We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, nice rooms and facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Globetrotters International
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I stayed here for a few nights. The staff were nice and I booked a few tours through them. The rooms are good and the shared bath rooms were clean. I stayed in a twin room. Walk to cairns cbd does take around 15min which is a bad point. Common areas are nice to relax in.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed at Globetrotters last week and really had a wonderful stay. It was the perfect place if you want a relaxed, great value for money hostel. We were looking for something with easy walking access to the town,quiet, chilled and away from all the busy nightclubs and bars in the center. The hostel was clean and quiet. We could chill out and refresh in their pool on return from a day out. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and accomodating of us to also leave our luggage with them when we had a change of plans to go further up North for 2 days. It was great value for money with breakfast and a dinner voucher included. As a backpackers it has a few seperate shared kitchen and bathrooms, giving a more relaxed private feel which was great. I would highly recommend this place - definately a great place to stay with alot of effort put in by the owners to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as they can. I'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justine_rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We were 3 people travelling in Australia and staying 3 nights in total in this hostel (2 days at first and another night some days later) and we found it very unconfortable, dirty and the last night we stayed there there was a mistake in the booking. We discovered that at night when we had to enter the room. The staff proposed us another solution 'cause was not the one we booked previously trying to let us understand it was a solution similar to our request.Finally instead of being in a 3 bedroom room we stayed in two different mixed rooms with 4 beds each. And the staff wanted us to pay the same price for that!We didn't agree abt that and at this point they made a 20%discount.After going back home, we left a comment on hostelworld website and they contacted us to apologize and to propose a reimbursement but only if we had cancelled our negative comment on the website!!!!BE AWARE OF THAT and DON'T CHOOSE THIS HOSTEL AS ACCOMODATION IN CAIRNS!It's full of cochroaches!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sapestac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Surprisingly quiet even though our room was by the road, & bed was surprisingly comfortably soft. I slept really well. We didn't get to watch much tv programs as the signal was weak, but the free internet kept us occupied. Room was generally clean except for a few ants. Size was just good enough.

I was quite disappointed with the shared bathroom. It's not really the hostel's fault, as the cleanliness depends very much on the people using it. It was wet most of the time, & there was hair all over. Shower door couldn't be closed fully.

Staff was helpful & hostelites were friendly. Hostel is a couple mins drive away from Cairns Esplanade, where some shops & eating places are still open at night. There are only 4 parking lots outside it. We were given vouchers for a free dinner at Woolshed, but there was a super long queue, so we skipped it & ate at the night market nearby instead.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Globetrotters hostel has some of the friendliest staff around. The hostel is very quiet and the rooms are pretty cheap, I had a single room with shared shower for $42 a night which was a bargain. The hostel was very happy to help you book tours, and help you with your travel plans. They even helped me when my plans changed and I had to leave early. The pool is a good size, and the communal area is great. Cairns is hot so the air con is good, although it does only come on between 6pm and 9:30am which can be annoying if you go back at lunch to escape from the heat. This is only done for environmental reasons, and if your only in cairns for a few days you won't notice as you will be out on trips!

Thanks for a great stay, and especial thanks to the owners for sorting my problem and the young lady who works behind the desk in the evenings ;)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley-sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Hard to beat this one for a family/backpacker hotel. 5 mins walk from the heart of town and an amazingly delightful base to get out and have whatever sort of holiday you're after. All the necessities of a self-contained holiday are here. The minor problems that pop up (we were here for 2 weeks) are dealt with quickly and easily by the friendly staff. They book tours for you at unbeatable rates. All up Globetrotters international is a fantastic value home-away-from-home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestAustralianDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Globetrotters International is nicely located 10mins walk away from the cairns city place. Although some may find that it is away from where the fun takes place, I personally find that the walk along Esplande to and fro the city place is quite relaxing and enjoyable.

Brian and Linda are great hosts that look after all our needs during our stay. They helped us to make arrangements for our rafting and skydiving trips and the prices via them are much cheaper compared to other places. Brian also helped us to ensure that the daily pick up for our trips are on schedule. In short, they would try their best to ensure that you will go on the trip that you asked for and not get disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChunBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.7 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#9 of 84 in Cairns
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters International

Address: 154 - 156 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £29 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Globetrotters International 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing