We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad to be leaving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reef Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad to be leaving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I just left the Reef today and am sad to be going. Best hostel I've ever been to! I wish I could have stayed longer and I definitely will be going back. Staff is very friendly and it's a great place to meet people. I was in a 6 bed female room and had the place to myself for 2 nights, then shared with one girl for another 2. Location of the hostel is great, right in town and walking distance to most attractions as well as bars and clubs.

Room Tip: room 12 not a good view but a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    20
    13
    23
See reviews for
2
31
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at Reef for a month & had an awesome time! It's out the way of the party hostels, but close enough to be next to everything you need. It's not a huge hostel which makes it feel more like a family as you get to know pretty much everyone during your stay. The free BBQ's on a sunday were really good too! Oh yeah & free wifi is a definite plus! The staff are really helpful & friendly. Would very much recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for the weekly rate if you are staying a while, they do a good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
358 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Very old and basic hostel. Everything is a bit grubby. Stayed in an 8 person dorm and only 1 socket per 4 people. Kitchen not that nice and very little room in the TV area to sit down. There is a pool but it’s not cleaned so can’t really use it. The showers have a window so people from next doors hostel can see in. Free WiFi, free dinner voucher for Gilligan’s everyday. Major drawback - they don't collect you from the Greyhound and it's a good 15 minute walk to the hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have enough sockets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Excellent place to stay. Massive backyard with lawn and a pool. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I stayed there for ten nights and there was always something going on that brought the guests together and helped you get to know your fellow travellers. If going back to Cairns, this is definitely the place I'd be looking to book into.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingPaul017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights while travelling around Oz.

We paid around $50 per night for a double room. Room was spacious, although had dated furnishings and horrendous bathrooms / shower rooms / kitchen. Whole place kind of had the feel that it had been hobbled together by DIY-type people.

In-room Air conditioning was advertised, however what was not advertised was that the room's air-con was on a timer. When we asked the front desk why it wasn't working they said "its on from 7pm till late night". Only problem was that our timer was out of calibration so came on at around 11.45am till 6am - bit pointless really. Other problem was that our room had virtually no airflow as the only window faced a sheer wall under 1m away, so good air conditioning was essential in a humid 30 degree Cairns in summer!

The front desk are a total nightmare. Nice people (residents I think) but frequently the office is locked despite the opening hours saying it should be open. When we were checking out at 8.30am (fairly common time to check out) no-one was there. No answer on the phone number we were given either. Had to keep trying and waiting for 20 mins - aaargh, almost made us late for our plane!

Add to this the cheesy pop music they blast out of the common area from 8am to at least 11pm, and the fact that the bathrooms upstairs do not have any hand-drying facilities (neither paper-towels or hand dryer) the whole experience is pretty frustrating and annoying. The place needs updated common areas, proper staff and a healthy dose of common sense regards to things like the air conditioning and then would be OK.

Its only 5 mins walk to the city centre which is great, but there are quite a few other hostels in similar locations which have better facilities eg the WoodDuck next door, or the 'Beach House Hostel' which is nice and equally close to city.

On the plus points it does have free (although unreliable) wi-fi which is quite good for Australia).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pecunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

The best thing about this hostel is the location - 5 minutes to the bars, shops & esplanade. Its just far enough out of the centre so that you dont get bothered any noise but close enough for you to still feel like you're in town. I stayed in a 4 person dorm & the room was pretty good - aircon, fan & window. There werent any lockers in the room but it still felt safe. Our room (18) was pretty quiet at night but the rooms round the tv area & on the ground floor are a bit noisy. We were only disturbed on 1 night & I think the people making the noise were evicted! When you check in you're given vouchers for free entry to the Woolsheds & some free food vouchers for Gilligans which is pretty good. The manager will help you book trips, has hundreds of different brochures & has been on lots of the trips himself.

Now for the bad bits! Although the owner is spending some money on the place IMO he is spending it in the wrong areas. There were never enough plates or cups, unless you showered at 8am there was no hot water & there's about 10 chairs for a hostel that holds 60.
The common area downstairs is dark & dingy, the settees are broken & filthy & is generally not very inviting. The kitchen is constantly filthy as no one bothers to clean up after themselves & the tea towels didnt look like they'd been washed for a month.
The Tv room upstairs has a massive plasma tv in it but again the settees are uncomfy.

There are 2 male & 2 female showers & although they do get cleaned a couple of times a day are pretty dirty. You cant close the windows so if its a windy or cold day its not very nice. The walls are starting to mould & theres never any paper towels to dry yr hands on.

The hostel offers free Wifi but they change the password nearly everyday but dont put a sign or anything up with the new one. The internet also cuts out all the time.

All in all it would be easy to make this in to a great hostel & a shame that the manager hasnt identified this.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#63 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Backpackers

Property: Reef Backpackers
Address: 140 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Reef Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Reef Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing