We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Globetrotters International
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$129
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$100
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropical Heritage Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
192
75
32
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
75
32
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastair congreat wififree barbecuelounge areasocial atmosphererelaxed placechilled hostelbed dormcommon areas arefavourite hostelhostel offerscomfortable bedsbook tripshome from homesolo travellerswimming pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I stayed here for a few nights. The staff were nice and I booked a few tours through them. The rooms are good and the shared bath rooms were clean. I stayed in a twin room. Walk to cairns cbd does take around 15min which is a bad point. Common areas are nice to relax in.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed at Globetrotters last week and really had a wonderful stay. It was the perfect place if you want a relaxed, great value for money hostel. We were looking for something with easy walking access to the town,quiet, chilled and away from all the busy nightclubs and bars in the center. The hostel was clean and quiet. We could chill out and refresh in their pool on return from a day out. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and accomodating of us to also leave our luggage with them when we had a change of plans to go further up North for 2 days. It was great value for money with breakfast and a dinner voucher included. As a backpackers it has a few seperate shared kitchen and bathrooms, giving a more relaxed private feel which was great. I would highly recommend this place - definately a great place to stay with alot of effort put in by the owners to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as they can. I'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justine_rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We were 3 people travelling in Australia and staying 3 nights in total in this hostel (2 days at first and another night some days later) and we found it very unconfortable, dirty and the last night we stayed there there was a mistake in the booking. We discovered that at night when we had to enter the room. The staff proposed us another solution 'cause was not the one we booked previously trying to let us understand it was a solution similar to our request.Finally instead of being in a 3 bedroom room we stayed in two different mixed rooms with 4 beds each. And the staff wanted us to pay the same price for that!We didn't agree abt that and at this point they made a 20%discount.After going back home, we left a comment on hostelworld website and they contacted us to apologize and to propose a reimbursement but only if we had cancelled our negative comment on the website!!!!BE AWARE OF THAT and DON'T CHOOSE THIS HOSTEL AS ACCOMODATION IN CAIRNS!It's full of cochroaches!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sapestac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Surprisingly quiet even though our room was by the road, & bed was surprisingly comfortably soft. I slept really well. We didn't get to watch much tv programs as the signal was weak, but the free internet kept us occupied. Room was generally clean except for a few ants. Size was just good enough.

I was quite disappointed with the shared bathroom. It's not really the hostel's fault, as the cleanliness depends very much on the people using it. It was wet most of the time, & there was hair all over. Shower door couldn't be closed fully.

Staff was helpful & hostelites were friendly. Hostel is a couple mins drive away from Cairns Esplanade, where some shops & eating places are still open at night. There are only 4 parking lots outside it. We were given vouchers for a free dinner at Woolshed, but there was a super long queue, so we skipped it & ate at the night market nearby instead.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Globetrotters hostel has some of the friendliest staff around. The hostel is very quiet and the rooms are pretty cheap, I had a single room with shared shower for $42 a night which was a bargain. The hostel was very happy to help you book tours, and help you with your travel plans. They even helped me when my plans changed and I had to leave early. The pool is a good size, and the communal area is great. Cairns is hot so the air con is good, although it does only come on between 6pm and 9:30am which can be annoying if you go back at lunch to escape from the heat. This is only done for environmental reasons, and if your only in cairns for a few days you won't notice as you will be out on trips!

Thanks for a great stay, and especial thanks to the owners for sorting my problem and the young lady who works behind the desk in the evenings ;)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley-sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews