We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Atherton Tablelands
from US$204.10
More Info
from US$117.17
More Info
from US$152.46
More Info
from US$151.98
More Info
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
436
199
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
436
199
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake barrine millaa millaa falls curtain fig cathedral fig tree day trip paronella park self drive josephine falls yungaburra crater lakes gillies lalandia dairy rainforest kuranda innisfail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2019

We drove from Palm Cove over the mountains to Mareeba and stopped at the visitor centre which is also a museum and a cafe. We had a coffee before heading south to Atherton and on to Lake Barrine. There is a teahouse on Lake Barrine where you can have refreshments or meals but especially do a boat tour of the lake with Steve. It's an hour well spent! We then completed the loop back to Palm Cove via Cairns. It was a full day but generally easy driving ---take care going up and down the mountains -- and a total change from the coastal strip. Just go to see the beautiful country if nothing else.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank rods47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2019

While in cairns we hird a car an dtravelled out to Athrton and down to Herbertson. What a gold mine.!!! They have rebuilt an entire small village from the 1880, filled with all memorbilia, including vintage car, full horse drawn carriages, blacksmith, food stores, chapel, school and the list is endless. It is a truly amazing feat and is very much a hidden treasure that needs a lot more media coverage. We easily spent 3 hours there and finished off with an old fashioned milkshake overlooking the scenery.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank jennyNeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2019

There is plenty to see on the drive to Atherton Tablelands. The scenery is spectacular and there are many places to stop at along the way. Atherton itself is just a big country town.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank alpatdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

First stop to Lake Barrine Rainforest Cruise and Teahouse Cafe. The view was really spectacular. Worth the time to drive from Cairns to Lake Barrine. Their food was also very tasty.

Our family also visited a cheese factory Gallo Dairyland and had lunch there. We bought quite a fair bits of chocolates are gifts for friends.

A good place to venture if you ae really into food and scenery.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank ChowMiewSek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

We had a great day out in the tablelands. Beware it takes quite a long time as there is so much to see and do. The coffee plantation is a must serving delicious food as well for lunch. The views are great and it gives an idea of the enormous scale of farming plus the variety of crops grown. Lots of fun historical towns and small waterfalls. A stop at the curtain fig rainforest is worth while.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 697beverleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews