We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About time there was a decent Italian in Cairns”
Review of Bellocale

Bellocale
Ranked #70 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“About time there was a decent Italian in Cairns”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Was recommended by a work colleague to try for lunch - she is vegetarian. There was no-one in there on a Wednesday lunch time but it soon filled up. Authentic Italian atmosphere with the artwork, mirrors, decor etc. Nice glassware. Friendly service. Pasta and wine by the glass were delicious. My colleague's vege dish she wanted was no longer on the menu so they re-created it for her - no trouble. The best thing about this restaurant is that it is air-conditioned and they actually keep the doors closed. Try and find a restaurant in Cairns at this hot time of year that is air-conditioned AND keeps their doors closed. Made the food taste better, the conversation more relaxed and the drinks stayed cooler. Bellocale - you are onto a winner by doing this. Should've had our office Xmas lunch here. Can't wait to show this restaurant off to others.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    53
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Every once and a while you find a little gem of a restaurant and Bellocale is truly one of those. On our recent visit to Cairns we were recommended to Bellocale by a local and we not disappointed. The food was exceptional and the service was second to none.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAIRNS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Great Service - the perfect combination”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

David and his team know exactly what is required to ensure guests keep coming back; they know their food and they REALLY know how to look after their customers.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAIRNS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Had been to this restaurant on a number of occasions and have enjoyed it. The food is indeed both interesting and well priced. We made a booking and had it it confirmed for a table of six however upon arrival were told there had been a mix up and no table was available. The embarrassment caused to both myself and my guests was totally unacceptable. The manager on duty had no explanation simply saying they were full! We were told that they had mixed up the nights and had phoned to sort the problem out. Phone records indicate that this was,at best, a panicked reply to their incompetency, or at worst, simply a lie again to cover their lack of professionalism. The manager/ waiter on the floor did little to placate my annoyance and his lack of people skills in dealing with the situation needs serious attention if the restaurant indeed to be regarded as a professional operation.

As previously mentioned the restaurant provides interesting and well priced food but lacks the professionalism expected in what is regarded as a most competitive market.

Give it a try but confirm your booking ..and reconfirm it...then confirm it again..... but be aware when you get there you may told they are full and be that they simply do not have a table!!!!!!!! REALLY NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RNPCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We love Bellocale - atmosphere, fine wine and dining”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

REGULAR DINERS
We dine here about every second month and have done so from when they opened, this is unfailingly our favorite place in Cairns.

ITALY DINES HERE
You know when Italian's dine at an Italian restaurant, the food must be good and it is. The owners work and manage this restaurant and it shows.

POPULAR - BOOKING RECOMMENDED
Comments regarding service times from other diners are never felt by our visits. We welcome the time to enjoy each others company, at a relaxed pace, this is our escape.

I would say service times only ever suffer for it's popularity, in other words, the place is often serving a full house. You will often see other diners turned away on these nights, if they've not booked; and we highly recommend booking for Friday and Saturday night dining.

The staff look after all their customers equally, never slow on their feet and; if you are from a hospitality background (both my husband and I are) you know that their service matches the thought that has gone into this menu.

Tony & Angie

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelfish_Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellocale also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bellocale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing