We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thin crust pizza and tiramisu. EVER”
Review of La Pizza Trattoria

La Pizza Trattoria
Ranked #107 of 661 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Outstanding views of local waterfront foot and car traffic if you love people watching. We did!! Hands down the best thin crust pizza ever on this earth. It was doughy, not hard or burnt. Tasty when paired with a nice red wine or all on its own. The hubby had a tiramisu which he raved about. I tried it and it was soooo good. Perfect balance of flavors and texture. The wait staff was very attentive and authentic. I love when the staff of an Italian restaurant actually speak the language. Loved the outdoor seating!!!
We happened to be there during a good. It if rain but they have clear sheeting to protect you. Never stopped anyone from waiting in line for a seat at the tables.
You simply have to try this place.

Thank onamauihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila K, Marketing at La Pizza Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hey,

Thank you for a 5/5 review! We especially love the photos of the view and the tiramisu that you posted! We make our tiramisu on sight at it is one of our favourites! The outdoor seating is perfect for people watching we find, and enough cover for if it does rain. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Ordered a seafood pizza it came with tinned mussels on top and one prawn and was not edible. My daughter had the carbonara yuck!! Wasted my money

Thank melbbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila K, Marketing at La Pizza Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Melbbern,

Sorry to hear on this occasion that you didn't enjoy your dinner. I must say that our misses do not come from a tin, and our carbonara receives so many rave reviews! Hopefully you notified one of our staff members about your dislike of the dishes so that they could help rectify it for you and offer something different

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Location is great with the restaurant located right on the Esplanade. Service was a little slow but friendly. Most importantly, pizzas were delicious. Lunch specials provide great value!!

Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila K, Marketing at La Pizza Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Andrew K,

Thank you for having lunch with us, sometimes we get a little busy in peak period but we try to be as fast as we can without losing any quality. Lunch specials are perfect for a cost effective dining option during the working week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Had family dinner here because it was close to our hotel and we felt like pasta. Service and wait staff was good, food was served in good time.... but food was average at best. Warm tiger prawn salad was 6 small prawns and rocket with dressing. Nothing else! My husbands prawn risotto was too creamy and we struggled to find only a few prawn bits. Our teens Pasta dishes were plain in taste - heavy on tomato paste. No Parmesan offered, no cracked pepper, no complimentary bread. Oh and the garlic bread we ordered was small, flat and disappointing. I was far over priced for what it was. I would not recommend or return.

Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila K, Marketing at La Pizza Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Hi Charlotte,

Thank you for your review and it is lovely to hear the service and wait staff were good. As for your dishes, I will cereal pass your comments on to staff, as we should be offering parmesan and cracked black pepper. We have bread options that you are able to order with the main meals but bread doesn't come with the pasta as standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

35 minutes for a drink to arrive and almost an hour for the meal. Garlic bread was small, pre prepared pizza dough with garlic salt powder from a bottle sprinkled on it. Mains were ordinary. Polo pesto pasta had the driest chicken pieces and sun dried tomatoes from a jar in it. Warm seafood salad left us wondering how you can ruin rocket?? Kids carbonara was tasteless and made with lashings of cream and frozen bacon bits. All in all very disappointing.

Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila K, Marketing at La Pizza Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Hi Scott,

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoyed your dining experience this time. I hope you expressed your concerns with our wait staff or manager on duty, however I must say that our pizza dough is made fresh daily and we use fresh ingredients wherever possible. Our carbonara is one of our most popular dishes and we receive so many compliments about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pizza Trattoria also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to La Pizza Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing