We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Amazing location and beautiful house”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
61 reviews
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony
Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Master bedroom
Luxury spa bath
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Freshwater swimming a short walk from the front door
Beautiful walking trails abound
Barbecue
Pool area
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Bedroom with Queen Size bed
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Living room with Asian fusion design furnitures.
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Master Bedroom with 2 single beds.
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peter M
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing location and beautiful house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Amazing location in the rainforest, a great heated spa-pool, and an excellent house with everything that 'opens and shuts'! Wanggulay has a warm feeling with timber floors and top-class fittings. We really enjoyed our stay here - 100% recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Rainforest location in the trees; heated spa-pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for the great review and to read that Wanggulay provides all the things you need for an exceptional holiday in the rainforest. Like you, most people feel the warmth and welcome that the home offers guests and the feeling that you never want to leave.

We welcome you back next time.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia S
Mullaway, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Wanggulay is a lovely home. We had a group of 11. 4 children under 4 and 7 adults. The home is a little challenging for kids under 2..Once we found the child gate to put up it was a lot easier. The views and walking is great .Its location is also very good, only 20 mins from Cairns, but there is a shopping centre 5 minutes down the road for groceries. Had a great time playing board games at night,walks in the morning and then off to tourist activities.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Location and ambience
Liked least: The porta cot .
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review and to hear your kids had a wonderful time and a cot, high chair and baby gates are all available. Kids love the experience of the rainforest especially the pool, walking down to the river and swimming in the Stony Creek rock pools 10 mins away.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
634Joanne...
Simcoe, Canada
1 review
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wangullay Too is stunning...from the peaceful outdoor patio to the beautifully decorated rooms that look like pictures in a magazine, words can't describe how breathtaking this house is. This was the perfect ending to our incredible trip to Australia! We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Wanggulay Too and hated to leave. We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: We loved the serenity of the treetops and such luxurious accommodations
Liked least: We hated leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Hello and thank you for your stunning review of our new property Wanggulay Too and glad you left with such a wonderful last impression of Australia. We get many guests from the US and Canada and they absolutely love staying at our group of properties.
We hope you will visit us when next you come to Australia.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Truly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in May 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at this property for our honeymoon last year. There was so much space, beautiful styling, excellent cleanliness, all tucked away in the private piece of tropical heaven. Heaps to do and see nearby, which we enjoyed, but most of all we loved swimming in our own pool every day and relaxing on the balcony day bed reading in the peace and tranquility. Thank you, we hope this will be the first of many stays at this property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review and to hear that you had a blissful honeymoon secluded in the rainforest. We hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary.

Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M...
Yackandandah, Australia
1 review
“Quality in spades...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I have traveled extensively around the world, and have been lucky to stay at some of the best premium hotels and B&Bs, so we're a bit sensitive to quality gaps -- between what's advertised and what's delivered. When we booked Wanggulay for a week in June, we expected a lot, and we got a lot.

Simply put, this is probably the best place we've stayed in Australia -- we were struck by incredible attention to detail -- from the preparation, to the architecture, the furnishings, the private grounds, and the lighting. It was like we were staying in someone's home, not a rental.

For 3 of the nights we were there, we had our three adult children and their partners stay with us. The house allowed for large meals as well as enough private spaces to let everyone do their own thing if they wanted to.

I would highly recommend this place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The quality of the furnishings
Liked least: Too much to do!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Truly gratified by your review. Thank you! We aim to help you have a holiday of a lifetime and it feels like you lovely family reunion was just that.

We can't wait to have you stay with us again.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellaway1...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Retreat in the rainforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in October 2013

A beutifully appointed property with privacy and access to nature; walking trails, creek and decks overlooking canpies of trees. luxury bathrooms and spacious accomodation with group areas and get away spaces abundant. Suitable for smaller to larger groups. A trully relaxing getaway.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: retreat -like
Liked least: not sure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Hello, It's great you felt so at ease with the space and comfort of Wanggulay as there are plenty of options for quiet retreat as well as gathering in larger groups on the balcony for entertaining.
Hope to have you back soon.
Warmly, The Wanggulay Team, Brett, Belinda, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ J
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing stay in Wanggulay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stunning property! Very large, spacious and decorated with an amazing sense of style.
My family, who visited from overseas, claimed that they had no idea such beautiful places even exist!
We would love to be back as soon as we can! Thank you for having us :)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Decor, surrounding nature, comfort of stay
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
So glad your family from overseas were so impressed with Wanggulay and it's rainforest setting. You definitely get the feeling you are suspended in the treetops with all the sights and sounds of the rainforest.
Love to have you stay again for your next family reunion.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing