We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
Review of Bel Paese

Bel Paese
Ranked #93 of 591 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Went here during the week. It's a cute little resturant. Kind of has a romantic atmosphere but you can still go there with friends and be comfortable.
We went here because there seemed to be good reviews on here for it.
The waiter was polite and sociable. We ordered the paesano and napoli pizza. They came pretty quick, which was nice because we were really hungry!They both tasted the same, except that the napoli had a bit if anchovy flavour in it. So Overall it was nothing special for the price that you pay.
I would definitely not eat here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    20
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A must when I return to Cairns”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I live & work In Port Moresby and whenever I return to Cairns Bel Paese is on my to do list. The pasta aways gets a run, up there with the best I've had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Honest Food well priced”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Basic Trattoria Menu, nothing flash, but good flavours and well priced. All the usual Italian menu items. Clean restaurant. Basic wine list, Enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zacuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“used our entertainment book, would not go again”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

fairly good veggie choice, nice service, but the most awful selection of salads ( for veggies) I have seen, ordered an Italian salad which really consisted on a bit of green and tomatoes, it was old fashioned and the menu & decor needs a revamp. Pizzas ok, but nothing special, needs additions like chills and fresh herbs not even offered Parmesan, would not go back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sasha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great service and food. Close to accommodation. Recommend to try the Gnocchi, was very fresh and tasty. Child friendly.
Authentic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninestrawberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel Paese also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bel Paese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing