We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way above expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adobe Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adobe Motel
Ranked #6 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
1 review
“Way above expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Adobe is an order of magnitude above what you'd expect from a budget motel. The rooms are all recently refurbished, with great Aircon and TVs, clean bathrooms and (most importantly) very comfortable beds!

The restaurant in its lobby, Ricardo's, is a multiple award winner and for good reason. Best pizza I've had in Cairns! Plus the swimming pool is great on a hot day, big enough for a bit of a swim and splash.

Finally, I found the staff to all be very helpful and friendly with any request or question. Which makes sense, as I believe it's a family business.

I've tried other motels on the Sheridan street strip, and none come close to the value I got for pretty much the same price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
7
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here for several nights and was very pleased with the state of the room. It was affordable, well maintained and everything I expected it to be. The room was spacious and perfect for what I needed.

Definitely worth the 5/5!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
268 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place is dreadful. Parking is awful, you either back in or back out. No more than 8 lots, maybe?

The place is poorly maintained, with frayed wooden doors. Poorly lit rooms, not very clean at all. Sticky table tops. There were insufficient towels, you had to ask, Also had to ask for hand towels. Towels while clean, were stained.

The air-conditioning/lights is a strange configuration. Could not turn it on till after multiple tries.

Add extra for Internet. Not included.

For the same price, you can get Internet, pool, bbq pit from the Best Western City Sheridan, which apparently, isn't the Best Western any longer.

The staff are friendly, but move slowly. Not good enough to compensate all the other shortcomings.

Not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hi there, I stayed here when I moved up from Sydney in August as im a contract teacher and was looking for somewhere to stay till I found more permanent accommodation. I paid $400 per week for two weeks so that amounts to about $60 per night. The room was very spacious and clean, not sure how old the building is but the upkeep is really good. Bathroom has a separate toilet, shower, sink and big sized wardrobe. For the price, the room had a king bed and a single, sufficient air con, fan, tea and coffee. Though housekeeping just comes once for a weeks stay, they came 3 times, didn't have to change the sheets but they did, lovely two Filipino ladies. The property has a swimming pool, though in August its still too cold to swim, which is very clean, a gorgeous looking restaurant. I would have given a full 5 stars but one tiny aspect and that is the 9.30am checkout time, a bit early, maybe on a sunday it can be extended to about 10.30. Otherwise near perfect. Good place for relocating for work purposes.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed one night, great price for the location, midway from the airport to the City. Found the rooms clean, adequate and at under $80 a bargain for anyone on a budget. There is a restaurant attached, food was very nice but I thought a little expensive, however for convenience its a great addition and there are other places to eat and drink very close to the motel.
My one dislike is the access, very narrow driveway and to get out you reverse back down it onto the street. Minor issue but if you aren't able to confidently reverse in a tight space its probably something to consider.
As a caffeine junkie I found the supplies inadequate, three or four cups worth of coffee wasn't enough, I walked to the store & bought more, and for a double room that doesnt offer many if there's more than one of you.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would definitely re book and if in Cairns I recommend you give them a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

--- Location and Price ---
* Stayed at the Adobe Motel for one night (01/06/2013)
* Paid $70 to stay one night in a motel room
* The hotel is conveniently located near the Cairns CBD

--- The Motel Room ---
* The two rooms and bathroom were clean
* The room contained a queen bed, single bed, two chairs and a small bar fridge
* There was a kettle, tea bags, sugar satchels, International Roast coffee satchels, two tea cups and two plastic cups
* No iron, ironing board, microwave, toaster, crockery and cutlery
* No shampoo or conditioner in the bathroom
* No mould or mildew smell emanating from the air conditioner or mould on the walls or ceiling
* One towel and complimentary soap on each bed
* A LG 32" television offers access to all free-to-air stations but there is no Austar or Foxtel

--- Staying Overnight And Departure ---
* There were no spare pillows or blankets
* Queen bed was comfortable
* After the windows were closed most of the outside noise was muffled
* Check-out time is 9:30am (sign of rear of door) but customers can check-out after 9:30am for a fee

--- Miscellaneous ---
* Wall phone to contact reception
* Rooms are not serviced unless requested
* On-site but uncovered car parking

--- Conclusion ---
* A more reasonable price would be $60 per night
* Recommended to people who prefer to eat out, use their own toiletries and do not need to view pay-TV

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeathBeforeDecaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchan, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I found this motel on the net. Travelling alone I wanted something cheap but good! I found it at Adobe. The room is well furnished, with a double and single bed, big TV, fridge, and information folder. I stayed for 9 days, at a cost of $59 a day. Within walking distance of the Esplanade, and CBD, Rusty's market, and close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodoco_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspect Central Motel
Aspect Central Motel
#35 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Motel

Property: Adobe Motel
Address: 191 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adobe Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adobe Motel is a family owned and operated motel situated in the Cairns CBD. Adobe Motel offers clean, affordable accomodation for the weary traveller.Convieniently Located within easy walking distance of Cairns city centre and just a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Comfortable and spacious air-conditioned rooms. Ensuite bathroom, phone, refrigerator, cable TV, tea & coffee making facilities, saltwater pool, tourdesk, guest laundry facilities, car hire, Wireless internet in all rooms, licenced restaurant and plenty more.The friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to the Adobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Adobe Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing