We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you see is what you get!”

The Swiss Cake and Coffee Shop
Ranked #4 of 7 Bakeries in Cairns
Cuisines: Cafe, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Courteous efficient service seems to be the norm here which I really appreciated. I couldn't resist the profiteroles which I could see in the refrigerated display cabinet and should have recognised as a poor choice for someone who should have a healthy heart diet! Being Swiss I should have realised that they would be loaded with cream and being refrigerated I should have expected soft pastry so I only have myself to blame. They were very good but of course would have been better in crisp condition. I left some in deference to health concerns. The iced coffee minus cream was an ironic choice but came as ordered which doesn't always happen. A popular indulgence judging by the patronage while I was there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“who would have thought the best salad would come from a bakery”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Its so hard to find something nice and healthy to eat, the 'salad bowl's here are fantastic......and then cause youve been good you can have cake :) ive tried a few of their sweet things, they use real cream which is always a plus in my books.......but I go the3e for the yummy salad

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great "breaky" at a reasonable price. I got the flat white and a heated croissant. Good quality, service and price. Not express, but doesn't take all morning either.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krystinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing coffee.....”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Decided to try this place after reading some great reviews. It is obviously popular as we had difficulty in finding a seat. The cake selection seemed good but, sadly, there was only one left that I wanted to try and the young man in front of me snapped it up. The food looked ok..
Ordered a mug and a glass of latte. The mug was a double shot but nothing memorable. The glass was only a single and little more than hot milk.
Maybe we are difficult to please but as far as coffee is concerned, will not be going back. It will be coast roast next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlegopher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quality pastry”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

When I travel overseas I try and not judge things on how they taste at home, with this in mind I went there one morning to partake in a slighty differant breakfast then I would usually have on my holidays, had a long black and was going to leave it at that but the fresh smells from the morning pastrys made me change my mind, so I ordered a couple, had sat down, service was prompt and efficient with both waitresses and the tall gentleman.

Over the week I visited another couple off times and was not dissapointed with either the coffee or any of the quite varied selection I participated in.

Only slight drawback, very very very difficult to get a table and chair outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tighthead03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swiss Cake and Coffee Shop also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Swiss Cake and Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing