We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platypus encounter”

Atherton Tablelands
Ranked #6 of 65 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The part about the day in the Atherton area that we enjoined the most was our opportunity to see the platypus at several sites.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank Drakesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"lake eacham"
in 56 reviews
"curtain fig tree"
in 50 reviews
"coffee works"
in 24 reviews
"millaa millaa falls"
in 28 reviews
"gillies highway"
in 19 reviews
"waterfall circuit"
in 19 reviews
"crystal caves"
in 18 reviews
"day trip"
in 62 reviews
"dinner falls"
in 12 reviews
"great drive"
in 11 reviews
"coffee plantation"
in 11 reviews
"kuranda range"
in 6 reviews
"chocolate factory"
in 6 reviews
"scenic drive"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful lake"
in 6 reviews
"paronella park"
in 18 reviews
"self drive"
in 12 reviews
Filter

471 - 475 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Heaps to do if you like sightseeing. Giant fig tree, Dairy experiences, canoeing on Tinaroo dam a counter meal at one of the pubs.

Date of experience: July 2011
Thank Br0nteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is definitely a full day trip! Leave early, otherwise you may not have time to see everything - the trip is definitely worth it. We left Cairns and headed to Josephine Falls near Babinda first (about 90min drive from Cairns) and they were amazing. The falls are beautiful, the rainforest luscious and we saw lots of people having a dip in the water while we were there. We stopped at Crawford's Lookout along the Palmerston highway - definitely worth it, the view across the valley through the clearing is unbeatable!

The three waterfalls along Theresa Creek Rd (Ellinjaa, ZIllie and Millaa Millaa falls) are also picturesque with not too far a walk to each one from the designated carpark. There's an approx 8km drive between each waterfall along this road.

Next we visited 'The Crater' - Mount Hypipamee along the Kennedy Hwy. This was definitely a highlight for me, it's beautiful, eerie and amazing all at once!

Last stop was the Curtain Fig Tree in Yungaburra is mind-blowing - you simply have to stop and look at this unbelievable tree!!

The drive home to Cairns via Gillies Hwy (to Gordonvale) is a bit windy (as in, lots of curves, not lots of wind! *lol*) but the view over the valley is gorgeous. Look out for some of the rocks that have had paintings drawn on them, especially the one with the bright green frog! :-)

Date of experience: May 2012
9  Thank Lil_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A visit to the Tablelands is a must for any visitor to Cairns. Having lived in Atherton as a youngster I always enjoy getting back to the Tablelands a few times a year. Visit Lake Eacham for a refreshing swim or the always flowing, Malanda Falls. The Historical Village located in Herberton and the Chinese Gardens on the outskirts of Atherton are always worth the visit. For those loooking for a great meat pie, go to the bakery located in Malanda's main street, they are the best. There are also plenty of accommodation options, Rainforest Motor Inn located at the Tolga Scrub and a range of others. There is something for everyone.

Date of experience: March 2012
2  Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I knew i'd love this place as soon as I heard about it. We visited the crater lakes which were great. Make sure you have enough time to do the walks around the lakes (which we didn't), or, at the very least, the smaller walks (which we did). The rainforest is amazing and the short walks are easy for all ages. Beware of the leeches for the unexperienced walkers so wear trousers as we were covered in leeches.
After the crater lakes, we drove to Milla Milla and did the waterfalls circuit. All were so beautiful to watch and take photos. I didn't have a chance to swim in the water but I'll definetly try to head back on a sunny day. Not many places to have lunch so prepare in advance and make a picnic out of it.
Great place.

Date of experience: May 2012
2  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atherton Tablelands also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Atherton Tablelands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing