We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast spot before snorkeling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Porto Cafe Restaurant

Al Porto Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #157 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.alportocairns.com/index.php?id=7
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot before snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Right at the marina, this place is great to get a solid meal in before you head out on the ocean adventures. Takes credit cards!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RRSATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    54
    14
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had breakfast here this morning and were both disappointed. The meals were way overpriced for the quality of produce. For $18 your get square supermarket white bread, canned baked beans and average cooked eggs. My husband was very unimpressed with his watery coffee. The location is good, but not worth the $$$.

Helpful?
1 Thank thispreciousearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were heading out from the Reef Terminal so, having seen this the evening before whilst strolling the boardwalk, we thought it the most convenient place for breakfast. Worried about my seasickness I decided to simply have toast. However I chose the freshly sqeezed pineapple juice crusher to drink and it was sensational. Needing to enjoy another crusher we decided to return for lunch on our final day. The Ceasar Salad was enormous and reasonably priced for what you got.
Being more cafe than restaurant there is a large selection from pies to quiches to pastas and salads for whatever your needs be. Open 6.30am to 2.30pm its a convenient and enjoyable place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank accidentalsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Turn around and walk away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are not hard to please but this was hands down the worst breakfast we have ever had the misfortune of paying for. I ordered poached eggs on toast - the toast was cold and your standard $1 white square loaf from Coles, and my poached eggs were clearly reheated in the microwave as they were so solid that I could barely cut my knife through the rubber-like texture. I could barely swallow a few mouthfuls but was starving and in a hurry to catch a boat over to Green Island. My husband ordered a toasted bacon and egg sandwich which was so dry that he ate less than half.

On the upside, I did have a nice smoothie but overall the meal was so overpriced and so below par that I would recommend steering well clear.

The food was so bad that it is now our benchmark low, i.e. "At least it's not as bad as that breakfast we had at Al Porto..."

Helpful?
3 Thank supergirl2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Everything is great from here, the service, the view and the food.
My favourites are the pasta, home made biscotti and the coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riley1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Porto Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns Region, Queensland
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Al Porto Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing