We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did someone say overhyped?”

Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.66*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
US$129.66*
and up
Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns
More Info
US$77.31*
and up
Hartley's Crocodile Adventure Half-Day Tour
Ranked #24 of 159 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Did someone say overhyped?”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's probably the most overhyped thing I have been to. Nothing can justify the cost of this bland attraction. Great if you are old or if you are a kid maybe. The skyrail is boring. You sit in the cablechairs and pass along above the forest. Great to get a scope of the sheer size of the forest, but you can't see in it, you can't hear any birds, it all looks the same from above and in the dry season it's all brown and ugly. At your two stops, you get to walk only 100-200 metres along a boardwalk before lining up for ages to get back on the skyrail. Nothing of interest at these stops.

Kuranda itself is a lovely little place with a few things to do. Nice markets, nice atmosphere and a great place to spend a couple of hours before getting onto the scenic railway.

The scenic railway is downright crap. The train is crammed, you are allocated seats and if you're sitting on the wrong side you have literally nothing but endless rock to look at. The guide gives a tour over the loud speaker about the historical importance of the railway. However, it's completely boring and has nothing important or historically interesting in it. Just a dull narration.

Honestly, save your money and go somewhere else. There are so many better things to do in North Queensland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danman129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    291
    75
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fixed my mistake..”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I accidentally got the date of our tour wrong and upon contacting the sky rail desk they rearranged our skyway and gold glass train tour including hotel transfers back to Cairns almost instantly. Claire on the desk was extremely helpful and accommodating. W had a great day,the skyway up to Kuranda was wet and misty but still extremely beautiful. The gold glass trip on the railway back was fabulous with exceptional service. Thank you for a great day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another option”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We initially weren't going to do this trip, as we had done the train ride about 30 years ago. This time we had a hire car so we drove to Kuranda in the morning and were there to see and photograph the train coming in at about 1025am. We had a helpful chat with the ticket man about doing the train ride again. He suggested going down to Freshwater on the 2pm train (which he said was always quieter) getting the bus across(all inclusive)to the skyrail and then coming back up. He also gave us the best seats, which were at the rear of the train by the window. Well what a great idea. There were only 6 other people in the carriage with us! You had fantastic views of the train ahead of you as it went around corners.The carriage is arranged in about 7 "booths" on one side of the train. So if you want the best views you want to try and get a window seat at the rear of the train. Each bench seat holds 4 people on one side and then 4 opposite you. My husband is 6'3" and has long legs. There would have been very little knee room if someone was opposite him. Probably if you are a couple it might be good idea to sit opposite each other, then you both have a window seat! Our carriage was so nice and quiet that we had our own"booth" each! Although it wasn't advertised we asked if there was a discount for Australian seniors and paid about $9 less a ticket. We got the train ride to Freshwater, tranfser to the Skyrail station and skyrail up for about $97 each. I'm so glad we chose this option as it gave us the chance to drive a little way out of town to see the Barron Falls. Even though you see them on the train and skyrail, you have a beautiful FREE boarded walk through the rainforest and you get to see where the train stops. It was well worth doing but would have been a bit too far (3km away) without the hire car. On the way back on the skyrail we had our own gondola, even though there were seats for 6. I can only guess it was because it wasn't busy then. So this is a 3rd option, drive up to Kuranda and do the train and skyrail at a much quieter time. It takes 90 mins to get from Kuranda to Freshwater about 40 mins back if you don't get off at the 2 stops. It's well worth getting off at the 2 stops though. Hope that you find this info helpful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKB154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice views, shame about Kuranda”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our tour guide Brett, made the day far better than what we would have found it. He was very informative, amusing, helpful and a very nice bloke. We were picked up on time, and driven to the sky train which was a fantastic way to travel to Kuranda, once there there was not much to see or do, the town is full of cheap souvenir shops and not much else. The 1 1/2 hour train trip down the mountain was also fantastic. Upon arrival at the station we were greeted by Brett and then driven to Palm Cove where we were driven around and then stopped for a parting drink at the local pub. If we could have just gone up on the sky rail and straight down on the train, we would have enjoyed the day far better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 58Jennie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Amazing heights and fun walking tours”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

absolutely worth the money spent on a ticket! the walking tours where very interesting (our guide was super friendly!) and the views are incredible from the safe sky rail... can be appreciated more than if you were to try and see scenery like this skydiving

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KangaRoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing