that pop up (we were here for 2 weeks) are dealt with quickly and easily by the friendly staff. They book tours for you at unbeatable rates. All up Globetrotters international is a fantastic value home-away-from-home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestAustralianDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Globetrotters International is nicely located 10mins walk away from the cairns city place. Although some may find that it is away from where the fun takes place, I personally find that the walk along Esplande to and fro the city place is quite relaxing and enjoyable.

Brian and Linda are great hosts that look after all our needs during our stay. They helped us to make arrangements for our rafting and skydiving trips and the prices via them are much cheaper compared to other places. Brian also helped us to ensure that the daily pick up for our trips are on schedule. In short, they would try their best to ensure that you will go on the trip that you asked for and not get disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChunBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The BEST value for our money thus far. Friendly staff, very helpful. Give great discounts on tours. Pick you up from the airport in a BMW! Facilities were good, AC was great, rooms were spacious, pool was awesome. Could have used an extra bathroom, but not a big deal. Would DEFINATELY reccomend. Only about a 10 minute walk to the city centre as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipskietrussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The Globetrotter International is a nice and quiet hostel in walking distance of the city center - not a party hostel like other hostels in town. Brian and his team are also very helpful with tours, excursions and you can even book your dive trip with them.
I would recommend the hostel for a quiet stay in Cairns and also return there myself.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Bre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters International

Property: Globetrotters International
Address: 154 - 156 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Globetrotters International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing